

Purpose: To recognize one member of the ESF Faculty each year for meritorious contributions to teaching ESF students.

Selection Procedure:

- Nominations should be endorsed, coordinated, and submitted by the chairs of the academic departments; nominations may be initiated by the chair or any current faculty member, or from a group of three or more students; self-nominations are not permitted. Each department chair may nominate one faculty member from his/her department.
- Nominations should be submitted by Department Chairs to the Associate Provost for Academic Affairs and Dean of the Graduate School by April 17th.
- The name of the winner shall be submitted to the Development Office for transmittal to the ESF Foundation President by May 1st.
- Selections will be made from among the nominees by a seven person committee
 composed of the two most recent winners of the awards, the Chair of the Faculty
 Governance Committee on Instructional Quality and Academic Standards, three students
 nominated by USA, and one student nominated by GSA (students who nominate a
 candidate may not participate in the selection committee).

Nomination Package:

- A letter of nomination from the department chair outlining and documenting the candidates' exceptional achievements in teaching.
- Supporting documents, including:
 - A summary of teaching evaluations from courses taught over the past 3 (or more) years (to be provided by department chairs)
 - At least three letters of support from current and/or former students
 - o Examples of creative approaches to teaching/pedagogy (at least one)
 - o Examples of work produced from courses taught

Award: Award winners will receive the following:

- A one-year salary supplement
- A certificate commemorating the award
- An invitation to be recognized and honored as the award winner at the ESF Foundation annual meeting (usually in May).

Past Award Winners: 2009 - Prof. Ken Tiss, CMWPE 1999 - Dr. Donald Leopold, EFB 2010 - Dr. Lindi Quackenbush, ERE 2000 - Prof. Cheryl Doble, LA 2011 - Dr. Robert Malmsheimer, FNRM 2012 - Dr. William Shields, EFB 2001 - Dr. Charles Hall, EFB 2001 - Richard Sage, Jr., AEC 2013 - Prof. Anthony Miller, LA 2003 – Dr. Stephen Stehman, FNRM 2014 - Dr. Gary Scott, PBE 2004 – Dr. Charles Kroll, ERFEG 2015 - Prof. Paul Crovella, FNRM 2005 - not awarded 2016 - Dr. Stewart Diemont, EFB 2006 - Dr. James Gibbs, EFB and 2017 - Prof. Martin Hogue, LA Dr. Mark Teece, CHE 2018 - Dr. John Wagner, FNRM 2007 - Dr. Robin Kimmerer, EFB 2019 - Prof. Doug Daley, ERE $2008-not\ awarded$ 2020 - Dr. Mark Teece, CHE