e s f letters
e s f letters
GIVE TO ESF
LOG IN
SOCIAL

People

Faculty and Staff

Faculty and Staff Office Contact
(315 Area code)
Amidon, Thomas, Professor Emeritus
MS, SUNY College of Environmental Science and Forestry, 1972; PhD, SUNY College of Environmental Science and Forestry, 1975; biorefinery, fiber properties, paper properties, management, pulping, bleaching, de-inking
321 Walters Hallteamidon@esf.edu
470-6524/470-6501
Anagnost, Susan, Director, NC Brown Center for Ultra Studies, Professor and Chair
MS, SUNY College of Environmental Science and Forestry, 1982; PhD, SUNY College of Environmental Science and Forestry, 1990; wood anatomy, wood decay, microscopy
204 Baker Labseanagno@esf.edu
470-6837
Appleby, Raymond
Director, Pilot Operations
114 Walters Hallrappleby@esf.edu
470-6527/470-6501
Bujanovic, Biljana, Associate Professor
MS, University of Belgrade, 1994; PhD, University of Belgrade, 2000; PhD, Western Michigan University, 2003; chemistry of lignocellulosics and products, lignin structure and reactivity, pulping, bleaching
419 Walters Hallbbujanovic@esf.edu
470-6907/470-6501
Burry, William, Lecturer
MA, SUNY College At Cortland, 1999;
307 Walters Hallwmburry@esf.edu
470-4779
Chatterjee, Siddharth, Associate Professor
MS, Rensselaer Polytechnic Institute, 1985; PhD, Rensselaer Polytechnic Institute, 1987; transport phenomena, design, simulation, pollution abatement
406 Walters Hallschatterjee@esf.edu
470-6517/470-6501
Dölle, Klaus, Associate Professor
PhD, University Of Wisconsin-Madison, 2002; pulp & paper and related environmental topics, design, constructed wetlands,subsurface bioreactors, fossil energy, bioenergy, hydropower, water and waste water treatment, paper recycling, paper development, filler materials, energy savings, renewable energy & processes, engineering, machine & process design.
421 Walters Hallkdoelle@esf.edu
470-6531/470-6501
Francis, Raymond, Research Associate
PhD, University of Toronto, 1987; bioenergy, chemical engineering, pulping
311 Walters Hallfrancis@esf.edu
470-6525/470-6501
Grieco, Scott, Visiting Instructor
PhD, SUNY College of Environmental Science and Forestry, 2014;
Hohm, Sean, Instructional Support Technician
MS, SUNY College of Environmental Science and Forestry, 2016;
smhohm@esf.edu
470-6587
Hussein, Rafaat M., Associate Professor
ME, Concordia University, 1978; PhD, Concordia University, 1980; Environmental sustainability and protection; climate change; hazardous wastes management and transport; water resources; sustainable agriculture and infrastructure systems; risk and vulnerability assessment, analysis and management; expert & knowledge-based systems; occupational and environmental management, safety and auditing; bio-based materials and products; applied sustainable construction.
216 Baker Labrmhussei@esf.edu
470-6833
Ikuta, Susuma
Visiting Professor
221 Marshall Hallsikuta@esf.edu
470-6817/470-6520
Lai, Yuan-Zong, Professor
MS, University of Washington, 1966; MS, University of Washington, 1967; PhD, University of Washington, 1968; chemistry of wood, pulping, bleaching, bioproduct development
428 Walters Hallyzlai@esf.edu
470-6514
Liu, Shijie, Professor and Associate Chair
PhD, University of Alberta, 1992; bioengineering, fermentation, kinetics, separation, pulping, bleaching, fiber properties, sustainability, biofuel, renewable chemicals, biomaterials
302 Walters Hallsliu@esf.edu
470-6885/470-6501
Meyer, Robert, Professor
MF, University of Washington, 1964; PhD, SUNY College of Environmental Science and Forestry, 1967;
222 Baker Labrwmeyer@esf.edu
470-6881/470-6880
Mickinkle, Lynn
Secretary 1
205 Walters Halllcmickin@esf.edu
470-6501
Ramarao, Bandaru, Professor and Director, Empire State Paper Research Institute
MS, Clarkson University, 1982; PhD, Clarkson University, 1985; chemical engineering, separation processes, adsorption, chromatography, filtration, membrane, depth filtration, columns, cellulosic materials, lignocellulosics separations, hydrolysis, papermaking, paper physics.
310 Walters Hallbvramara@esf.edu
470-6513/470-6502
Scott, Gary, Professor and Chair
Director, Division of Engineering

MS, University of Wisconsin, 1990; MS, University of Wisconsin, 1991; PhD, University of Wisconsin, 1993; biotechnology, bioprocess engineering, paper machine operations, recycling, modeling
205 Walters Hallgmscott@esf.edu
470-6501
Smith, Leonard, Associate Professor Emeritus
MS, Case Western Reserve University, 1963; PhD, SUNY College of Environmental Science and Forestry, 1972; adhesives, coatings, wood-based composites
217 Baker Lablasmith@esf.edu
470-6880/470-6878
Smith, William, Professor and Director, Wood Utilization Service
MS, SUNY College of Environmental Science and Forestry, 1978; PhD, SUNY College of Environmental Science and Forestry, 1983; wood drying and moisture relations, wood preservation and protection, manufacturing and processing, wood properties and utilization, marketing
218 Baker Labwbsmith@esf.edu
470-6832
Watson-Collins, Elizabeth
Instructional Support Technician
ekwatson@esf.edu
470-6532
Westby, George
Instructional Support Technician
Paper grwestby@esf.edu
470-4952