e s f home link - e s f college of environmental science and forestry
e s f home link - e s f college of environmental science and forestry

Top 10 New Species - 2010

Each year the IISE announces a list of the Top 10 New Species for the preceding calendar year. The Top 10 New Species described in 2009 are listed below with links to additional details about each species.

Attenborough's Ptcher
Bombardier Worm Udderly Weird Yam Bug Eating Slug Far-out Frogsish
1. Attenborough's Pitcher 2. Bombardier Worm 3. Udderly Weird Yam 4. Bug-eating Slug 5. Far-out Frogfish

Uber Orb-weaver Small Favor Fanged Fish Electric Fish Killer Sponge
6. Uber Orb-weaver 7. Small Favor

8. Fanged Fish

9. Short-circuited Electric Fish 10. Killer Sponge

Map of Species

How were the Top 10 selected?

Chaired by Dr. Janine Caira of the University of Connecticut, an international committee of taxon experts selected the Top 10 New Species from the thousands of species fully described and published in calendar year 2009. Nominations from the public were invited through the IISE web site and were also generated by IISE staff and committee members themselves. The Committee had complete freedom in making its choices and developing its own criteria to provide a breadth of species attributes and importance. The committee members included:

  • Dr. Daphne Fautin (University of Kansas, USA);

  • Dr. Ellinor Michel (Natural History Museum, London, UK);

  • Dr. Mary Liz Jameson (Wichita State University, USA);

  • Dr. Niels Kristensen (Zoological Museum, University of Copenhagen, Denmark);

  • Dr. James Macklin (Harvard University, USA);

  • Dr. Peter Kämpfer (Justus-Liebig-Universität Giessen, Germany)

  • Dr. John Noyes (Natural History Museum, London, UK);

  • Dr. Alan Paton (International Plant Names Index and Royal Botanical Garden Kew, UK);

  • Dr. Philippe Bouchet (Muséum national d'Histoire naturelle, Paris, France);

  • Dr. Andrew Polaszek (Natural History Museum, London, UK);

  • Dr. Gideon Smith (South African National Biodiversity Institute);

  • Dr. Antonio Valdecasas (Museo National Ciencias Naturales, Madrid, Spain);

  • Dr. Zhi-Qiang Zhang (International Commission on Zoological Nomenclature, New Zealand);

  • Dr. Janine Caira, chair (University of Connecticut, USA).