SEARCH:
HOME | CALENDAR | GATEWAYS | ACADEMICS | ADMISSION | DEPARTMENTS | DIRECTORIES | VISIT | LOG IN | SITE INDEX

ESF Beech Working Group

Mission Statement

American beech (Fagus grandifolia Ehrh.) has been historically important among several hardwood forest community types in northeastern North America. Yet Beech Bark Disease killed or weakened trees of large and medium sizes, altering the structure and composition of these forests, and leaving aftermath stands with increased stocking of the smaller beech in understory and mid-story positions. Where dense, these beech thickets may threaten sustainable forest resources management and ecosystem integrity.

The Beech consortium provides a forum for interested people of share ideas and concerns about the American beech, the aftermath forest, and its management. it also offers opportunities to explore collaboration in research, outreach, and educational programs. Specific purposes include:

1. Sharing Ideas: Seminars and workshops promote dialogue about research and scholarship, and discussion of propositions about American beech biology, ecologic function, management, and other matters of interest.

2. Exchanging Information: A web site and data clearinghouse facilitate communication among participants, and identify available data sets and other information from long-term monitoring and research.

3. Collaborating in Projects: Networking lings ad hoc groups of scientists, managers, policy makers, and other stakeholders who might benefit from collaborative efforts targeted at American beech.

4. Participating in Outreach: Workshops, symposia, consultations, and other outreach opportunities allow participants to more broadly share findings from research and study of American beech, and advise landowners about managing beech in the aftermath forest.

The Beech Working Group welcomes participation by anyone interested in American beech, and who endorses the Beech Working Group's purposes as articulated here. The consortium does not provide financial support or administrarive resources to participants. Rather, it promotes collaboration among interested people who may also cooperate in securing funds from a variety of sponsors. The consortium will also serve as a center for outreach by sharing information and offering technical assistance to landowners, agencies, forest specialists, and others having an interest in American beech.

Beech Working Group Participants

Member

Email

Eddie Bevilacqua ebevilacqua@esf.edu
Bruce W. Breitmeyer breitmeyer@esf.edu
Colin M. Beier cbeier@esf.edu
John D. Castello jdcastello@esf.edu
Robert S. Davis rsdavis@esf.edu
Martin Dovciak mdovciak@esf.edu
Gregory McGee ggmcgee@esf.edu
Mariann T. Johnston mjohnston@esf.edu
Donald J. Leopold djleopold@esf.edu
Stacy A. McNulty smcnulty@esf.edu
Myron J. Mitchell mitchell@syr.edu
David H. Newman dnewman@esf.edu
Ralph D. Nyland rnyland@syr.edu
Neil H. Ringler neilringler@esf.edu
Stephen A. Teal sateale@esf.edu
Timothy A. Volk tavolk@esf.edu

beech trees

leaves


Social

YouTube Channels

ESF | Athletics | Research | Academics | Sustainability | New York | Nature


SUNY-ESF
State University of New York College of Environmental Science and Forestry
SUNY-ESF |
1 Forestry Drive | Syracuse, NY 13210 | 315-470-6500
Copyright © 2016 | Admissions Information | Webmaster