e s f letters
e s f letters
GIVE TO ESF LOG IN SOCIAL

Environmental Physiology

M.S., M.P.S & Ph.D.

envphys

Environmental physiology provides students with advanced training in the nature and control of biological processes.

Current interests include mechanisms of drought tolerance in plants; plant and microbial enzymology; virology; toxicity and disposition of insecticides and environmental toxicants in vertebrates; plant defenses against phytophagous invertebrates; thermal exchange in bird eggs; plant reproductive biology; and genetic improvement of willow and poplar.

Participating Faculty

  • John D. Castello; jdcastello@esf.edu
    plant virology, viruses and mycoplasma in urban and forest tree decline, forest pathology, microbiology, insect vectors
  • Danilo D. Fernando; dfernando@esf.edu
    plant structure and development, reproductive biology of conifers, pollen transformation, genomics and proteomics of pine pollen tube development, willow flowering and tissue culture, genetic diversity of rare and endangered ferns, and plant evolution, diversity and conservation.
  • Hyatt Green; hgreen@esf.edu
    molecular microbial ecology, microbial water quality, microbial biogeography, host-microbe co-evolution, fermentation microbiology
  • Myron J. Mitchell; mitchell@esf.edu
    biogeochemistry, environmental energetics
  • Lee Newman; lanewman@esf.edu
    phytoremediation, molecular and cellular biology, horticultural therapy, food and health
  • J. Scott Turner; jsturner@esf.edu
    animal physiology, physiological ecology, thermal energetics, biology of body size, physiology of gas exchange

Current Graduate Students in Environmental Physiology


image

Only currently registered students appear—new student names are added at the start of the academic year.

Sarah Caltabiano

skcaltab@syr.edu
Environmental Physiology
Degree Sought: PHD
Advisor(s): Newman