e s f letters
e s f letters

More Graduate Awards and News

  • Anna Stewart (Ph.D. student) has just received a Fulbright llE Fellowship for this coming academic year. This fellowship will provide Anna with full funding for 10 months of work in Ecuador. Congratulations to Anna for receiving this national recognition.
  • Juan Carlos Alvarez Yepiz (Ph.D. student) awarded PLACA (Program on Latin America and the Caribbean) Summer Research Grants. Juan Carlos will use this grant to include stable isotope techniques in his dissertation research on ecology and conservation of a rare cycad species, Dioon sonorense, in Mexico.
  • Anna Stewart (Ph.D. student) awarded PLACA (Program on Latin America and the Caribbean) Summer Reseasrch Grants. Funding to Anna will assist her dissertation research in Ecuador.
  • Patrick Raney (Ph.D. student) has been awarded a $5,000 grant from the National Geographic Society's Young Explorers program in support of his dissertation research "Climatic buffering in temperate zone fens, implications for climate change."
  • Patrick Eager (M.S. student) has been awarded second place in the Phylogenetics I Division (Student Competition for the President's Prize) at the annual Entomological Society of America meeting held in November 2009 in Indianapolis for his oral presentation "Investigating the Sirex noctilio parasitoid complex in New York State."
  • Kathleen Pitcher (M.S. student) won the best poster award at this year’s Mycological Society of America annual meeting (2009) in Snowbird, Utah, for her work on the population structure of the ectomycorrhizal fungus Suillus spraguei.
  • Jake Wickham (Ph.D. student) has been awarded a NSF International Research Fellowship in the amount of $200,000 to support his continued research in China. The award is for two years, effective January 1, 2010.
  • Anna Stewart (Ph.D. student) has received one of the two American Institute of Biological Sciences (AIBS) Emerging Public Policy Leader Awards. Anna was chosen for her past accomplishments, dissertation and professional goals, and promise for continued leadership at the interface of science and public policy.
  • Jason Townsend EPA STAR Fellowship
  • Amy Dechen Honorable Mention for her paper at the International Conference of the Wildlife Disease Association.
  • Keith Post Kenneth & Barbara Starks Award for Research in Plant Resistance to Insects