SEARCH:

EFB Calendar

Adaptive Peaks Seminar Series Fall 2016

All seminars held 4 - 5 p.m., Illick 5, reception follows (Illick 12)

Thursday, October 6

Dr. Andrei Tolstikov
Dr. Tolstikov is the Vice Rector for Research and International Affairs at Tyumen State University in Siberia and a world leading authority on mite taxonomy and evolution. He was previously a Fulbright fellow and has held exchange positions at the University of Idaho and Indiana University aimed towards developing successful International Studies Programs.  Dr. Tolstikov has also lectured on topics including the environmental impacts of the Russian oil and gas industry and its development in high Arctic latitude ecosystems.

Thursday, October 13

Dr. Mark Lesser
Dr. Lesser is an Assistant Professor in the Department of Biology at Shepherd University in West Virginia. Research topics in his lab include understanding the factors that dictate plant species range limits. Dr. Lesser is also interested in population dynamics at range margins, along with migration and dispersal patterns over multiple spatial and temporal scales. His research integrates dendroecology (tree ring analysis), population genetics and climatology, along with traditional population and community ecology tools.

Thursday, November 10

Dr. Stephen Stehman
Dr. Stehman is a Professor in the Department of Forest and Natural Resources Management and is SUNY-ESF’s 2016-2017 Exemplary Researcher.  Dr. Stehman’s areas of expertise include geodesy, remote sensing, and understanding global changes in forests and land cover in response to environmental changes and human stressors.  Dr. Stehman has published over 100 research articles in prestigious journals including Science and Proceedings of the National Academy of Sciences and is one of ESF’s most highly cited researchers.

Thursday, December 1

Dr. Christopher Rota
Dr. Rota is an Assistant Professor of quantitative ecology in the Wildlife and Fisheries Resources Program at West Virginia University. His research interests focuses on the development and application of modern statistical techniques to address a diverse set of questions in applied vertebrate ecology. Dr. Rota also has research interests in the fields of species distribution and habitat modeling and has worked on projects understanding the population demographics of a restored Elk population and the effects of the oil and gas industry on Mule Deer in North Dakota.

Events

Tuesday, January 17, 2017

· Classes Begin

Monday, January 23, 2017

· Fink Career Fellowship Info Meeting

4:00 pm - 5:00 pm | 110 Moon Library | Fink Career Fellowship Information
The Fink Career Fellowship supports internships and conference attendance for undergraduate and graduate students. Fink Fellows are exceptional students who seek to pursue experiences that can truly shape their development. With the help of The Fink Career Fellowship, ... Read More
Sponsor: Career Services Office | Contact: Casey Duffy, 315-470-4754

Tuesday, January 24, 2017

· Last day to add a class

Monday, January 30, 2017

· Candidacy Examination - Thomas Mackey

2:30 pm - 12:00 am | 213 Marshall
Sponsor: The Office of Instruction and Graduate Studies | Contact: Gregory Boyer, 470-6720

Friday, February 10, 2017

· Last day to drop a class

Wednesday, February 22, 2017

· 16th Annual Environmental Career Fair

10:30 am - 2:00 pm | Gateway Center | Event Website
Our Career Fair brings together representatives from a broad range of organizations offering careers associated with the environment. Invited organizations will include corporate, government, and non-profit agencies. The Career Fair will provide opportunities ... Read More
Sponsor: Career Services Office | Contact: Patricia Henson, 315-470-6900

Sunday, March 12, 2017

· Spring Break

ONGOING —continues through Sunday, March 19, 2017

Monday, March 20, 2017

· Advising for Fall 2017

ONGOING —continues through Wednesday, March 29, 2017

Tuesday, March 21, 2017

· Last day to withdraw from a class with a grade of W

Monday, April 3, 2017

· Environmental Studies Seniors Showcase

4:00 pm - 6:00 pm | ESF Alumni (Nifkin) Lounge
4th Annual Environmental Studies Seniors Showcase, juried poster presentations of Environmental Studies majors' senior synthesis projects. Parents, friends, faculty, staff all welcome!
Sponsor: Dept. of Environmental Studies | Contact: David Sonnenfeld, 315.470.4931

Friday, April 21, 2017

· Last day to withdraw from a class with a grade of W or WF

Thursday, April 27, 2017

· Take our Kids to Work Day

Gateway Center and other spaces | Event Website
Hands on Career Exploration for 8-11 yr olds in the lives of of ESF students, staff, faculty and administrators.
Sponsor: ESF Women's Caucus | Contact: Heather Engelman, 3154704752

Wednesday, May 3, 2017

· Reading Day

Thursday, May 4, 2017

· Final Exams

ONGOING —continues through Friday, May 5, 2017

Saturday, May 6, 2017

· Reading Days

ONGOING —continues through Sunday, May 7, 2017

Monday, May 8, 2017

· Final Exams

ONGOING —continues through Wednesday, May 10, 2017

Wednesday, May 17, 2017

· Grades Due

Monday, August 28, 2017

· Classes Begin

Monday, September 4, 2017

· Labor Day (no classes)

Tuesday, September 5, 2017

· Last day to add a class

Friday, September 22, 2017

· Last day to drop a class

Friday, October 27, 2017

· Last day to withdraw from a class with a grade of W

Monday, October 30, 2017

· Advising for Spring 2018

ONGOING —continues through Tuesday, November 7, 2017

Wednesday, November 8, 2017

· Registration for Spring 2018

ONGOING —continues through Friday, November 17, 2017

Sunday, November 19, 2017

· Thanksgiving Recess

ONGOING —continues through Sunday, November 26, 2017

Friday, December 1, 2017

· Last day to withdraw from a class with a grade of W or WF

Saturday, December 9, 2017

· Reading Days

ONGOING —continues through Sunday, December 10, 2017

Monday, December 11, 2017

· Final Exams

Tuesday, December 12, 2017

· Final Exams (p.m)

· Reading Day (a.m.)

Wednesday, December 13, 2017

· Final Exams

Thursday, December 14, 2017

· Final Exams (p.m)

· Reading Day (a.m.)

Friday, December 15, 2017

· Final Exams

Friday, December 22, 2017

· Grades Due


Social

YouTube Channels

ESF | Athletics | Research | Academics | Sustainability | New York | Nature


SUNY-ESF
State University of New York College of Environmental Science and Forestry
SUNY-ESF |
1 Forestry Drive | Syracuse, NY 13210 | 315-470-6500
Copyright © 2017 | Admissions Information | Webmaster