SEARCH:
HOME | GATEWAYS | ACADEMICS | ADMISSION | DIRECTORIES | VISIT | LOG IN | SITE INDEX

EFB Directory

Faculty and Staff Office Phone
(315 Area code)
Email
Abrahamson, Lawrence, Senior Research Associate
PhD, University of Wisconsin, 1969.; Entomology, Pathology, Pesticides, Vegetation Management
126 Illick Hall470-6777/470-6743labrahamson@esf.edu
Adams, Kim
Director, Tree Pest Information Service
125 Illick Hall470-6751/470-6745kbadams@esf.edu
Beier, Colin, Research Associate

PhD, University of Alaska Fairbanks, 2007. ; Forest ecology and management, climate change, ecological economics, public policy
311 Bray Hall470-6578cbeier@esf.edu
Castello, John, Professor and Associate Chair
PhD, University of Wisconsin, 1978.; Plant virology; viruses and mycoplasma in urban and forest tree decline; forest pathology; microbiology.
332 Illick Hall470-6789jdcastello@esf.edu
Clarke, AnnMarie
Secretary 1
241 Illick Hall470-6743aclark02@esf.edu
Cohen, Jonathan, Assistant Professor
PhD, Virginia Tech, 2005.; Wildlife ecology and management, population and habitat ecology, threatened and endangered species.
246 Illick Hall470-6760jcohen14@esf.edu
Diemont, Stewart, Assistant Professor
B.S., University of Texas; Master's, University of North Carolina at Chapel Hill; Ph.D., The Ohio State University.;
246 Illick Hall470-4707/470-6760sdiemont@esf.edu
Dovciak, Martin, Assistant Professor
PhD, University of Minnesota, 2001.; Plant Ecology; Forest Ecology; Biodiversity; Global Change Ecology; Spatial Ecology; Ecosystem Management & Restoration.
459 Illick Hall470-6749/470-6743mdovciak@esf.edu
Ettinger, Terry
Greenhouse Manager
529 Illick Hall470-6772/470-6760tlettinger@esf.edu
Farrell, John, Associate Professor
PhD, SUNY College of Environmental Science and Forestry, 1998.; Fisheries Science and Management, Aquatic Ecology, Wetlands Restoration, Invasive Species.
250 Illick Hall470-6990/315-686-4300jmfarrell@esf.edu
Farrell, Shannon
Assistant Professor
207 Illick Hall470-6739/470-6760sfarrell@esf.edu
Fernando, Danilo, Associate Professor
PhD, University of Alberta, 1996.; Plant reproductive biology, plant structure and development, in vitro fertilization in conifers, pollen transformation, genomics and proteomics of pollen tube development, and willow flowering and genomics.
461 Illick Hall470-6790fernando@esf.edu
Fierke, Melissa, Associate Professor
PhD, University of Arkansas, 2006.; Forest entomology, forest ecology, invasive forest pests, insect-tree interactions.
135 Illick Hall470-6809/470-6743mkfierke@esf.edu
Folta, Elizabeth, Assistant Professor
PhD, NC State University, 2010.; Natural History & Interpretation, informal biology education, environmental education.
356 Illick Hall470-4938/470-6760efolta@esf.edu
Folta, Joseph
226 Illick Hall470-4855jefolta@esf.edu
Frair, Jacqueline, Associate Professor
PhD, University of Alberta, 2005.; Wildlife and landscape ecology; animal movements and habitat use; predator-prey interactions.
257 Illick Hall470-4905jfrair@esf.edu
Gibbs, James, Professor
PhD, Yale University, 1995.; Conservation biology, ecological monitoring, population genetics, applied demography, undergraduate conservation education.
405 Illick Hall470-6764jpgibbs@esf.edu
Giegerich, Ronald
Instructional Support Specialist
215 Illick Hall470-6761/470-6743rjgieger@esf.edu
Horton, Thomas, Associate Professor
PhD, University of California-Berkeley, 1997.; Mycorrhizal plant ecology, molecular ecology, mycology, fire ecology.
350 Illick Hall470-6743trhorton@esf.edu
Kapuscinski, Kevin,
PhD, State University of New York College of Environmental Science and Forestry, 2011.; Fish ecology, fisheries science and management, muskellunge, non-native fishes, Great Lakes connecting channels.
304 Illick Hall 877-2923klkapusc@esf.edu
Kimmerer, Robin, Distinguished Teaching Professor-10 Months
PhD, University of Wisconsin, 1983.; Ethnobotany, conservation biology and bryophyte ecology.
351 Illick Hall470-6785/470-6760rkimmer@esf.edu
Leopold, Donald, Chair and Distinguished Teaching Professor
PhD, Purdue University, 1984.; Forest and freshwater wetland ecology, conservation, and restoration; peatland ecology and conservation; local and regional controls of species richness and rarity; dynamics of plant communities as affected by man and environment; management for unique communities and rare species; dendrology; native plants.
242 Illick Hall470-6760djleopold@esf.edu
Limburg, Karin, Professor
PhD, Cornell University, 1994.; Fisheries ecology, ecosystem ecology, watershed ecology, fish migration, biogeochemical tracers, modeling, ecological economics.
249 Illick Hall470-6741klimburg@esf.edu
Lomolino, Mark, Professor
PhD, SUNY Binghamton, 1983.; Biogeography; conservation biology; diversity in isolated ecosystems and habitat islands.
240 Illick Hall470-6805island@esf.edu
McGee, Gregory, Undergraduate Curriculum Director and Assistant Professor
PhD, SUNY-ESF, 1998.; Ecology, management and restoration of forest ecosystems; effects of atmospheric nitrogen deposition on northern hardwood forests.
146 Illick Hall470-6792/470-6760ggmcgee@esf.edu
McHale, Patrick
Instructional Support Specialist
203 Illick Hall470-6766pmchale@esf.edu
McMaster, Bridget
Instructional Support Specialist
402 Illick Hall470-6748bjmc@esf.edu
McNulty, Stacy, Research Associate
Associate Director, Adirondack Ecological Center
M.S., Environmental and Forest Biology, SUNY-ESF, 1997.; Forest ecology, landscape ecology, long-term monitoring, and applied Geographic Information Systems. Focused on exploring long-term changes, conservation of biodiversity, and impacts of recreation, development, and forest management in the Adirondack Mountains and Northern Forest.
Newcomb 518-582-4551smcnulty@esf.edu
Mitchell, Myron, Distinguished Professor
PhD, University of Calgary, 1974.;
210 Illick Hall470-6766mitchell@syr.edu
Muller-Schwarze, Dietland
Professor Emeritus
224 Illick Hall470-6801/470-6742dmullers@esf.edu
Nakas, James, Professor Emeritus
PhD, Rutgers University, 1976.; Microbiology; transformation and decomposition processes; nutrient cycling; soil and aquatic microbiology; microbial biomass; solvent production; microbial ecology.
201 Illick Hall470-6743jpnakas@esf.edu
Newman, Lee, Associate Professor
PhD, Rutgers University and Robert Wood Johnson Medical School, 1993.; Phytoremediation and molecular and cellular biology.
246 Illick Hall470-4937lanewman@esf.edu
Parry, Dylan, Associate Professor
PhD, Michigan State University, 2000.; Population dynamics and evolutionary ecology of defoliating Lepidoptera and their natural enemies (predators, parasitoids, and pathogens), invasive species in forested environments, insect-plant interactions, and conservation of moths and butterflies.
109 Illick Hall470-6753/470-6742dparry@esf.edu
Paterson, Gordon
Assistant Professor
110 Illick Hall470-6942/470-6760gpaterso@esf.edu
Polimino, Sandra
Secretary 1
242 Illick Hall470-6760smpolimi@esf.edu
Powell, William, Professor
PhD, Utah State University, 1986.; Forest biotechnology, molecular plant-microbe interactions, plant genetic engineering, antimicrobial peptide design, and plant gene design. Please visit my faculty home page for more information
319 Illick Hall470-6761/470-6744wapowell@esf.edu
Rappleyea, Joanne
241 Illick Hall470-6743jrappleyea@esf.edu
Ringler, Neil, Vice Provost of Research and Director of McIntire-Stennis Forestry Research
PhD, University of Michigan, 1975.; Fish ecology, foraging behavior of fishes; salmon reproduction; vertebrate anatomy; aquatic insect ecology; stream ecology and management.
200 Bray Hall470-6606neilringler@esf.edu
Rundell, Rebecca, Assistant Professor
PhD, University of Chicago, 2008; Evolutionary biology, conservation biology, speciation, adaptive and nonadaptive radiations, biogeography, phylogenetics, systematics, Pacific island radiations and biodiversity conservation, land snails, marine/aquatic microscopic invertebrates
355 Illick Hall470-6619/470-6760rundell@esf.edu
Ryan, Sadie, Assistant Professor
PhD, University of California at Berkeley, 2006.; Disease and landscape ecology, wildlife conservation biology, public health, climate change.
134 Illick Hall470-6757sjryan@esf.edu
Schulz, Kimberly, Associate Professor
PhD, University of Michigan, 1996.; Nutrient and exotic species effects on aquatic ecosystems; ecological stoichiometry; aquatic community and ecosystem ecology; bioenergetics; nutrient cycling; lower food web studies; Great Lakes; Finger Lakes.
456 Illick Hall470-6808/470-4753kschulz@syr.edu
Shields, William, Professor
PhD, Ohio State University, 1979.; Animal behavior; evolution and genetics; evolution of animal communication and dispersal systems; effects of genetic constraints on the evolution of social behavior; sociobiology and behavioral ecology, the use of DNA in identity testing and conservation biology, the interface between science and the law.
116 Illick Hall470-6771/470-6743wms1@syr.edu
Stella, John, Associate Professor
PhD, University of California-Berkeley, 2005; Riparian and Stream Ecology, Water Resource and Watershed Management, River Restoration
344 Illick Hall470-4902/470-6536stella@esf.edu
Stewart, Donald, Professor
PhD, University of Wisconsin 1980.; Fish ecology and fisheries management; ecological energetics; modeling predation and production processes; Great Lakes ecosystems; Amazonian ecosystems; ecology and systematics of Neotropical freshwater fishes
103 Illick Hall470-6761djstewart@esf.edu
Teale, Stephen, Professor
PhD, SUNY College of Environmental Science and Forestry, 1990; Forest entomology; chemical ecology; pheromones of forest insects; evolution of pheromone communication.
151 Illick Hall470-6758sateale@esf.edu
Turner, J. Scott, Professor
PhD, Colorado State University, 1982.; Animal physiology; physiological ecology; thermal energetics; biology of body size; physiology of gas exchange.
206 Illick Hall470-6806/470-6743jsturner@syr.edu
Underwood, Brian, Adjunct Associate Professor
PhD, SUNY College of Environmental Science and Forestry, 1990; Applied population analysis; life-history evolution; trophic dynamics; quantitative ecology and biostatistics; modeling and simulation; large mammal management.
426 Illick Hall470-6820/470-6985hbunderw@syr.edu
Vidon, Philippe, Associate Professor
PhD, York University, Ontario, Canada, 2004.; Hydrology, Biogeochemistry
309 Bray Hall470-4765/470-6536pgvidon@esf.edu
Wang, Chun
Professor Emeritus
428 Illick Hall470-6911/470-6760cjkwang@syr.edu
Weir, Alexander, Associate Professor
PhD, University of Newcastle upon Tyne, 1997; Systematics and evolutionary biology of fungi using classical and modern molecular approaches; fungal biodiversity and conservation; fungal-arthropod interactions; biology of parasites and symbionts.
353 Illick Hall470-6791alexw@esf.edu
Whipps, Christopher, Associate Professor
PhD, Oregon State University, 2004.; Evolution and biology of disease causing organisms in animal populations using molecular systematics. Diagnosis, epidemiology and control of pathogens of ecological and veterinary importance.
246 Illick Hall470-4762/470-6760cwhipps@esf.edu

SUNY-ESF
State University of New York College of Environmental Science and Forestry
SUNY-ESF |
1 Forestry Drive | Syracuse, NY 13210 | 315-470-6500
Copyright © 2014 | Admissions Information | Webmaster