SEARCH:
HOME | GATEWAYS | ACADEMICS | ADMISSION | DIRECTORIES | VISIT | LOG IN | SITE INDEX

Environmental Career Fair

What: A special opportunity, on campus, to gather employer and graduate school information, develop networks and meet organizations from a variety of sectors, including corporate, environmental, and not-for-profit.

When: Wednesday, February 26, 2014 from 10:30-3:00pm
Where: Gateway Center

Don't miss this chance to visit with organizations in your field of study. Check out permanent jobs, summer jobs and internship possibilities. This is your chance to get the inside story, from the source, about opportunities within your field of study, including jobs, internships and graduate programs.

The Career Services Office brings organizations to campus that offer opportunities in environmental oriented jobs. Be sure to take time out of your day to meet representatives, ask questions, and present your resume.

How To Work A Job Fair

  • How To Prepare: Research organizations of interest - be prepared to ask questions - PRACTICE!
  • During The Fair: Shake hands - be enthusiastic - make eye contact - be confident - present a resume - collect business cards - explore ALL options.
  • After The Fair: Mail a thank you letter - send an additional resume - call to check on status of your application.

Questions To Ask The Representatives

  1. What are typical entry-level positions related to my major in _______?
  2. As an entry-level employee, what can I expect to be doing in 2, 5, 10 years?
  3. Are graduate degrees important? If so, in what areas?
  4. What personality traits are important for success?
  5. What does the hiring process entail?
  6. How many employees, if any, graduated from ESF are with your company?
  7. What are some of the company's priorities and goals?
  8. How long have you been with the company?
  9. What is the retention rate in the company?

Dress For Success

Dress in conservative business attire. You should consider this career fair as important as a first interview!

Confirmed Organizations

For a complete list of attending organizations, academic programs of interest, and why they are attending the 2014 Environmental Career Fair please visit the following matrix:

A list of confirmed organizations for the 2014 Environmental Career Fair as of February 14, 2014 is listed below:

Company Web Address
Adirondack Research and Consulting www.adkres.org
Aerotek www.aerotek.com
Allegheny National Forest www.fs.usda.gov/allegheny
Almstead Tree, Shrub and Lawn Care Company www.almstead.com
Anchor QEA www.anchorqea.com
Antea Group www.anteagroup.com
Appel Osborne Landscape Architecture www.appelosborne.com 
ARCADIS, Inc. www.arcadis-us.com
Bard Graduate Programs in Sustainability www.bard.edu/gps
Bartlett Tree Experts www.bartlett.com
BBL Construction Services, LLC www.bblinc.com 
Bernier, Carr & Associates www.thebcgroup.com
Broccolo Tree and Lawn Care Inc. www.broccologroup.com
Buffalo Olmsted Parks Conservancy www.bfloparks.org
Camp Turner-Diocese of Buffalo www.campturner.com
Clear Lake Lumber www.clearlakelumber.com/
Con Tech Building Systems, Inc. www.contechbuilding.com
Cornell Cooperative Extension Peconic Dunes 4-H Camp www.ccesuffolk.org
Environmental Design & Research, Landscape Architecture, Engineering & Environmental Services, D.P.C. www.edrdpc.com
Finch Paper LLC www.finchpaper.com 
GHD www.ghd.com
HDR, Inc. www.hdrinc.com
Heritage Environmental Services www.heritage-enviro.com/ 
Kaplan Test Prep www.kaptest.com
Keplinger Freeman Associates www.keplingerfreeman.com 
Landmasters Landscape & Construction www.landmasters.net
Le Moyne College www.lemoyne.edu
Lend Lease Construction (US) www.lendlease.com
Lime Hollow Nature Center www.limehollow.org
Michael Grimm Landscape & Tree Service www.michaelgrimmservices.com
National Fuel Gas Company www.natfuel.com 
New York Leak Detection, Inc. www.nyld.com
New York Water Environment Association, Inc www.nywea.org
NOAA Commissioned Officer Corps www.noaacorps.noaa.gov
NYS Dept. of Environmental Conservation www.dec.ny.gov
NYS Dept. of Environmental Conservation-Police www.dec.ny.gov
NYS Dept. of Environmental Conservation-Public Affairs & Education www.dec.ny.gov/education/29.html
NYS Office of Parks, Recreation, & Historic Preservation (Central Region) www.nysparks.com
NYS Office of Parks, Recreation, & Historic Preservation (Finger Lakes Region) www.nysparks.com
New York State Department of Transportation www.dot.ny.gov
O'Brien & Gere  www.obg.com
Onondaga Earth Corps www.onondagaearthcorps.org
PA Department of Conservation & Natural Resources (DCNR) www.dcnr.state.pa.us
Pace Law School www.law.pace.edu
Paleontological Research Institution www.museumoftheearth.org
Parsons Corporation www.parsons.com
PEACE Corps www.peacecorps.gov
Primitive Pursuits www.primitivepursuits.com
Raquette Lake Camps www.raquettelake.com
RB Woodcraft Inc. www.rbwoodcraft.com
Rex Lumber Company www.rexlumber.com 
RockTenn www.rocktenn.com
SavATree www.savatree.com
School of Public Health, University at Albany www.albany.edu/sph/ 
Student Conservation Association (SCA) www.thesca.org/ 
SUNY-ESF Adirondack Forest Properties www.esf.edu/aec/
SUNY-ESF Alumni Association www.esf.edu/alumni/
SUNY-ESF Cranberry Lake Biological Station www.esf.edu/clbs/
SUNY-ESF Federal Work-Study Program www.esf.edu/financialaid/fws.htm
SUNY-ESF Graduate Admissions www.esf.edu/graduate/
SUNY-ESF Northern Forest Institute www.esf.edu/nfi
SUNY-ESF Ranger School www.esf.edu/rangerschool/ 
SUNY-ESF Science Corps www.esf.edu/outreach
Sweetbriar Nature Center www.sweetbriarnc.org 
The Davey Tree Expert Company www.davey.com 
The DiMarco Group/Admar Supply www.dimarcogroup.com
The Nature Conservancy www.nature.org
The Whiting-Turner Contracting Company www.whiting-turner.com
TRC www.trcsolutions.com
Triumvirate Environmental www.triumvirate.com
Turner Construction Company www.turnerconstruction.com
US Customs & Border Protection www.cbp.gov
US NAVY www.navy.com
USDA - NRCS www.nrcs.usda.gov
Vermont Law School www.vermontlaw.edu
VHB www.vhb.com
Watershed Stewardship Program www.paulsmiths.edu

Questions or comments? Send them to


SUNY-ESF
State University of New York College of Environmental Science and Forestry
SUNY-ESF |
1 Forestry Drive | Syracuse, NY 13210 | 315-470-6500
Copyright © 2014 | Information | Webmaster