ESF Board of Trustees

Development, Support & Oversight

Next Meeting

Friday, March 10th


Appointed by Governor

  • Chair: Vita DeMarchi, Manlius
  • Vice Chair: Matthew J. Marko, Syracuse
  • Daniel T. Fitts, Lake Placid
  • Charles G. Fox, New York City
  • William L. McGarry, Jr., Fayetteville
  • Stephen F. Sloan, West Fulton
  • Leslie Talbot, New York City
  • Student Trustee: Alexandre Poisson, Syracuse
Ex officio Trustees:
  • Chancellor, State University of New York, Albany
  • Chancellor, Syracuse University, Syracuse
  • Lieutenant Governor, State of New York, Albany
  • Commissioner, Department of Education, Albany
  • Commissioner, Department of Environmental Conservation, Albany
Secretary to the Board:

Audio Archive of Past Meetings

If you are unable to access the archived meetings contact

Notes on the Audio Archive

Article 121 §6003 of New York State Education Law states that SUNY-ESF shall have a 15-member Board of Trustees consisting of nine members appointed by the governor and one member elected from among the students of the College. The remaining five members shall be ex officio and include the lieutenant governor, state commissioner of education, chancellor of the state university, the state commissioner of environmental conservation, and the chancellor of Syracuse University.

Board officers are a chair, vice chair and secretary. All officers serve for a term of two years.

The Board of Trustees meets four times annually. Advance notice is provided as required by the Open Meetings Law. Meetings are open to the public and will be recorded digitally. Past meetings will be archived as captioned video or audio recordings, and will be accessible from this site.


YouTube Channels

ESF | Athletics | Research | Academics | Sustainability | New York | Nature

State University of New York College of Environmental Science and Forestry
1 Forestry Drive | Syracuse, NY 13210 | 315-470-6500
Copyright © 2017 | Admissions Information | Webmaster