SEARCH:
HOME | GATEWAYS | ACADEMICS | ADMISSION | DIRECTORIES | VISIT | LOG IN | SITE INDEX
Home | Gateways | Academics | Admission | Directories | Site Index SEARCH:

EFB Calendar

Includes Adaptive Peaks Seminars


Contact AP Coordinator, Jonathan Cohen at X 6737 for additional information
All seminars on Thursdays, 4-5 pm, 5 Illick

Date Speaker Topic
September 19 Susan Parks, Syracuse University Whale communication
October 3 Gary Kleppel, SUNY Albany Estuarine landscape management
October 17 Gord Paterson, EFB Aquatic toxicology
October 31 James Fraser, Virginia Tech Management of coastal endangered wildlife
November 14 Adreinne Kovach, UNH Population genetics
December 5 TBA TBA

 

 

Tuesday, August 19, 2014

· Managing White Pine in the Adirondacks - A workshop for foresters, loggers and landowners

8:00 am - 4:00 pm | Adirondack Interpretive Center - 5922 State Route 28N, Newcomb NY
In this workshop, participants will explore options for managing planted or natural white pine stands based on recent research by natural resource scientists. Presenters include Dr. Rene Germain and Dr. Chistopher Nowak, both professors at SUNY-ESF; and Stacy ... Read More
Contact: Kristin Pasquino, 518-582-2000

Saturday, August 23, 2014

· SUNY-ESF at the New York State Fair

10:00 am - 10:00 pm | NYS Fairgrounds, Geddes. Science & Industry Building
The Department of Environmental Resources Engineering will present a hands-on exhibit for fair-goers from 10 am to 6 pm at the SUNY exhibit in the Science and Industry Building. From 6 to 10 pm, kids can make environmentally friendly arts and crafts.
Contact: Karen B. Moore, 6647

Monday, August 25, 2014

· SUNY-ESF at the New York State Fair

NYS Fairgrounds, Geddes. Science & Industry Building
Make handmade paper with the Department of Paper and Bioprocess Engineering from 10 am to 6 pm at the SUNY exhibit in the Science and Industry Building. From 6 to 10 pm, kids can make environmentally friendly arts and crafts.
Contact: Karen B. Moore, 6647

· Classes Begin

Wednesday, August 27, 2014

· SUNY-ESF at the New York State Fair

10:00 am - 10:00 pm | NYS Fairgrounds, Geddes. Science & Industry Building
The Department of Forest and Natural Resources Management will be handing out seedlings from 10 am to 6 pm at the SUNY exhibit in the Science and Industry Building. From 6 to 10 pm, kids can make environmentally friendly arts and crafts.
Contact: Karen Moore, 6647

Thursday, August 28, 2014

· SUNY-ESF at the New York State Fair

10:00 am - 10:00 pm | NYS Fairgrounds, Geddes. Science & Industry Building
The Department of Chemistry will present a hands-on science experiments for fairgoers from 10 am to 6 pm at the SUNY exhibit in the Science and Industry Building. From 6 to 10 pm, kids can make environmentally friendly arts and crafts.
Contact: Karen B. Moore, 6647

Monday, September 1, 2014

· Labor Day (no classes)

Tuesday, September 2, 2014

· Last day to add a class

Thursday, September 11, 2014

· Academic Symposium

1:00 pm - 5:00 pm | Gateway Center
"Foundation for a New American Environmentalism" academic symposium. Part of the ESF Presidential Inauguration Celebration.
Contact: Valerie Luzadis , 6693

Friday, September 12, 2014

· Presidential Installation Ceremony

10:00 am - 12:00 pm | Hendricks Chapel, Syracuse University
Installation of ESF President Quentin Wheeler in Hendricks Chapel. Reception to follow in the Gateway Center for campus community.
Contact: Karen Moore, 3154706647

· Onondaga Lake Bioblitz

3:00 pm - 3:00 pm | Onondaga Lake | ONGOING —continues through Saturday, September 13, 2014
An inventory of all the flora and fauna identified during a 24-hour period at Onondaga Lake will be conducted beginning Sept. 12 at 3 p.m.
Contact: Dr. Donald Leopold, 470-6743

Friday, September 19, 2014

· Last day to drop a class

Wednesday, September 24, 2014

· The Honorable Harvest: Indigenous Knowledge and Conservation

7:30 pm - 12:00 am | Gateway Center
In 2014, we commemorate the 100th anniversary of the extinction of the passenger pigeon, as EFB Professor Robin Wall Kimmerer shares insights from indigenous environmental ethics on species conservation. Dr. Kimmerer is the Director of the ESF Center for Native ... Read More
Sponsor: Dale L. Travis Public Lecture Series | Contact: Catherine Landis

Thursday, October 9, 2014

· Event image. Senior Reunion and Alumni & Family Fall BBQ Weekend

SUNY-ESF Campus | ONGOING —continues through Saturday, October 11, 2014 | Fall BBQ Website with Schedule & Reservation Forms
Make plans now to attend the Senior Reunion and Alumni and Family Fall BBQ Weekend 2014, October 9th through October 11th. We have a full weekend of activities planned for you, with some special Senior Reunion events on Thursday and Friday. You will be joined ... Read More
Sponsor: ESF Alumni Association | Contact: ESF Alumni Association, 315-470-6632

Wednesday, October 15, 2014

· 14th Annual SyracuseCoE Symposium, Advanced Building Innovations: Integrating Systems for Efficiency, Quality and Resilience

1:00 pm - 5:00 pm | SyracuseCoE Headquarters (727 E Washington St) and Crowne Plaza Hotel (701 E Genesee St) | ONGOING —continues through Thursday, October 16, 2014 | Event Website
Rising demand for high-performance buildings is driving innovations that improve energy efficiency, indoor environmental quality and resilience to intense storms and other disturbances. The 2014 SyracuseCoE Symposium features advances in design, technology and ... Read More
Sponsor: SyracuseCoE |

Friday, October 24, 2014

· Last day to withdraw from a class with a grade of W

Friday, October 31, 2014

· Candidacy Examination -- Mikhail Paltsyn -- Oral Exam

1:00 pm - 3:00 pm | TBA
Sponsor: The Office of Instruction and Graduate Studies | Contact: Ralph D. Nyland, 315470-6574

Monday, November 3, 2014

· Advising for Spring 2015

ONGOING —continues through Tuesday, November 11, 2014

Wednesday, November 12, 2014

· Registration for Spring 2015

ONGOING —continues through Friday, November 21, 2014

Friday, November 21, 2014

· Last day to withdraw from a class with a grade of W or WF

Sunday, November 23, 2014

· Thanksgiving Recess

ONGOING —continues through Sunday, November 30, 2014

Wednesday, December 3, 2014

· December Graduates Champagne Toast

3:30 pm - 4:30 pm | Gateway Center
The ESF Alumni Association would like to "raise our glasses" to the College's newest graduates. Please join us for a champagne toast honoring the Class of 2014 December graduates. The event will take place immediately following convocation rehearsal.
Sponsor: ESF Alumni Association | Contact: ESF Alumni Association, 315-470-6632

Friday, December 5, 2014

· Last Day of Classes

Saturday, December 6, 2014

· Reading Days

ONGOING —continues through Sunday, December 7, 2014

Monday, December 8, 2014

· Final Exams

Tuesday, December 9, 2014

· Reading Day (a.m.)

· Final Exams (p.m.)

Wednesday, December 10, 2014

· Final Exams

Thursday, December 11, 2014

· Final Exams (p.m)

· Reading Day (a.m.)

Friday, December 12, 2014

· Final Exams

Friday, December 19, 2014

· Grades Due

Friday, January 9, 2015

· New Undergraduate Orientation/Registration

| Event Website
If you have any questions, call the Office of Student Involvement and Leadership at 315-470-6658 or at studentinvolvement@esf.edu.
Sponsor: Office of Student Involvement and Leadership | Contact: Laura Crandall, 470-6658

Monday, January 12, 2015

· Classes Begin

Monday, January 19, 2015

· Martin Luther King Day (no classes)

Tuesday, January 20, 2015

· Last day to add a class

Monday, February 2, 2015

· Registration for Summer 2015 begins

Friday, February 6, 2015

· Last day to drop a class

Sunday, March 8, 2015

· Spring Break

ONGOING —continues through Sunday, March 15, 2015

Tuesday, March 17, 2015

· Last day to withdraw from a class without penalty

Monday, March 30, 2015

· Advising for Fall 2015

ONGOING —continues through Friday, April 3, 2015

Friday, April 17, 2015

· Last day to withdraw from a class with a grade of W or WF

Thursday, April 30, 2015

· Final Exams

ONGOING —continues through Friday, May 1, 2015

Saturday, May 2, 2015

· Reading Days

ONGOING —continues through Sunday, May 3, 2015

Monday, May 4, 2015

· Final Exams

ONGOING —continues through Wednesday, May 6, 2015

Wednesday, May 13, 2015

· Grades Due


Improve Your World
SUNY-ESF
State University of New York College of Environmental Science and Forestry
SUNY-ESF |
1 Forestry Drive | Syracuse, NY 13210 | 315-470-6500
Copyright © 2014 | Admissions Information | Webmaster