SEARCH:

PBE Calendar

Tuesday, March 28, 2017

· Identifying Priorities to Improve Research at ESF

11:00 am - 12:30 pm | 408 Baker Laboratory
The value of research is critically important as we continue our quest to become a top research institution. This forum (the first of several) is meant to start the dialogue to help identify priorities to improve research, as well as visibility for ESF.
Contact: Christopher T. Nomura, 470-6606

Thursday, March 30, 2017

· 15th Annual New York State Green Building Conference

Marriott Syracuse Downtown, Syracuse, NY | ONGOING —continues through Friday, March 31, 2017 | Event Website
The upcoming 15th Annual New York State Green Building Conference will be held on March 30-31, 2017 at the Marriott Syracuse Downtown in Syracuse, NY, the site of extraordinary historic restoration and revitalization. We are very excited to be holding the 2017 ... Read More
Sponsor: ESF Outreach, NY Upstate USGBC, & Syracuse COE | Contact: Katherina Searing, 315-470-6817

· Joachim Speaker Series

11:00 am - 12:00 pm | 210 Walters Hall
Biogas Production from Organic Wastes by Aritra Das, Visiting Scholar, India BE, Electronics & Telecommunication Engineering MBA, Indian Institute of Management, Bangalore Jadavpur University, Chemical Engineering Department
Sponsor: Syracuse Pulp & Paper Foundation | Contact: Hélène Rainville

Monday, April 3, 2017

· BPE 440 Student Capstone Presentation

12:45 pm - 2:05 pm | 210 Walters Hall
Capstone Presentation: John Spencer, Adsorption; Lauren Lynn, Adsorption
Contact: Shijie Liu, 470-6885

Wednesday, April 5, 2017

· BPE 440 Student Capstone Presentation

12:45 pm - 2:05 pm | 210 Walters Hall
Student Capstone: Tyler Brazell, Adsorption; Christopher Kane, Batch Culture
Contact: Shijie Liu, 470-6885

Thursday, April 6, 2017

· Thesis Defense - Chengyan Jing

2:00 pm - 4:00 pm | 323 Walters Hall
Lignin Content in Processed Xylan-riched Lignocellulosics Species before and after Hot-water Extraction: Klason and Acetyl Bromide Spectrophotometric Method
Sponsor: The Office of Instruction and Graduate Studies | Contact: John Stella, 470-4902

Friday, April 7, 2017

· Oral Defense PSE468/PSE668 - Business Card Grade

1:00 pm - 4:00 pm | TBA
Business Card Gradeoral defense of the large and small paper machine run.
Sponsor: Department of Paper and Bioprocess Engineering | Contact: Dr. Klaus Doelle, 315470-6531

Monday, April 10, 2017

· BPE 440 Student Capstone Presentation

12:45 pm - 2:05 pm | 210 Walters Hall
Student Capstone: Mahdi Mere, Batch Culture; Ashley Daniul, Batch Culture
Contact: Shijie Liu, 470-6885

Tuesday, April 11, 2017

· Oral Defense - PSE468/PSE668/PSE596

1:00 pm - 4:00 pm | 309 Baker Lab
Cover Stock and Art Paper Oral defense of the small paper and large machine run 1.
Sponsor: Department of Paper and Bioprocess Engineering | Contact: Dr. Klaus Doelle, 315470-6531

Wednesday, April 12, 2017

· BPE 440 Student Capstone Presentation

12:45 pm - 2:05 pm | 210 Walters Hall
Student Capstone: Andrew Burrichter, Batch Enzymatic; Mathew Ovadias, Batch Enzymatic
Contact: Shijie Liu, 470-6885

Friday, April 14, 2017

· Large 48" Paper Machine Run - Table Cover Grade

Pilot Plant Walters Hall
PSE468/668 Large 48" paper machine run. Paper grade: Table Cover Grade Visitors should make appointments in advance.
Sponsor: Department of Paper and Bioprocess Engineering | Contact: Klaus Doelle, 315470-6531

Monday, April 17, 2017

· Earth Week eventESF Earth Week Keynote Lecture: Bill McKibben

10:00 am - 11:30 am | Gateway Center Event Space
ESF welcomes Bill McKibben - author, environmentalist, and co-founder of 350.org - who will be presenting an Earth Week keynote lecture titled "Turning Up the Heat: Physics and Politics in a Warming World." The event is free and open to the public.
Sponsor: ESF GSA, USA, Office of Sustainability, and President's Office | Contact: Adam Fix

· BPE 440 Student Capstone Presentation

12:45 pm - 2:05 pm | 210 Walters Hall
Student Capstone: Abhinandan Mehra, Batch Enzymatic; Joanna Cranwell, Natural Pickling
Contact: Shijie Liu, 470-6885

Friday, April 21, 2017

· Last day to withdraw from a class with a grade of W or WF

· Thesis Defense - Aziz Demir

1:00 pm - 3:00 pm | 323 Walters Hall
Investigating the movement of copper nanoparticles in either of hot water extracted and dry wood chips using STEM
Sponsor: The Office of Instruction and Graduate Studies | Contact: Martin Dovciak, 470-6743

Monday, April 24, 2017

· BPE 440 Student Capstone Presentation

12:45 pm - 2:05 pm | 210 Walters Hall
Student Capstone: Bryan Warner, Continuous Catalytic; Nicholas Stoltz, Continuous Catalytic
Contact: Shijie Liu, 470-6885

Tuesday, April 25, 2017

· Earth Week eventSpotlight on Student Research

12:00 pm - 2:00 pm | Gateway Center | Event Website
ESF's annual Spotlight on Student Research is a dynamic forum where graduate and undergraduate students share the results of their research. The Spotlight is a student poster session highlighting scholarly efforts.
Sponsor: Academic Governance Committee on Research | Contact: John Wasiel, 315.470.6896

Wednesday, April 26, 2017

· BPE 440 Student Capstone Presentation

12:45 pm - 2:05 pm | 210 Walters Hall
Student Capstone: Janelle Tallents, Continuous Catalytic; Dwyer Stuart, Biogas
Contact: Shijie Liu, 470-6885

· Earth Week eventWiSE Professions Speaker Series: Amy Pruden

4:00 pm - 5:00 pm | Nifkin (Alumni) Lounge, Marshall Hall | Event Website
Amy Pruden, W. Thomas Rice Professor, Via Department of Civil & Environmental Engineering & Associate Dean for Interdisciplinary Graduate Education, will share her work with Antibiotic Resistence and potable water.
Sponsor: ESF Women's Caucus | Contact: Heather Engelman, 315-470-4752

Thursday, April 27, 2017

· Take our Kids to Work Day

Gateway Center and other spaces | Event Website
Hands on Career Exploration for 8-11 yr olds in the lives of of ESF students, staff, faculty and administrators.
Sponsor: ESF Women's Caucus | Contact: Heather Engelman, 3154704752

Monday, May 1, 2017

· BPE 440 Student Capstone Presentation

12:45 pm - 2:05 pm | 210 Walters Hall
Student Capstone: Samuel Ellison, Biogas; Christopher Rougeux, Biogas
Contact: Shijie Liu, 470-6885

Wednesday, May 3, 2017

· Reading Day

Thursday, May 4, 2017

· Final Exams

ONGOING —continues through Friday, May 5, 2017

Saturday, May 6, 2017

· Reading Days

ONGOING —continues through Sunday, May 7, 2017

Monday, May 8, 2017

· Final Exams

ONGOING —continues through Wednesday, May 10, 2017

Wednesday, May 17, 2017

· Grades Due

Thursday, May 18, 2017

· 9th Annual New York State Biotechnology Symposium

The Gateway Center, SUNY ESF | ONGOING —continues through Friday, May 19, 2017 | Event Website
The NYS Biotechnology Symposium fosters the exchange of ideas among industry representatives and scientists, academics, students, and other professionals interested in biotechnology. We are crafting an agenda that includes exciting plenary presentations and ... Read More
Sponsor: ESF Outreach | Contact: Katherina Searing, 315-470-6817

· Dissertation Defense -Ying Guo

9:30 am - 11:30 am | Guangzhou Institute of Energy Conversation, Chinese Academy of Sciences
A metabolic study of a developed microalgae for the CO2 capture process of industrial plants
Sponsor: The Office of Instruction and Graduate Studies | Contact: Scott Shannon, 470-6599

Monday, August 28, 2017

· Classes Begin

Monday, September 4, 2017

· Labor Day (no classes)

Tuesday, September 5, 2017

· Last day to add a class

Friday, September 22, 2017

· Last day to drop a class

Friday, October 27, 2017

· Last day to withdraw from a class with a grade of W

Monday, October 30, 2017

· Advising for Spring 2018

ONGOING —continues through Tuesday, November 7, 2017

Wednesday, November 8, 2017

· Registration for Spring 2018

ONGOING —continues through Friday, December 15, 2017

Sunday, November 19, 2017

· Thanksgiving Recess

ONGOING —continues through Sunday, November 26, 2017

Friday, December 1, 2017

· Last day to withdraw from a class with a grade of W or WF

Saturday, December 9, 2017

· Reading Days

ONGOING —continues through Sunday, December 10, 2017

Monday, December 11, 2017

· Final Exams

Tuesday, December 12, 2017

· Final Exams (p.m)

· Reading Day (a.m.)

Wednesday, December 13, 2017

· Final Exams

Thursday, December 14, 2017

· Final Exams (p.m)

· Reading Day (a.m.)

Friday, December 15, 2017

· Final Exams

Friday, December 22, 2017

· Grades Due

Tuesday, January 16, 2018

· Classes Begin

Tuesday, January 23, 2018

· Last day to add a class

Friday, February 9, 2018

· Last day to drop a class

Sunday, March 11, 2018

· Spring Break

ONGOING —continues through Sunday, March 18, 2018

Tuesday, March 20, 2018

· Last day to withdraw from a class with a grade of W


Social

YouTube Channels

ESF | Athletics | Research | Academics | Sustainability | New York | Nature


SUNY-ESF
State University of New York College of Environmental Science and Forestry
SUNY-ESF |
1 Forestry Drive | Syracuse, NY 13210 | 315-470-6500
Copyright © 2017 | Admissions Information | Webmaster