Scholarships

The ESF College Foundation. These scholarships are based on academic merit as well as financial need. All students who apply for financial aid will be reviewed for eligibility for scholarship awards. The following is a list of our current scholarships and a brief description of each one. For specific information, call the ESF Financial Aid Office.

Alumni Educational Grants. Awards to financially needy students through donations of our alumni.

Alumni Memorial Grants. Given to an outstanding student based on service to the College.

Bennett Grant. A merit award given to an outstanding student in the Forestry Program.

Berglund Scholarship. An award to assist financially deserving students as selected by the Forestry Faculty.

Simeon H. Bornt III Scholarship Award. Based on financial need and academic performance. Awarded annually in memory of College alumnus Simeon Bornt.

Nelson Courtlandt Brown Scholarship Award. Awarded to students in Wood Products Engineering who demonstrate good academic standing, professional potential, and financial need.

Henry Buckley Foundation Grants. Each year, the Buckley Foundation donates funds to the College to be awarded to students from counties (Otsego, Chenango, Delaware, Herkimer, Madison, Montgomery, Oneida, and Schoharie) in the Utica area who qualify for financial assistance.

John P. Clark Scholarship. Awarded annually to academically talented Paper Science students in memory of John P. Clark, Class of 1977.

William Cross Scholarship. Awarded annually to a deserving ESF student.

Czyscon Scholarship. An award for a senior Landscape Architecture student as selected by the Landscape Architecture Faculty.

Gutchess Scholarship. A merit award to an outstanding first-year student in both the Forestry and Wood Products Engineering faculties.

Hirsch Scholarship. A merit-based scholarship to go to a highly qualified student. Selection criteria is primarily superior academic achievement.

Meyer Chemistry Award. A merit award to an outstanding student in polymer chemistry.

Minority Student Scholarship. These awards are made to New York residents who are African American, Hispanic American, Native American, or Alaskan American. Awards vary and are comprised of dollars from the College of SUNY.

Portia Farrell Morgan Award. Given by the Women's National Farm and Garden Association, Inc. Metropolitan Division of New York City. Based on academic standing, college activities, financial need, and residence in the New York City area.

Ranger School Scholarship. Awarded annually to an incoming student in the Forest Technology program at Wanakena. The selection is made by the Faculty at Wanakena based on academic merit and financial need.

Eugene C. Reichard Scholarship. Awarded annually from funds donated by Eugene Reichard, Class of 1925. Selection criteria include financial need and academic performance.

Raymond Rizzo Memorial Scholarship. Awarded annually in memory of student Raymond Rizzo. Selection criteria include academic standing, financial need, and enrollment in Resources Management curriculum.

Phyllis Roskins Memorial Award. Awarded annually in memory of graduate student Phyllis Roskins. Criteria include outstanding academic performance by a woman student in a biology curriculum.

Saratoga Association Scholarship. An award for a senior Landscape Architecture student as selected by the Landscape Architecture Faculty.

Gary Scott Memorial Award. An award given to a minority student. This award is based on academic merit, need, and service to the community.

Syracuse Pulp and Paper Foundation Scholarship. Awarded to students in the Paper Science and Engineering curriculum who maintain high cumulative grade point averages.

Walter Tarbox Memorial Scholarship. Awarded in memory of Walter Tarbox. Selection criteria include enrollment in Bachelor of Landscape Architecture curriculum, academic performance, and financial need.

John J. View Scholarship. Awarded annually to students in financial need. The award is named after John J. View, a friend of the College.

Gerald E. Williams Scholarship. Awarded annually in memory of Gerald E. Williams. Selection criteria include academic achievement and financial need.

Class of '31. Awarded annually to deserving ESF students.

Class of '36. Awarded annually to deserving ESF students.

Denise Cerimeli Memorial Scholarship. Awarded annually in memory of student Denise Cerimeli.

Student Association Grant. Awarded annually based on academic performance and financial need.

Robert B. Johnson Scholarship. Awarded annually to a student with financial need.

Klaehn Scholarship. Awarded annually in memory of Dr. Klaehn, a German forest geneticist.

Komar Scholarship. Awarded annually to a deserving ESF student(s).

McKean Scholarship. Awarded annually to a deserving ESF student(s).

Ernest Sondheimer Memorial Scholarship. Awarded in memory of Ernest Sondheimer. Selection criteria is primarily superior academic achievement in Chemistry.