e s f home link - e s f college of environmental science and forestry
e s f home link - e s f college of environmental science and forestry

Committee on Curriculum (COC)


Academic Year 2017-2018

Time and Location: 11:00 am - 12:20 pm, Bray 324, unless otherwise noted

Please note that, in order for a proposal to be considered by the Committee on Curriculum during the 2017-2018 academic year meeting schedule, the deadline for submission of proposals is as follows:

Curriculum Proposals deadline: February 1, 2018

Course Proposals deadline: March 1, 2018

Dates Agenda Minutes
Thursday,  September 21, 2017 Agenda Minutes
Thursday, October 26, 2017 Agenda Minutes
Thursday, November 16, 2017 Agenda Minutes
Thursday, December 14, 2017 Agenda Minutes
Thursday, January 18, 2018 Agenda Minutes
Thursday, February 15, 2018 Agenda Minutes
Thursday, March 22, 2018 Agenda Minutes
Thursday, April 12, 2018 Agenda Minutes
Thursday, May 10, 2018 Agenda Minutes


This committee, composed of faculty members only, in order to exercise its responsibility for the conduct of the College’s instructional program, shall be concerned with:

  1. the policies regarding instructional development, support and administration including the library and instructional technology;
  2. the structure, content, and interrelationship of courses, curricula and degree requirements;
  3. the compliance with the General Education policies as set for by the Board of Trustees;
  4. the review and approval of petitions for course replacements by students.


The committee is composed of eight (8) voting faculty members representing the academic departments (Chemistry, Environmental and Forest Biology, Environmental Resource Engineering, Environmental Studies, Forest and Natural Resources Management, Landscape Architecture, and Paper and Bioprocess Engineering) and the Library. The Faculty Chair (College President) and the Executive Chair of Faculty Governance or their designees are also voting members. Non-voting members are the Associate Provost for Instruction and Dean of the Graduate School, Registrar, an undergraduate student representative and a graduate student representative. The committee chair may invite visitors and recognize them in discussion.  Committee meetings are open to all members of the Faculty.

Committee decisions shall be made by no less than two-thirds (2/3) of the voting membership.

Please direct any correspondence to curriculum@esf.edu.

Members 2017-2018

Name Representing Email/Ext
Shijie Liu Paper & Bioprocess Engineering sliu@esf.edu x6885
Robin Hoffman Landscape Architecture rehoffma@esf.edu x6546
Kimberly Schulz Environmental Forest Biology kschulz@esf.edu x4753
Klaus Doelle Faculty Chair kdoelle@esf.edu x6531
Mark Teece (Chair) Chemistry mteece@esf.edu x6855
Quentin Wheeler Faculty President qwheeler@esf.edu x6681
Wendong Tao Environmental Resources Engineering wtao@esf.edu x4928
Ruth Owens Library rmowens@esf.edu x6723
John Wagner Forest & Natural Resources Management jewagner@esf.edu x6971
Kurt Stavenhagen Environmental Studies

wkstaven@esf.edu x6636

Nonvoting Members and Observers

Name Representing Email/Ext
Scott Shannon* Associate Provost for Instruction sshannon@esf.edu x6598
Jenny Frank GSA Representative jrfran01@syr.edu
Christie Gilbert USA Representative


Leslie Rutkowski Registrar larutkow@esf.edu x6663
Susan Sanford Director of Admissions shsanfor@esf.edu x6604
Chuck Spuches Assistant to the President for Outreach cspuches@esf.edu x6817

*represents and votes for President in his absence