SEARCH:
HOME | GATEWAYS | ACADEMICS | ADMISSION | DIRECTORIES | VISIT | LOG IN | SITE INDEX
Home | Gateways | Academics | Admission | Directories | Site Index SEARCH:

EFB Directory

Faculty and Staff Office Contact
(315 Area code)
Abrahamson, Lawrence, Senior Research Associate
PhD, University of Wisconsin, 1969; MS, University of Wisconsin, 1967; entomology, pathology, pesticides, vegetation management, forest insects
126 Illick Halllabrahamson@esf.edu
470-6777/470-6743
Adams, Kim, Director, Tree Pest Information Service
MS, SUNY College of Environmental Science and Forestry, 1994; MS, SUNY College of Environmental Science and Forestry, 1993;
125 Illick Hallkbadams@esf.edu
470-6751/470-6745
Beier, Colin, Research Associate

PhD, University Of Alaska Fairbanks, 2007; MS, Virginia Tech, 2002; forest ecosystem and landscape ecology, social-ecological systems, climate change, ecosystem services, landscape change modeling, resilience, adaptive management, resource governance, applied geoinformatics
311 Bray Hallcbeier@esf.edu
470-6578
Castello, John, Professor
PhD, University of Wisconsin, 1978; MS, Washington State University, 1976; plant virology, viruses and mycoplasma in urban and forest tree decline, forest pathology, microbiology, insect vectors
332 Illick Halljdcastello@esf.edu
470-6789
Clarke, AnnMarie
Secretary 1
241 Illick Hallaclark02@esf.edu
470-6743
Cohen, Jonathan, Assistant Professor
wildlife ecology and management, population and habitat ecology, threatened and endangered species
246 Illick Halljcohen14@esf.edu
470-6760
Diemont, Stewart, Assistant Professor
PhD, Ohio State University, 2006; MS, University Of North Carolina At Chapel Hill, 1997; systems ecology, ecological engineering, traditional ecological knowledge, ecosystem restoration, sustainability analysis, natural wastewater treatment systems and re-use, lesser-developed countries, agroecology
246 Illick Hallsdiemont@esf.edu
470-4707/470-6760
Dovciak, Martin, Assistant Professor
PhD, University Of Minnesota-Twin Cities, 2001; Plant Ecology, Forest Ecosystems, Biodiversity, Global Change, Ecosystem Management & Restoration
459 Illick Hallmdovciak@esf.edu
470-6749/470-6743
Ettinger, Terry, Greenhouse Manager
MS, Southern Illinois University Carbondale, 1984;
529 Illick Halltlettinger@esf.edu
470-6772/470-6760
Farrell, John, Associate Professor
PhD, SUNY College of Environmental Science and Forestry, 1998; MS, SUNY College of Environmental Science and Forestry, 1991; riverine fish ecology, freshwater coastal wetlands, great lakes, fisheries science & management, aquatic ecology, wetlands restoration, st. lawrence river studies, invasive species, zooplankton ecology
250 Illick Halljmfarrell@esf.edu
470-6990/315-686-4300
Farrell, Shannon, Assistant Professor
PhD, Texas A&M University, 2011; MS, Texas A&M University, 2007; Wildlife ecology, wildlife-habitat relationsips, research and management planning for endangered and threatened species and habitat, assessing anthropogenic impacts on wildlife, quantification approaches for wildlife habitat services, policy innovations for implementing the endangered species act
207 Illick Hallsfarrell@esf.edu
470-6739/470-6760
Fernando, Danilo, Associate Professor
PhD, University of Alberta, 1996; MS, University of The Philippines, 1986; plant structure and development, reproductive biology of conifers, pollen transformation, genomics and proteomics of pine pollen tube development, willow flowering and tissue culture, genetic diversity of rare and endangered ferns, and plant evolution, diversity and conservation.
461 Illick Hallfernando@esf.edu
470-6790
Fierke, Melissa, Associate Professor
PhD, University Of Arkansas, 2006; MS, Oregon State University, 2002; forest entomology, forest ecology, invasive forest pests, insect-tree interactions, tree defenses
135 Illick Hallmkfierke@esf.edu
470-6809/470-6743
Folta, Elizabeth, Assistant Professor
natural history & interpretation, informal biology education, environmental education.
356 Illick Hallefolta@esf.edu
470-4938/470-6760
Folta, Joseph
226 Illick Halljefolta@esf.edu
470-4855
Frair, Jacqueline, Associate Professor
PhD, University of Alberta, 2005; MS, University Of Wisconsin-Stevens Point, 1999; wildlife ecology and management, ecology of large herbivores and predators, animal movements, resource selection, population demography, quantitative methods in conservation, landscape ecology
257 Illick Halljfrair@esf.edu
470-4905
Gibbs, James, Professor
PhD, Yale University, 1995; MA, University Of Missouri-Columbia, 1988; herpetology, vertebrate conservation biology, genetics and ecology in birds, reptiles and amphibians, songbirds, giant tortoise, statistics, wildlife population monitoring, galapagos islands, conservation biology, ecological monitoring, population genetics, applied demography, undergraduate conservation education
405 Illick Halljpgibbs@esf.edu
470-6764
Giegerich, Ronald
Instructional Support Specialist
215 Illick Hallrjgieger@esf.edu
470-6761/470-6743
Horton, Thomas, Associate Professor
PhD, University Of California-Berkeley, 1997; MA, San Francisco State University, 1992; mycorrhizal plant ecology, molecular ecology, ecology, fungal communities, mycology, fire ecology
350 Illick Halltrhorton@esf.edu
470-6743
Kapuscinski, Kevin, Principal Investigator
Fish ecology, fisheries science and management, muskellunge, non-native fishes, Great Lakes connecting channels.
304 Illick Hallklkapusc@esf.edu
877-2923
Kimmerer, Robin, Distinguished Teaching Professor-10 Months
PhD, University Of Wisconsin-Madison, 1983; PhD, University Of Wisconsin-Madison, 1982; MS, University Of Wisconsin-Madison, 1978; plant restoration ecology, bryology, bryoecology, restoration ecology, ethnobotany, conservation biology and bryophyte ecology, traditional ecological knowledge
351 Illick Hallrkimmer@esf.edu
470-6785/470-6760
Leopold, Donald, Chair and Distinguished Teaching Professor
PhD, Purdue University, 1984; MS, University Of Kentucky, 1981; forest and freshwater wetland ecology, conservation, and restoration, peatland ecology and conservation, local and regional controls of species richness and rarity, dynamics of plant communities as affected by man and environment, management for unique communities and rare species, dendrology, native plants, restoration ecology, rare species conservation
242 Illick Halldjleopold@esf.edu
470-6760
Limburg, Karin, Professor
PhD, Cornell University, 1994; MS, University Of Florida, 1981; riverine fish and estuarine ecology, fisheries ecology, watershed ecology, systems ecology, ecological economics, fisheries and ecosystem science, coupled human-natural systems, biogeochemistry, fisheries ecology, ecosystem ecology, biogeochemical tracers, modeling
249 Illick Hallklimburg@esf.edu
470-6741
Lomolino, Mark, Professor
PhD, Binghamton University, 1983; MS, University Of Florida, 1977; conservation biology, wildlife, ecology, evolution and biogeography
240 Illick Hallisland@esf.edu
470-6805
McGee, Gregory, Undergraduate Curriculum Director and Assistant Professor
PhD, SUNY College of Environmental Science and Forestry, 1998; MS, SUNY College of Environmental Science and Forestry, 1993; ecology, management and restoration of forest ecosystems; STEM education
146 Illick Hallggmcgee@esf.edu
470-6792/470-6760
McHale, Patrick, Instructional Support Specialist
MS, SUNY College of Environmental Science and Forestry, 1996;
203 Illick Hallpmchale@esf.edu
470-6766
McMaster, Bridget, Instructional Support Specialist
MS, Virginia Tech, 1982; MS, SUNY At Fredonia, 1980;
402 Illick Hallbjmc@esf.edu
470-6748
McNulty, Stacy, Research Associate
Associate Director, Adirondack Ecological Center
MS, SUNY College of Environmental Science and Forestry, 1997; forest ecology, landscape ecology, long-term monitoring, and applied geographic information systems. focused on exploring long-term changes, biodiversity conservation in the northern forest, and impacts of recreation, development, and forest management in the adirondack mountains and northern forest, phenology, amphibians, beaver, songbirds, white-tailed deer, animal movements and habitat use, wildlife management
Newcomb smcnulty@esf.edu
518-582-4551
Mitchell, Myron, Distinguished Professor
PhD, University of Calgary, 1974; biogeochemistry, environmental energetics
210 Illick Hallmitchell@syr.edu
470-6766
Muller-Schwarze, Dietland, Professor Emeritus
PhD, University of Freiburg, 1963;
224 Illick Halldmullers@esf.edu
470-6801/470-6742
Nakas, James, Professor Emeritus
PhD, Rutgers The State University Central , 1976; MS, Seton Hall University, 1970; microbiology, transformation and decomposition processes, nutrient cycling, soil and aquatic microbiology, microbial biomass, solvent production, microbial ecology, microbial physiology
201 Illick Halljpnakas@esf.edu
470-6743
Newman, Lee, Associate Professor
phytoremediation and molecular and cellular biology
246 Illick Halllanewman@esf.edu
470-4937
Parry, Dylan, Associate Professor
PhD, Michigan State University, 2000; population dynamics and evolutionary ecology of defoliating Lepidoptera and their natural enemies (predators, parasitoids, and pathogens), invasive species in forested environments, insect-plant interactions, conservation of moths and butterflies, forest entomology, biological control
109 Illick Halldparry@esf.edu
470-6753/470-6742
Paterson, Gordon, Assistant Professor
PhD, University of Windsor, 2006; MS, Trent University, 1996; Environmental and aquatic toxicology, ecotoxicology, emerging pollutants, food web bioaccumulation and biomagnification, persistent organic pollutants as indicators of species bioenergetics and individual, food web and ecological efficiencies.
110 Illick Hallgpaterso@esf.edu
470-6942/470-6760
Polimino, Sandra
Secretary 1
242 Illick Hallsmpolimi@esf.edu
470-6760
Powell, William, Professor
PhD, Utah State University, 1986; forest biotechnology, molecular plant-microbe interactions, genetic engineering in plant conservation, antimicrobial peptide design, plant gene design, plant pathology, molecular biology
319 Illick Hallwapowell@esf.edu
470-6761/470-6744
Rappleyea, Joanne
Keyboard Specialist 1
241 Illick Halljrappleyea@esf.edu
470-6743
Ringler, Neil, Vice Provost of Research and Director of McIntire-Stennis Forestry Research
PhD, University Of Michigan-Ann Arbor, 1975; MS, Oregon State University, 1970; fish ecology and behavior, foraging behavior of fishes, salmon reproduction, vertebrate anatomy, aquatic insect ecology, stream ecology and management, aquatic and fisheries restoration, aquatic entomology
200 Bray Hallneilringler@esf.edu
470-6606
Rundell, Rebecca, Assistant Professor
PhD, University Of Chicago, 2008; MS, University Of Chicago, 2004; evolutionary biology, conservation biology, speciation, adaptive and nonadaptive radiations, biogeography, phylogenetics, systematics, Pacific island radiations and biodiversity conservation, land snails, marine/aquatic microscopic invertebrates
355 Illick Hallrundell@esf.edu
470-6619/470-6760
Ryan, Sadie, Assistant Professor
disease and landscape ecology, wildlife conservation biology, public health, climate change
134 Illick Hallsjryan@esf.edu
470-6757
Schulz, Kimberly, Associate Professor
PhD, University Of Michigan-Ann Arbor, 1996; nutrient and exotic species effects on aquatic ecosystems, ecological stoichiometry, aquatic community and ecosystem ecology, bioenergetics, nutrient cycling, lower food web studies, great lakes, finger lakes, plankton, limnology, aquatic ecology, biogeochemistry, invasive species
456 Illick Hallkschulz@syr.edu
470-6808/470-4753
Shields, William, Professor
PhD, Ohio State University, 1979; MS, Ohio State University, 1976; animal behavior, evolution and genetics, evolution of animal communication and dispersal systems, effects of genetic constraints on the evolution of social behavior, sociobiology and behavioral ecology, the use of DNA in identity testing and conservation biology, the interface between science and the law, conservation theory, behavior in birds and mammals, forensic DNA analysis
116 Illick Hallwms1@syr.edu
470-6771/470-6743
Stella, John, Associate Professor
PhD, University Of California-Berkeley, 2005; MS, University Of California-Berkeley, 1998; riparian and stream ecology, restoration ecology, watershed management, ecological modeling, tree-ring science, river restoration
344 Illick Hallstella@esf.edu
470-4902/470-6536
Stewart, Donald, Professor
PhD, University Of Wisconsin-Madison, 1980; MS, University Of Michigan-Ann Arbor, 1976; PhD, University Of Wisconsin-Madison; ecology and systematics, lake systems ecology, aquatic ecology, fish conservation, ecology and population biology in tropical and temperate systems, fish ecology and fisheries management, ecological energetics, modeling predation and production processes, Great Lakes ecosystems, Amazonian ecosystems, ecology and systematics of neotropical freshwater fishes
103 Illick Halldjstewart@esf.edu
470-6761
Teale, Stephen, Professor
PhD, SUNY College of Environmental Science and Forestry, 1990; MS, University Of Kansas, 1983; forest entomology, insect behavior, pheromones of forest insects, insect ecology, pest management, chemical ecology, evolution of pheromone communications
151 Illick Hallsateale@esf.edu
470-6758
Turner, J. Scott, Professor
PhD, Colorado State University, 1982; MS, Colorado State University, 1979; animal physiology, physiological ecology, thermal energetics, biology of body size, physiology of gas exchange
206 Illick Halljsturner@syr.edu
470-6806/470-6743
Underwood, Brian, Adjunct Associate Professor
wildlife ecology, deer, small mammals, songbirds, quantitative ecology and biostatistics, population surveys, ecological modeling and simulation, national park management, applied population analysis, life-history evolution, trophic dynamics, large mammal management
426 Illick Hallhbunderw@syr.edu
470-6820/470-6985
Vidon, Philippe, Associate Professor
Stream Restoration, Ecological Engineering, Riparian Zone and Watershed Management, Water Quality, Riparian Zone/Watershed Biogeochemistry and Hydrology, Best Management Practices, Surface and Subsurface Hydrology, Nitrogen, Phosphorus, Mercury, Carbon Cycling, Greenhouse Gases (N2O, CO2, CH4).
309 Bray Hallpgvidon@esf.edu
470-4765/470-6536
Wang, Chun, Professor Emeritus
PhD, University Of Iowa, 1955; MS, Vassar College, 1952;
428 Illick Hallcjkwang@syr.edu
470-6911/470-6760
Weir, Alexander, Associate Professor
PhD, University of New Castle Upon Tyne, 1997; conservation mycology, fungal biodiversity and conservation, fungal-arthropod interactions, biology of parasites and symbionts, systematics and evolutionary biology of fungi, fungi and humans, biology of parasites and symbionts
353 Illick Hallalexw@esf.edu
470-6791
Whipps, Christopher, Associate Professor
PhD, Oregon State University, 2004; fish parasites and diseases, wildlife diseases, parasitology, microbiology, taxonomy, molecular systematics, diagnostics, parasites as biological tags and ecological indicators, epidemiology and control of pathogens of ecological and veterinary importance, evolution and biology of disease causing organisms in animal populations using molecular systematics
246 Illick Hallcwhipps@esf.edu
470-4762/470-6760

Improve Your World
SUNY-ESF
State University of New York College of Environmental Science and Forestry
SUNY-ESF |
1 Forestry Drive | Syracuse, NY 13210 | 315-470-6500
Copyright © 2014 | Admissions Information | Webmaster