SEARCH:
HOME | GATEWAYS | ACADEMICS | ADMISSION | DIRECTORIES | VISIT | LOG IN | SITE INDEX
envphys

Environmental Physiology
M.S., M.P.S & Ph.D.

Environmental physiology provides students with advanced training in the nature and control of biological processes. Current interests include mechanisms of drought tolerance in plants; plant and microbial enzymology; virology; toxicity and disposition of insecticides and environmental toxicants in vertebrates; plant defenses against phytophagous invertebrates; thermal exchange in bird eggs; plant reproductive biology; and genetic improvement of willow and poplar.

Participating Faculty

  • John D. Castello; jdcastello@esf.edu
    plant virology, viruses and mycoplasma in urban and forest tree decline, forest pathology, microbiology, insect vectors
  • Danilo D. Fernando; fernando@esf.edu
    plant structure and development, reproductive biology of conifers, pollen transformation, genomics and proteomics of pine pollen tube development, willow flowering and tissue culture, genetic diversity of rare and endangered ferns, and plant evolution, diversity and conservation.
  • Myron J. Mitchell; mitchell@syr.edu
    biogeochemistry, environmental energetics
  • James P Nakas; jpnakas@esf.edu
    microbiology, transformation and decomposition processes, nutrient cycling, soil and aquatic microbiology, microbial biomass, solvent production, microbial ecology, microbial physiology
  • James P. Nakas; jpnakas@esf.edu
    microbiology, transformation and decomposition processes, nutrient cycling, soil and aquatic microbiology, microbial biomass, solvent production, microbial ecology, microbial physiology
  • Lee Newman; lanewman@esf.edu
    phytoremediation and molecular and cellular biology
  • J. Scott Turner; jsturner@syr.edu
    animal physiology, physiological ecology, thermal energetics, biology of body size, physiology of gas exchange

SUNY-ESF
State University of New York College of Environmental Science and Forestry
SUNY-ESF |
1 Forestry Drive | Syracuse, NY 13210 | 315-470-6500
Copyright © 2014 | Admissions Information | Webmaster