e s f home link - e s f college of environmental science and forestry
e s f home link - e s f college of environmental science and forestry
SUNY-ESF Sol Feinstone Environmental Awards logo

1988 Feinstone Environmental Awards

1988 Awards Recipients

The 1988 Sol Feinstone Environmental Awards winners have been announced by William K. Reilly, chairman of the awards' board of directors. The recipients of this year's five prizes include three New York residents and residents of Iowa and Alaska.

The awardees will be honored by ESF, which administers the Feinstone Program:

  • Robert R. Buckmaster of Waterloo, Iowa
  • Richard P. Buegler of Staten Island, New York
  • Celia Hunter of Fairbanks, Alaska
  • David L. Newhouse of Schenectady, New York
  • Frances Stevens Reese of Hughsonville, New York

They will receive a check for $1,000 and citation of accomplishment which comprise the Feinstone Award for their volunteer contributions to the environmental movement.

 The 13th annual awards were made possible through an endowment to ESF by the late Sol Feinstone, a renowned historian and alumnus of the College, to recognize and honor people for their volunteer contributions toward a betterment of society.

Robert R. BuckmasterRobert R. Buckmaster
Buckmaster was the key figure in founding the Iowa Natural Heritage Foundation, serving as its first chairman for four years and establishing its financial well-being and record of achievement. In eight years, the Foundation added more than 10,000 acres of prairie, woodlands, lakes, and wetlands to Iowa's protected land and water resources, and became noted for providing environmental training for hundreds of teachers and raising Iowans' awareness of the importance of their natural heritage. Furthermore, Buckmaster has taken the lead in the national issues of conservation easements, public conservation policy in agriculture, corporate conservation policy, and trail corridor development. He has chaired various commissions, and was instrumental in writing Iowa's first water quality laws. His work has been recognized with a number of state and regional awards.

Richard P. BueglerRichard P. Buegler
Buegler's major accomplishment is a 15-year record of preserving natural environments on Staten Island. With two previous Feinstone recipients, he organized and led the Protectors of Pine Oak Woods (PPOW)--the area's largest conservation group--which created Clay Pit Ponds State Park and Great Heron Park. Since the late 1970's, PPOW has advocated creation of the largest contiguous greenbelt in urban America--a chain of parks, privately-owned undeveloped land, and publicly-owned open spaces that could total 6,000 acres. The greenbelt battle is far from completion, but PPOW has made progress, including realizing the creation of a Staten Island Greenbelt Administrator's office, having Great Swamp transferred to the Parks Department, and getting the City to change its plans for Sea View.

Celia HunterCelia Hunter
A "pioneer" in the environmental movement in Alaska, Hunter has been an active environmentalist for over 30 years. She co-founded the Alaska Conservation Society in 1960, the first grassroots environmental group in the state, and was a major force in founding the Alaska Conservation Foundation, which she served as the first chair of its Board of Trustees. She has been, with her coalitions of volunteers, at the forefront of every environmental battle in Alaska during this period, frequently in the midst of hostile local attitudes. She was a leader in thwarting the dangerous nuclear experiment "Project Chariot," and led the state effort to secure passage of the Alaska National Interest Lands Conservation Act of 1980. She is currently engaged in the battle to protect the Arctic National Wildlife Refuge, and she was a leader in the Denali Park management controversy.

David L. NewhouseDavid L. Newhouse
Newhouse, for more than 25 years, has led the Adirondack Mountain Club's (ADK) battles to protect the largest wilderness preserve in the East. He is credited with mobilizing other organzations and individual volunteers to engage a broad array of conservation issues. As conservation chair for ADK for over 20 years, Newhouse has many specific achievements--wilderness protection during the State Constitutional Convention of 1967; contributions to the Temporary Study Commission on the Future of the Adirondacks; thwarting a number of ill-conceived dams, such as the Higley, Panther Mountain, Gooley, Luzerne, and Piseco; and supporting the 1986 Environmental Quality Bond Act. Overshadowing any specific accomplishment or battle, however, is his legacy of articulating the values of wilderness, scenic beauty, and the wise management of natural resources. He has received numerous awards, and he continues his volunteer work full time in his retirement.

Frances Stevens ReeseFrances Stevens Reese
A founding member of Scenic Hudson, Inc. and chairman of its Board for 18 years, Reese played a central role in protecting Storm King Mountain. This landmark court battle established environmental review as a legal requirement, and served as a model for Congress in drafting the national Environmental Policy Act. During and after the Storm King decisions, Reese has guided many other environmental projects, including: legislation securing $20 million for PCB reclamation of the Hudson River, adoption by New York State of a Coastal Management Program, protection of four Hudson River marshes under the National Estuarine Sanctuary program, designation of eight districts and more than 600 properties to the National Register of Historic Places, and securing passage of legislation for a Conservation Easement Bill. Currently she is working on the designation of the Hudson River as a “greenway."

The five recipients of 1988 Feinstone Awards will be honored this summer and fall in hometown ceremonies coordinated by the College of Environmental Science and Forestry.

Third Honorary Feinstone Recipient:

Horace Albright
The late Horace Albright (1890-1987), a founder and, from 1913 to 1933, second director of the National Park Service, has been named a posthumous recipient of an Honorary Sol Feinstone Environmental Award. Honorary awards have been made periodically throughout the Feinstone Program's 12-year history. He worked with John D. Rockefeller Jr. to establish Grand Teton National Park and with Secretary of the Interior Harold L. Ickes to add the Kings Canyon land containing the General Grant sequoias to Sequoia National Park. He served on the Natural Resources Task Force which advocated establishment of a Department of Conservation. As founder and president of Resources for the Future, which was funded by the Ford Foundation, Albright organized the 1953 conference in Washington, DC, that focused on the need for natural resources conservation. In 1980, President Richard M. Nixon awarded Albright the Medal of Freedom, the highest civilian award in the United States. Previous Honorary Feinstone Award recipients were Supreme Court Justice William 0. Douglas in 1976 and Russell E. Train, chairman of the board of the World Wildlife Fund in 1986.

* * * * *

Questions may be directed to feinstone@esf.edu.