SEARCH:

Inclusion, Diversity and Equity at ESF

The SUNY College of Environmental Science and Forestry is committed to creating and sustaining a diverse community that promotes equity and inclusion for all its members. Diversity that arises from differences such as, but not limited to, gender, race, ethnicity, ability, sexual orientation, socioeconomic status, national origin, or religious traditions is central and indispensable to the institutional excellence and mission of the College.

Get Involved!

The IDE Committee is charged with writing, implementing and assessing a College-wide Inclusion, Diversity and Equity Plan.

Questions, comments, concerns? Contact:

The Plan

We, as the College of Environmental Science and Forestry, achieve a diverse, equitable, and inclusive community by eliminating barriers to full participation in curricular, co-curricular, and workplace environments, and promoting the SUNY and ESF institutional structures, practices, policies, and spaces that respect, value, and support differences through inclusive excellence. Inclusive excellence is our on-going commitment to recognizing that success is measured by how well a community values, engages, and embraces a rich diversity of ideas and people.

 

SUNY Diversity Matters Initiative

“At SUNY, we recognize our diversity makes us stronger and smarter. We respect, encourage, and promote all aspects of human difference. Diversity enriches lives and the educational experience. By capitalizing on diversity, our SUNY campuses invigorate conversations, awaken curiosity, foster civic engagement, and widen perspectives.Beyond being a pathway to culturally competent employment, SUNY campuses are also the training grounds for many future corporate and community leaders. As the Supreme Court recognized, the path to leadership should be visibly open to talented and qualified individuals of every race and ethnicity in order to cultivate a set of leaders with legitimacy in the eyes of the citizenry. The SUNY student body is sewn from the threads of our nation’s diverse quilt, where the views of all students across the educational spectrum are sought out and given voice.” In sum, SUNY’s diverse educational environments create an intellectual climate that fosters respect for differences, stimulates innovation, encourages collaboration, and prepares students to live and work productively in a multiracial and multiethnic society.”

“By providing leadership and support to our campuses in promoting measures that reduce barriers to access, inquiry, engagement and completion, SUNY hopes to provide a dynamic model for campus inclusion programs with a goal of continuous improvement throughout every aspect of campus life.”

News

Resources


Inclusion, Diversity, Equity (IDE) Committee

Sarita Bassil, sbassil@syr.edu
Scott Blair, sblair@esf.edu
Timothy Blehar, tmblehar@esf.edu
Kelley Donaghy, kdonaghy@esf.edu
Heather Engelman, engelman@esf.edu
Annette Hightower, ahightower1@esf.edu
Robin Kimmerrer, rkimmer@esf.edu
Michael Klaczko, mklaczko@syr.edu
Anne Lombard, aelombard@esf.edu
Matthew Potteiger, mpotteig@esf.edu
Susan Sanford, shsanfor@esf.edu
Timothy Volk, tavolk@esf.edu


Social

YouTube Channels

ESF | Athletics | Research | Academics | Sustainability | New York | Nature


SUNY-ESF
State University of New York College of Environmental Science and Forestry
SUNY-ESF |
1 Forestry Drive | Syracuse, NY 13210 | 315-470-6500
Copyright © 2017 | Admissions Information | Webmaster