e s f home link - e s f college of environmental science and forestry
e s f home link - e s f college of environmental science and forestry
SUNY-ESF Sol Feinstone Environmental Awards logo

1983 Feinstone Environmental Awards

1983 Awards Recipients

Markham A. Dickson Jr.Markham A, Dickson Jr.
A professional ecologist, MARKHAM A. DICKSON JR. recognized the value of the last major tract of bottomland and hardwoods in the Louisiana-Mississippi flood plain and decided he would do what he could to save it from imminent conversion to cropland. He organized the 100,000-member Tensas Conservation Coalition, which spans three states, within a period of one year and with this backing began letter writing campaigns, petition drives, media announcements and vigorous lobbying efforts at state and federal levels. Because of these activities, the Tensas Tract, a 100,000-acre remnant of forested wetlands, has been saved. On other fronts, Dickson has been a leader in organizational work on many conservation issues in Louisiana. He has served as area chairman of Ducks Unlimited and established a "Greenwing" program to better involve area youths in waterfowl conservation efforts. He established the Shreveport "Conservationist of the Year Award" to promote voluntary leadership and encourage local recognition and participation in conservation issues. He has worked successfully with others to prevent unnecessary environmentally damaging water projects, including the proposed Glover River Dam in Oklahoma, and is working toward introducing to Louisiana the public land trust concept designed to dedicate significant habitat for perpetual protection through private sector ownership.

Myrt JonesMyrt Jones
In ten years of full-time voluntarism, MYRT JONES has compiled an outstanding and multi-faceted record of accomplishment in Alabama. Becoming alarmed about the lack of safeguards surrounding petroleum exploration in Mobile Bay, she joined the Save Our Bay effort, and nine years later was credited jointly with the state Attorney General's Office as being responsible for a series of monitoring requirements, such as emergency contingency plans, provision for clean-up equipment, and a $50 million bond to cover damages resulting from accidents. Simultaneously, Jones became president of the Mobile Bay Audubon Society and launched a five-point program to increase membership and activities, promote environmental awareness, protect significant natural areas, voice concern and offer alternatives to environmentally damaging activities, and to support enforcement of land-use, air and water quality regulations. She has been an active board member of the Alabama Conservancy, has served on three citizen advisory committees of the Corps of Engineers, and was appointed to the Governor's Outdoor Recreation Committee. She has launched an oiled bird rescue project, an industry-supported program of conservation education, and such natural area protection programs as Pinto Pass, Dauphin Island, Escatawpa River, and the creation of Bon Secour National Wildlife Refuge.

A. Timon Primm IIIA. Timon Primm III
Active in environmental matters in Missouri for many years, A. TIMON PRIMM III has been extremely effective as a fund-raiser and as an inspirational leader in preserving natural areas in Missouri. Following his retirement from the Pulitzer Publishing Company, he became more active in The Nature Conservancy and during a two-year period as chairman of the Missouri Chapter, he established a state Natural Heritage Inventory, identified significant areas in the state not under protection, organized a professionally staffed field office, and launched a fund-raising campaign. Primm is credited with the acquisition of Buford Mountain, one of the northernmost St. Francois Mountains and ecologically important to the region. He was instrumental in arranging The Nature Conservancy acquisition and then state purchase of four state parks: the 251-acre Victoria Glade; Prairie State Park, a 1,840-acre unglaciated tall grass prairie; Onondaga Cave State Park, an 860-acre tract with two caves harboring a rich bat fauna; and the 40-acre Trice-Dedman Woods. Clarksville Island, an important wintering site for bald eagles and a heron and egret rookery has also been acquired. Primm is a former member of the National Board of Governors of The Nature Conservancy, a trustee emeritus of the Missouri Botanical Garden, and received the Garden Club of America's Conservation Award in 1980.

Edward T. Richardson Jr.Edward T. Richardson Jr.
For nearly 25 years, EDWARD T. RICHARDSON JR. has been closely identified with the development of the current programs of the Maine Nature Conservancy and the Maine Audubon Society. His volunteer leadership and pro bono counsel are credited with setting the stage for the present character of these organizations, and the development of the Landguard Trust, as well. One of Richardson's more ambitious projects came to be called Friends of Bigelow, a citizen effort to preserve a 17-mile chain of mountains near Flagstaff Lake. Richardson was a founder and leader in the battle to gather 43,000 signatures to initiate a bill, and then when the Legislature failed to pass it, brought the issue to public referendum where it was passed into law. His legal work on conservation easements and open space taxation has had a lasting beneficial effect on the Maine landscape, and he personally negotiated many of the acquisitions preserving significant parcels of land.

Iva May WarnerIva May Warner
Balancing an integrated program to maintain environmental quality along Coastal California, IVA MAY WARNER has faced nearly insurmountable odds for over a decade. Joining two former Feinstone Award recipients, the late Dorothy Erskine of San Francisco and Sylvia McLaughlin of Berkeley, she opposed a dam on the Russian River, mustering expert testimony on engineering, geology, earthquake analysis, biology and stream degradation from some 200 citizen volunteers. Even though the Warm Springs Dam is being built today, a number of modifications were effected that provide safety features and ameliorate environmental degradation. Warner was prominent in the effort to form the state Coastal Commission to protect the coastline from over-development, and the succeeding Coastal Act of 1976, both of which have had significant results. Her other projects have included opposition to aqueducts which could have opened all of Sonoma County to development, protecting the fishery in the Eel and Russian rivers, proposing land disposal waste water reclamation, implementation and monitoring the Sonoma County and Santa Rosa General Plans, farmland preservation, and opposition to stream channelization. Her current focus is to pass the State Water Conservation Initiative, an attempt to revise water law established in 1928.

* * * * *

Questions may be directed to feinstone@esf.edu.