e s f home link - e s f college of environmental science and forestry
e s f home link - e s f college of environmental science and forestry

Committee on Curriculum (COC)

Meetings

Academic Year 2018-19

Time and Location: 11:00 am - 12:20 pm, Bray 324, unless otherwise noted

Please note that, in order for a proposal to be considered by the Committee on Curriculum during the 2018-19 academic year meeting schedule, the deadline for submission of proposals is as follows:

Curriculum Proposals deadline: February 1, 2019

Course Proposals deadline: March 1, 2019

Dates Agenda Minutes
Thursday,  September 21, 2017 Agenda (Word) Minutes (Word)
Thursday, October 26, 2017 Agenda (Word) Minutes (PDF)
Thursday, November 16, 2017 Agenda (PDF) Minutes (PDF)
Thursday, December 14, 2017- CANCELLED    
Thursday, January 18, 2018 Agenda (PDF) Minutes (PDF)
Thursday, March 1, 2018 Agenda (PDF) Minutes (PDF)
Thursday, March 22, 2018 Agenda (PDF) Minutes (PDF)
Thursday, April 12, 2018 Agenda (PDF) Minutes (PDF)
Thursday, May 10, 2018 Agenda (PDF) Minutes

Purpose

This committee, composed of faculty members only, in order to exercise its responsibility for the conduct of the College’s instructional program, shall be concerned with:

  1. the policies regarding instructional development, support and administration including the library and instructional technology;
  2. the structure, content, and interrelationship of courses, curricula and degree requirements;
  3. the compliance with the General Education policies as set for by the Board of Trustees;
  4. the review and approval of petitions for course replacements by students.

Composition

The committee is composed of eight (8) voting faculty members representing the academic departments (Chemistry, Environmental and Forest Biology, Environmental Resource Engineering, Environmental Studies, Forest and Natural Resources Management, Landscape Architecture, and Paper and Bioprocess Engineering) and the Library. The Faculty Chair (College President) and the Executive Chair of Faculty Governance or their designees are also voting members. Non-voting members are the Associate Provost for Instruction and Dean of the Graduate School, Registrar, an undergraduate student representative and a graduate student representative. The committee chair may invite visitors and recognize them in discussion.  Committee meetings are open to all members of the Faculty.

Committee decisions shall be made by no less than two-thirds (2/3) of the voting membership.

Please direct any correspondence to curriculum@esf.edu.

Members 2018-19

Name Representing Email/Ext
Shijie Liu Paper & Bioprocess Engineering sliu@esf.edu x6885
Robin Hoffman Landscape Architecture rehoffma@esf.edu x6546
Kimberly Schulz Environmental Forest Biology kschulz@esf.edu x4753
Melissa Fierke Faculty Chair mkfierke@esf.edu x6809
Mark Teece (Chair) Chemistry mteece@esf.edu x6855
David Amberg Faculty President dcamberg@esf.edu x6681
Wendong Tao Environmental Resources Engineering wtao@esf.edu x4928
Ruth Owens Library rmowens@esf.edu x6723
Eddie Bevilacqua Forest & Natural Resources Management ebevilacqua@esf.edu x6697
Kurt Stavenhagen Environmental Studies wkstaven@esf.edu x6636

Nonvoting Members and Observers

Name Representing Email/Ext
Scott Shannon* Associate Provost for Instruction sshannon@esf.edu x6598
Jenny Frank GSA Representative jrfran01@syr.edu
Carson Rowe USA Representative cfrowe@syr.edu
Leslie Rutkowski Registrar larutkow@esf.edu x6663
Susan Sanford Director of Admissions shsanfor@esf.edu x6604
Chuck Spuches Dean, ESF Open Academy cspuches@esf.edu x6817
Erin Tochelli CoC Secretary curriculum@esf.edu x6943

*represents and votes for President in his absence