SEARCH:
HOME | CALENDAR | GATEWAYS | ACADEMICS | ADMISSION | DEPARTMENTS | DIRECTORIES | VISIT | LOG IN | SITE INDEX

Faculty & Staff

Environmental Studies Program Faculty

With core strengths across the social sciences and in the humanities, Departmental faculty members support graduate and undergraduate programs in Environmental Studies, and ESF's Writing Program. We participate in a variety of college-wide programs, including the Graduate Program in Environmental Science, the Environmental and Natural Resource Policy doctoral program, the Minor in Urban Environmental Science, the Minor in Environmental Writing and Rhetoric, ESF's First Year Student Experience, and the ESF in the High School program.

Faculty and Staff Office Contact
(315 Area code)
Collins, Mary, Assistant Professor
MA, University Of Central Florida, 2008; PhD, University Of California-Santa Barbara, 2012; socio-environmental systems; environmental health inequality; environmental justice; environmental sociology; environmental risk perception; computational quantitative methods; Bayesian modeling; disproportionality; industrial pollution policy and health
113 Marshall Hallmbcollin@esf.edu
470-6538/470-6636
Hart, Rebecca
Secretary 1
106 Marshall Hallrhart01@syr.edu
470-6636
Hirsch, Paul, Assistant Professor
MS, University Of Georgia, 2003; PhD, Georgia Institute Of Technology-Main , 2008; integrative thinking and problem-solving, water planning, biodiversity conservation, science-policy interface, environmental thought and ethics, policy analysis, public participation and decision-making, environmental valuation, complexity, participant-observation and survey methods, discourse analysis, environmental policy, climate governance, policy science divide
114 Marshall Hallpahirsch@esf.edu
470-6669
Luzadis, Valerie, Interim Provost and Executive Vice President
MS, Cornell University, 1990; PhD, SUNY College of Environmental Science and Forestry, 1997; ecological economics, ecosystem services, policy, social and recreational dimensions, forest management for renewable energy, watershed management, natural resources policy and values, sustainable development, renewable energy, participatory decision-making
206 Bray Hallvluzadis@esf.edu
470-6510
Manno, Jack, Professor 10
MS, SUNY College of Environmental Science and Forestry, 1992; PhD, Syracuse University, 2003; Inclusion and collaboration in environmental decisions, Indigenous rights and values, social theory, economic dynamics of sustainability and un-sustainability, politics of ending fossil fuel dependence
211A Marshall Halljpmanno@esf.edu
470-6816
Moran, Sharon, Associate Professor
MS, Massachusetts Institute Of Technology, 1989; PhD, Clark University, 2000; environmental policy, human dimensions of water/wastewater issues, political ecology, environment-society relations, green and innovative technologies, environmental issues in post-communist countries, qualitative research methods, gender and nature, sustainability indicators, emergent technologies, environmental justice, ethical frameworks in public policy
220 Marshall Hallsmoran@esf.edu
470-6690
Feldpausch-Parker, Andrea M., Assistant Professor
MS, Texas A&M University, 2006; PhD, Texas A&M University, 2010; environmental communication; science and technology communication; wildlife conservation and policy; climate change mitigation and adaptation discourse and decision-making; environmental advocacy; environmental and natural resources conflict management; qualitative and critical methods; program evaluation methods; conflict; public participation; energy;wildlife management
108A Marshall Hallamparker@esf.edu
470-6573/470-6636
Selfa, Theresa, Associate Professor
PhD, Cornell University, 2001; environmental sociology, rural sociology, sociology of agriculture, sociology of development, political sociology, qualitative methods, comparative-historical methods, biofuels, land use planning, water policy and politics
219 Marshall Halltselfa@esf.edu
470-6570/470-6636
Senecah, Susan,
MA, University Of Minnesota-Twin Cities, 1987; PhD, University Of Minnesota-Twin Cities, 1992;
106 Marshall Hallssenecah@esf.edu
518-473-3368
Smardon, Richard, Distinguished Service Professor Emeritus
MLA, University Of Massachusetts-Amherst, 1973; wetland assessment and management, landscape management policy, public participation and decision-making, sustainable development, eco-tourism, biosphere reserve management
211B Marshall Hallrsmardon@esf.edu
470-6576
Sonnenfeld, David, Professor
MA, University Of California-Santa Cruz, 1991; PhD, University Of California-Santa Cruz, 1996; sociology of environment and natural resources; comparative environmental politics; development and sustainability; social studies of science and technology; East and Southeast Asia; field, historical and mixed research methods
211B Marshall Halldsonn@esf.edu
470-4931/470-6636
Teron, Lemir, Assistant Professor
PhD, University Of Delaware, 2015;
109 Marshall Halllteron@esf.edu
470-6636
Vidon, Elizabeth, Assistant Professor
MA, York University, 2003; PhD, Indiana University-Bloomington, 2015; environmental ethics and values; environmental thought and ontologies; tourism geographies; political ecology; wilderness and environmental perception; Native American and indigenous peoples' environmental issues; epistemology/nature of knowledge(s).
108B Marshall Hallesvidon@esf.edu
470-6908/470-6636
Whitmore, Benette, Interim Chair and Assistant Professor
MA, Syracuse University, 1980; PhD, Syracuse University, 2011;
106A Marshall Hallbwhitmor@esf.edu
470-6695/470-6636

Writing Program

Faculty and Staff Office Contact
(315 Area code)
Courtwright, Carol, Visiting Instructor
MS, Syracuse University, 1973
105 Moon Librarycacourtw@syr.edu
470-6636
DeBaise, Janine, Instructor
MA, Syracuse University, 1985
105C Moon Libraryjdebaise@esf.edu
470-4776
Dodson, Khristopher
Visiting Instructor
105 Moon Librarykadodson@syr.edu
470-6636
Fitzsimmons, Maureen, Visiting Instructor
MS, Syracuse University, 1990
105B Moon Librarymrfitzsi@syr.edu
470-6636
Hogan, Elizabeth, Visiting Instructor
MFA, The University Of Alabama, 2004
105B Moon Libraryeshogan@syr.edu
470-6636
Jager, Dawnelle, Instructor
MA, Syracuse University, 1989
113 Moon Librarydajager@esf.edu
470-6756
Lawler, Patrick
Professor Emeritus
B4 Marshall Hallpjlawler@esf.edu
430-7451
Limpert, Christina, Interim Director, Writing Program and Visiting Assistant Professor
MS, Syracuse University, 1995; PhD, Syracuse University, 2013
9 Moon Librarycmlimper@esf.edu
470-6636
McGrath, Thomas, Lecturer
MA, Syracuse University, 2011
105B Moon Librarytemcgrat@syr.edu
470-6725
Stavenhagen, Werner, Lecturer
MA, La Sierra University, 1997; PhD, Syracuse University, 2015
105A Moon Librarywkstaven@esf.edu
470-6636
Thorley, Stephen, Visiting Instructor
MFA, Syracuse University, 2002
107 Marshall Hallslthorle@syr.edu
470-6636
Wagner, Donald
Visiting Instructor
105 Moon Librarydkwagner@syr.edu
470-6636
Whitmore, Benette, Interim Chair and Assistant Professor
MA, Syracuse University, 1980; PhD, Syracuse University, 2011
106A Marshall Hallbwhitmor@esf.edu
470-6695/470-6636
Woltman, Susan
Visiting Instructor
105 Moon Librarysbwoltma@syr.edu
470-6636

Adjunct Faculty

Adjunct faculty members engage in research, participate in graduate committees, teach, supervise student internships, and more.

  • Scott Blair (Academic Coordinator), SUNY ESF, Academic Support Services, Syracuse, NY
  • Betty Faust (Human Ecology, Ethnoecology), CINVESTAV Mexico
  • Rhea Jezer (Energy, Environmental Policy), Environmental Consultant
  • Dianne Quigley (Research Ethics), Northeast Ethics Education Partnership (NEEP), Brown University, RI
  • Todd Moss (Sustainable Entrepreneurship) Whitman School of Management, Syracuse University, Syracuse, NY
  • Samuel H. Sage (Green Jobs, Economic Development), Atlantic States Legal Foundation
  • Lisa Warnecke GEOManagement Associates Inc., Syracuse, NY

Visiting Faculty

Professor Emeritus

  • John Felleman
    Environmental information policy; visualizing environmental processes; environmental decision making.
  • Myrna Hall
    • Integrating simulation modeling and GIS for studying the interaction of humans and their environment
    • Natural resources management
    • Issues of sustainable development
    • Graphic information visualization
    • Foreign language communication
  • Patrick Lawler
    Environmental Studies; Graduate Program in Environmental Science
  • Richard Smardon
  • Susan Senecah

Social

YouTube Channels

ESF | Athletics | Research | Academics | Sustainability | New York | Nature


SUNY-ESF
State University of New York College of Environmental Science and Forestry
SUNY-ESF |
1 Forestry Drive | Syracuse, NY 13210 | 315-470-6500
Copyright © 2016 | Admissions Information | Webmaster