e s f home link - e s f college of environmental science and forestry
e s f home link - e s f college of environmental science and forestry
SUNY-ESF Sol Feinstone Environmental Awards logo

1986 Feinstone Environmental Awards

1986 Awards Recipients

boiceRay L. Boice
An effective volunteer environmentalist, RAY L. BOICE, of Gering, Nebraska, has worked on both local and regional levels primarily through the Longs Peak Council of Boy Scouts, whose activities were recognized by the U.S. Department of Agriculture. He was responsible for initiating the Save Our American Resources (SOAR) program, first in Nebraska, and then in Colorado and Wyoming. SOAR was implemented with the Nebraska Game and Parks Commission, National Audubon Society, Wildcat Audubon Society, and the Boy Scouts, and recognized youths for carrying out volunteer environmental projects. Some specific achievements include: establishing Gold Seal Park on a former dump, establishing the Northfield Park Arboretum, restoration projects for wood ducks and Rocky Mountain bluebirds, and carrying out many education/informational campaigns.

cooleyArthur P. Cooley
As one of the founders of the Environmental Defense Fund (EDF), ARTHUR P. COOLEY, of East Patchogue, New York, was president of a predecessor organization called the Brookhaven Town Natural Resources Committee (BTNRC) in the early 1960's which led the campaign to stop the use of DDT for mosquito control on Long Island. This was the first litigation of its kind based on science and law, and provided the cornerstone on which EDF was founded in 1967. Cooley was an original EDF trustee, and served as vice president and president. During the same time, Cooley was a leader in several environmental campaigns, such as protecting the Carman's River, the New York Returnable Beverage Container Law, protection of seals in New York coastal waters, and founding the "Students For Environmental Quality."

dickermanErnest M. Dickerman
ERNEST M. DICKERMAN, of Swoope, Virginia, has been a principal in the effort to change the National Park Service's "ill-advised and inadequate" wilderness proposals for the Great Smokey Mountains National Park. Dickerman provided a plan for the Great Smokey Mountains Park's Greenbrier area; orchestrated citizen testimony in Tennessee and North Carolina, led hikes and information programs, and organized coalitions supporting wilderness policies. He founded the Virginia Wilderness Committee to protect deserving wildlands on the George Washington and Jefferson National Forests, and his leadership is credited for passage of the Virginia Wilderness Act.

hulbertLloyd C. Hulbert
A professional ecologist, the late LLOYD C. HULBERT, of Manhattan, Kansas, spent over 25 years of volunteer time and effort in preserving tallgrass prairies. Beginning in 1958, he articulated a dream of establishing .a large grassland preserve. With the purchase of two tracts in the 1970's, the Konza Prairie was established--13 square miles purchased for $1.3 million--an achievement attributed mainly to Hulbert's tenacity, energy, and vision. This large natural area received immediate recognition by inclusion in the National Hydrological Benchmark Network, and later UNESCO dedicated Konza as a Biosphere Reserve. Hulbert was active in other grasslands projects, helping to establish the Tallgrass Prairie National Park, and he organized the Third Midwest Prairie Conference.

mccullaghLenore N. McCullagh
LENORE N. McCULLAGH, of Orange Park, Florida, has amassed a long list of environmental achievements. As president of the Duval Audubon Society, she negotiated the donation of 152 acres of pristine swamp, and 180 adjacent acres--worth $750,000--to create the Crosby Sanctuary. This was prologue, however, to her community and statewide campaigns. McCullagh orchestrated a grassroots drive to purchase Big Talbot Island, which was successful. McCullagh also emerged as a principal negotiator in the Guana tract--a $50 million acquisition--which was also completed by the state. She continues as the volunteer environmental "leader" in the Jacksonville area and has received a number of awards.

Honorary Feinstone Recipient:

Russell E. Train

* * * * *

Questions may be directed to feinstone@esf.edu.