SEARCH:
HOME | GATEWAYS | ACADEMICS | ADMISSION | DIRECTORIES | VISIT | LOG IN | SITE INDEX
Home | Gateways | Academics | Admission | Directories | Site Index SEARCH:

Faculty

The Forest and Natural Resources Management program is one of the largest programs of its type in the United States, with over 30 full-time faculty supported by several adjunct professors and visiting instructors. Faculty interests range from watershed management to policy analysis, from geographic information systems to silviculture, from forest ecology to recreation management.

Faculty and Staff Office Contact
(315 Area code)
Abdel-Aziz, Nasri, Instructor
MS, Syracuse University, 2001;
205 Marshall Hallnabdel@esf.edu
470-6972
Abrahamson, Lawrence, Senior Research Associate
PhD, University of Wisconsin, 1969; MS, University of Wisconsin, 1967; entomology, pathology, pesticides, vegetation management, forest insects
126 Illick Halllabrahamson@esf.edu
470-6777/470-6743
Allen, Wayne, Associate Professor Emeritus
allied technology, graphics, timber harvesting, forest roads
Wanakena Campusallen@esf.edu
848-2566
Beier, Colin, Research Associate
PhD, University Of Alaska Fairbanks, 2007; MS, Virginia Tech, 2002; forest ecosystem and landscape ecology, social-ecological systems, climate change, ecosystem services, landscape change modeling, resilience, adaptive management, resource governance, applied geoinformatics
311 Bray Hallcbeier@esf.edu
470-6578
Bevilacqua, Eddie, Professor
PhD, University of Toronto, 1999; PhD, University of Toronto, 1998; MS, University of Toronto, 1987; sampling/inventory, biometrics, forest mensuration, growth and yield modeling, applied statistics, GIS/spatial analysis, forest ecology, landscape ecology, ecological modeling, tree-ring science, quantitative silviculture
301 Bray Hallebevilacqua@esf.edu
470-6697
Black, Peter, Distinguished Teaching Professor Emeritus
PhD, Colorado State University, 1961; MS, University Of Michigan-Ann Arbor, 1958; hydrology
208A Marshall Hallpeblack@esf.edu
470-6571
Bridgen, Michael, Professor
Director, Ranger School and Professor
PhD, Michigan State University, 1979; dendrology, aerial photogrammetry, silviculture, and restoration forestry
Wanakena Campusbridgen@esf.edu
848-2566
Briggs, Russell, Professor
Director of the Division of Environmental Science and Professor
PhD, SUNY College of Environmental Science and Forestry, 1985; MS, SUNY College of Environmental Science and Forestry, 1982; forest ecology, watershed ecology, soils, ecosystem services, watershed management, forest soils, silviculture
358 Illick Hallrdbriggs@esf.edu
470-6989
Conahan, Karen, Lecturer
MS, Syracuse University, 2002;
206 Marshall Hallkconahan@esf.edu
470-4851/470-6536
Germain, René, Professor
PhD, SUNY College of Environmental Science and Forestry, 1997; MS, Boston University, 1988; forest health, policy, silviculture, forest management and operations, forest management for renewable energy, watershed management, sustainable forestry systems
316 Bray Hallrhgermai@syr.edu
470-6698
Halligan, James, Instructional Support Specialist
MS, SUNY College of Environmental Science and Forestry, 1996;
415 Bray Halljphallig@syr.edu
470-4752
Herrington, Lee, Distinguished Teaching Professor Emeritus
PhD, Yale University, 1964; MS, Yale University, 1960; resource information management, GIS, urban Forestry, micrometeorology
413B Bray Halllpherrin@esf.edu
470-6674
Johnston, Mariann, Associate Professor
PhD, University Of Idaho, 2003; MS, University Of Idaho, 1993; forest ecology, soils, biogeochemistry, forest health, silviculture
Wanakena Campusmjohnston@esf.edu
/848-2566
Kelleher, Michael, Senior Research Associate
Executive Director of Energy & Sustainability
MS, Cornell University, 1985; energy resources, applied economics, energy markets, sustainability, renewable energy, energy and environmental policy, financial analysis, energy efficiency, decision-making
203 Bray Hallmkellehe@esf.edu
470-4934/470-6681
Kiernan, Diane,
PhD, SUNY College of Environmental Science and Forestry, 2007; MS, SUNY College of Environmental Science and Forestry, 2003;
308 Bray Halldhkiernan@esf.edu
470-6577
Kuehn, Diane, Associate Professor
PhD, SUNY College of Environmental Science and Forestry, 2002; MS, SUNY College of Environmental Science and Forestry, 1989; social and recreational dimensions, ecotourism and nature tourism, recreation management and research
310A Bray Halldmkuehn@esf.edu
470-6561
La Vie, Jacqueline, Lecturer
MS, University Of Pennsylvania, 1972;
204 Marshall Halljelavie@esf.edu
470-4818/470-6536
Luzadis, Valerie, Chair and Professor
PhD, SUNY College of Environmental Science and Forestry, 1997; PhD, Rensselaer Polytechnic Institute, 1996; MS, Cornell University, 1990; ecological economics, ecosystem services, policy, social and recreational dimensions, forest management for renewable energy, watershed management, natural resources policy and values, sustainable development, renewable energy, participatory decision-making
106 Marshall Hallvluzadis@esf.edu
470-6636/470-6695
Malmsheimer, Robert, Professor
PhD, SUNY College of Environmental Science and Forestry, 1999; JD, Union University, 1989; natural resources, policy and law, forest management for renewable energy, climate change and managed forests, forest policy and law, public land crimes, land trusts and land conservation policy
305 Bray Hallrwmalmsh@esf.edu
470-6909
Maynard, Charles, Professor
PhD, Iowa State University, 1980; MS, Iowa State University, 1977; Research Areas of Interest plant tissue culture, genetic engineering a blight-resistant the American chestnut, conventional forest genetics & tree improvement, forest ecology, forest health, restoration ecology
216 Marshall Hallcmaynard@syr.edu
470-6560
Morrison, Douglas, Research Associate
MS, Syracuse University, 1976; PhD, University Of Oregon, 1969; MS, University Of Oregon, 1967; sociology, psychology, and urban forestry
306 Bray Halldomorris@syr.edu
470-6740
Newman, David, Chair and Professor
PhD, Duke University, 1986; MS, Duke University, 1985; Forest resource economics and policy, resource and environmental economics, tax policy
319 Bray Halldnewman@esf.edu
470-6534
Nowak, Christopher, Professor
PhD, SUNY College of Environmental Science and Forestry, 1992; MS, SUNY College of Environmental Science and Forestry, 1986; Vegetation Management, Silviculture and Forest Ecology, Production Ecology and Plant Ecophysiology, Invasive Exotic Plant Control, Biogeography and Cultural Landscapes, Sustainable Management and Certification Systems
317 Bray Hallcanowak@esf.edu
470-6575
Nyland, Ralph, Distinguished Service Professor
PhD, Michigan State University, 1966; MS, SUNY College of Environmental Science and Forestry, 1959; forest ecology, forest health, restoration ecology, silviculture, forest management and operations, quantitative silviculture, forest practice
312 Bray Hallrnyland@syr.edu
470-6574
Savage, James, Professor
MS, SUNY College of Environmental Science and Forestry, 1990; recreation and resource measurements
Wanakena Campusjmsavage@esf.edu
848-2566
Schirmer, Charles
Instructional Support Specialist
339 Illick Hallcschirmer@esf.edu
470-6773
Stehman, Stephen, Professor
PhD, Cornell University, 1989; MS, Oregon State University, 1981; environmental sampling, map accuracy assessment, environmental monitoring; applied statistics
322 Bray Hallsvstehma@syr.edu
470-6692/470-6536
Stella, John, Associate Professor
PhD, University Of California-Berkeley, 2005; MS, University Of California-Berkeley, 1998; riparian and stream ecology, restoration ecology, watershed management, ecological modeling, tree-ring science, river restoration
344 Illick Hallstella@esf.edu
470-4902/470-6536
Vidon, Philippe, Associate Professor
Stream Restoration, Ecological Engineering, Riparian Zone and Watershed Management, Water Quality, Riparian Zone/Watershed Biogeochemistry and Hydrology, Best Management Practices, Surface and Subsurface Hydrology, Nitrogen, Phosphorus, Mercury, Carbon Cycling, Greenhouse Gases (N2O, CO2, CH4).
309 Bray Hallpgvidon@esf.edu
470-4765/470-6536
Volk, Timothy, Senior Research Associate
PhD, SUNY College of Environmental Science and Forestry, 2002; silviculture, forest management for renewable energy, biomass and bioenergy, energy, agroforestry, phytoremediation, management and sustainability of short rotation woody crops, life cycle analysis, ecophysiology, international forestry
346 Illick Halltavolk@esf.edu
470-6774
Vonhof, Sarah, Instructor
PhD, SUNY College of Environmental Science and Forestry, 2001; MS, SUNY College of Environmental Science and Forestry, 1996; forest and natural resources policy, environmental history
303a Bray Hallslvonhof@esf.edu
470-6594
Wagner, John, Professor
PhD, Colorado State University, 1990; MS, University Of Idaho, 1984; forest resource and environmental economics, ecosystem services, policy, quantitative silviculture, forest management and operations, operations research, simulation
304 Bray Halljewagner@esf.edu
470-6971/470-6536
Webb, Michael, Instructor
surveying
Wanakena Campusmhwebb@esf.edu
848-2566
Yanai, Ruth, Professor
PhD, Yale University, 1990; MS, Yale University, 1985; forest ecology, watershed ecology, soils, biogeochemistry, forest health, ecological modeling, watershed management, ecosystem nutrient cycling, uncertainty
210 Marshall Hallrdyanai@esf.edu
470-6955/470-4868
Zhang, Lianjun, Professor
MS, University Of Idaho, 1991; PhD, University Of Idaho, 1990; MS, University Of Idaho, 1987; forest biometrics, growth and yield modeling, spatial statistics and modeling, quantitative silviculture
323 Bray Halllizhang@esf.edu
470-6558/470-6536

Improve Your World
SUNY-ESF
State University of New York College of Environmental Science and Forestry
SUNY-ESF |
1 Forestry Drive | Syracuse, NY 13210 | 315-470-6500
Copyright © 2014 | Admissions Information | Webmaster