e s f home link - e s f college of environmental science and forestry
e s f home link - e s f college of environmental science and forestry
SUNY-ESF Sol Feinstone Environmental Awards logo

1995 Feinstone Environmental Awards

1995 Awards Recipients

Dan Chapin, Sacramento, CaliforniaDan Chapin, Sacramento, California
For the past 25 years, Dan Chapin has been an advocate for wetlands and waterfowl in California. As California Waterfowl Association's first official ambassador and staff member, Mr. Chapin introduced the crisis of declining waterfowl and habitat to many state and federal officials. Through his association with other environmental groups including the California Wetlands Foundation, the Suisun Resource Conservation District, the Delta Environmental Advisory Committee, Ducks Unlimited, the Waterfowl Habitat Owners Alliance, and the Management Board of the Central Valley Habitat Joint Venture of the North American Waterfowl Management Plan, he has been instrumental in achieving significant legislative goals for the Pacific Flyway preservation and enhancement.

Polly Dyer, Seattle, WashingtonPolly Dyer, Seattle, Washington
Polly Dyer has worked tirelessly for more than 40 years to improve and protect the environment of Washington state. In 1950, she organized the Cascade Chapter of the Sierra Club which became the first chapter outside the state of California. She helped found the North Cascade Conservation Council which lobbied successfully to create the North Cascades National Park. Ms. Dyer served as a member of the Governor's Water Resources Forum and was instrumental in passing the Washington State Wilderness Act of 1984. A founding board member of the Puget Sound Alliance, she was a key player in the formation of the Puget Sound Water Quality Authority. In addition, she is a board member, founding member, or leader of at least six other environmental organizations, including Friends of the Earth, Earthshare of Washington, and the Olympic Marine Sanctuary.

Duncan McFetridge, San Diego, CaliforniaDuncan McFetridge, San Diego, California
Duncan McFetridge is a founding member of Save Our Forest and Ranchlands (SOFAR), a nonprofit corporation organized to promote protection of the Cleveland National Forest in San Diego, California, through planning, education, and acquisition. Along with others associated with SOFAR, Mr. McFetridge drafted and promoted the Forest Conservation Initiative which was passed by San Diego County voters in November 1993. The Initiative amended the County General Plan, eliminating the ability to subdivide residential lots and establishing a minimum 40-acre lot size. He organized the Cleveland National Forest Foundation which serves to promote land acquisition within the Peninsula Range and Cleveland National Forest.

Margaret (Peg) Tileston, Anchorage, AlaskaMargaret (Peg) Tileston, Anchorage, Alaska
Margaret (Peg) Tileston has been an enthusiastic, imaginative, and effective member of the Alaska environmental community for many years. She is a founding board member of the Alaska Center for the Environment, which provides oversight of Alaska land issues, including protection of Alaska state-owned lands and monitoring toxic wastes. She helped to organize and continues to serve on the Alaska Conservation Foundation, which provides funding for activist environmental organizations in Alaska. During her career of volunteer public service, she has been appointed by the Governor of Alaska to serve on the Water Resources Board, a citizen commission having oversight of the state's water problems and resources. She has been active in the Alaska Chapter of the Sierra Club for three years.

* * * * *

Questions may be directed to feinstone@esf.edu