e s f home link - e s f college of environmental science and forestry
e s f home link - e s f college of environmental science and forestry

Forest Management & Silvicuture Area of Study for M.S., M.P.S. or Ph.D. in Forest Resources Management

Apply

The Forest Management and Silviculture area of study focuses on sustainable management of forest ecosystems.

Because functioning and resilient forest ecosystems are essential to human well-being, research opportunities in this area of study address practices and decisions, economic and recreational considerations, landowner objectives and/or policies, ecological underpinnings, and applied science related to the sustainable management of forests.

Participating Faculty

  • Colin M. Beiercbeier@esf.edu
    Forest ecosystem and landscape ecology, social-ecological systems, climate change, ecosystem services, landscape change modeling, resilience, adaptive management, resource governance, applied geoinformatics
  • Eddie Bevilacquaebevilacqua@esf.edu
    Sampling/inventory, biometrics, forest mensuration, growth and yield modeling, applied statistics, GIS/spatial analysis, forest ecology, landscape ecology, ecological modeling, tree-ring science, quantitative silviculture
  • Russell D. Briggsrdbriggs@esf.edu
    Forest ecology, watershed ecology, soils, ecosystem services, watershed management, forest soils, silviculture
  • John E. Drakejedrake@esf.edu 
    Tree physiology, forest ecology, global climate change, ecosystem nutrient and C cycling, soils gas fluxes, tree water use
  • René Germainrhgermai@esf.edu
    Forest management and operations, watershed management, sustainable forestry systems
  • Mariann T. Johnstonmjohnston@esf.edu 
    Forest ecology, soils, biogeochemistry, forest health, silviculture
  • Diane M. Kuehn; dmkuehn@esf.edu
    Forest-based recreation and tourism
  • Robert W. Malmsheimerrwmalmsh@esf.edu
    Laws and the legal system affecting natural resources management, carbon accounting policies and their affect on forest and natural resources
  • David H. Newmandnewman@esf.edu 
    Forest resource economics and policy, resource and environmental economics, tax policy
  • Christopher A. Nowakcanowak@esf.edu
    Vegetation management, silviculture and forest ecology, production ecology and plant ecophysiology, invasive exotic plant control, biogeography and cultural landscapes, sustainable management and certification systems
  • John C. Stellastella@esf.edu
    Riparian and stream ecology, restoration ecology, watershed management, ecological modeling, tree-ring science, river restoration, arid-land and Mediterranean ecosystems
  • Timothy A. Volktavolk@esf.edu 
    Silviculture, forest management for renewable energy, biomass and bioenergy, energy, agroforestry, phytoremediation, management and sustainability of short rotation woody crops, life cycle analysis, ecophysiology, international forestry
  • John E. Wagnerjewagner@esf.edu 
    Forest resource and environmental economics, ecosystem services, policy, quantitative silviculture, forest management and operations, operations research, simulation

For details on doctoral and masters programs, download the Graduate Student Handbook for The Department of Forest and Natural Resources Management. Hard copies are available from the FNRM office.

Learn More

a forest

Contact Us

Diane Kuehn
Associate Professor
Graduate Education Coordinator - FNRM
310A Bray Hall, One Forestry Drive
Syracuse, NY 13210-2788
Phone: (315) 470-6561
Fax: (315) 470-6535