SEARCH:  
  SEARCH:
HOME | GATEWAYS | ACADEMICS | ADMISSION | DEPARTMENTS | DIRECTORIES | VISIT | LOG IN | SITE INDEX
monitoring analysis modeling

Monitoring, Analysis and Modeling
M.S., M.P.S. & Ph.D.

The Monitoring, Analysis and Modeling area of study focuses on the application of statistical and operations research methods and techniques used to sample, describe and predict how individual trees, forest stands and terrestrial ecosystems change over both temporal and spatial scales. Because trees and forests respond in varying ways to an array of human and natural disturbances, research opportunities in this area of study address a diversity of topics that help us to better understand and evaluate the dynamics of terrestrial ecosystems in a rapidly changing world.

Participating Faculty

  • Colin M. Beier; cbeier@esf.edu
    forest ecosystem and landscape ecology, social-ecological systems, climate change, ecosystem services, landscape change modeling, resilience, adaptive management, resource governance, applied geoinformatics
  • Eddie Bevilacqua; ebevilacqua@esf.edu
    sampling/inventory, biometrics, forest mensuration, growth and yield modeling, applied statistics, GIS/spatial analysis, forest ecology, landscape ecology, ecological modeling, tree-ring science, quantitative silviculture
  • Ralph D. Nyland; rnyland@syr.edu
    forest ecology, forest health, restoration ecology, silviculture, forest management and operations, quantitative silviculture, forest practice
  • Stephen V. Stehman; svstehma@syr.edu
    environmental sampling, map accuracy assessment, environmental monitoring; applied statistics
  • John C. Stella; stella@esf.edu
    riparian and stream ecology, restoration ecology, watershed management, ecological modeling, tree-ring science, river restoration
  • Philippe G. Vidon; pgvidon@esf.edu
    Stream Restoration, Ecological Engineering, Riparian Zone and Watershed Management, Water Quality, Riparian Zone/Watershed Biogeochemistry and Hydrology, Best Management Practices, Surface and Subsurface Hydrology, Nitrogen, Phosphorus, Mercury, Carbon Cycling, Greenhouse Gases (N2O, CO2, CH4).
  • John E. Wagner; jewagner@esf.edu
    forest resource and environmental economics, ecosystem services, policy, quantitative silviculture, forest management and operations, operations research, simulation
  • Lianjun Zhang; lizhang@esf.edu
    forest biometrics, growth and yield modeling, spatial statistics and modeling, quantitative silviculture

Contact Us

René H. Germain
Professor
Graduate Education Coordinator - FNRM
316 Bray Hall, One Forestry Drive
Syracuse, NY 13210-2788
Phone: (315) 470-6698
Fax: (315) 470-6535

Current Students

Only currently registered students appear—new student names are added at the start of the academic year.

Qianqian CaoQianqian Cao
qcao03@syr.edu

Monitoring, Analysis, and Modeling

Degree Sought: MS
Advisor(s): Zhang
Undergraduate Institute: Beijing Forestry University (Forestry and Related)

Favorite Quote
Living without an aim is like sailing without a compass

Xin ChenXin Chen
xchen70@syr.edu

Monitoring, Analysis, and Modeling

Degree Sought: MS
Advisor(s): Bevilacqua

Karun PanditKarun Pandit
kpandit@syr.edu

Monitoring, Analysis, and Modeling

Degree Sought: PHD
Advisor(s): Bevilacqua

SUNY-ESF
State University of New York College of Environmental Science and Forestry
SUNY-ESF |
1 Forestry Drive | Syracuse, NY 13210 | 315-470-6500
Copyright © 2014 | Admissions Information | Webmaster