e s f home link - e s f college of environmental science and forestry
e s f home link - e s f college of environmental science and forestry

ESF to Confer 450 Degrees


SYRACUSE, N.Y. — The SUNY College of Environmental Science and Forestry (ESF) will confer about 450 degrees during commencement exercises May 13.

Commencement will mark the end of President Cornelius B. Murphy, Jr.'s first year in office. He took over leadership of the college May 15, 2000.

During the ceremonies, ESF will confer 283 bachelor's degrees, 126 master's degrees and about 41 doctoral degrees.

The college also awards associate in applied science degrees at its Ranger School in the Adirondack community of Wanakena. Thirty-six students in the forest technology program will receive those degrees during a ceremony May 19 at Clifton-Fine High School.

Commencement weekend festivities in Syracuse begin with the annual year-in-review slide show hosted by the senior class. The show will be at 1 p.m. Saturday, May 12. It can be seen at that time in both Marshall Hall Auditorium and in Room 5, Illick Hall. A reception for degree candidates, their families and friends, faculty and staff members will be at 2 p.m. in Moon Library.

The college's traditional Commencement Convocation will be at 4 p.m. Saturday in the Landmark Theatre, 362 S. Salina St., Syracuse. Baccalaureate, master's, and doctoral candidates will be honored. During the convocation, Faculty Honors will be bestowed upon the top student in each of the college's discipline areas.

On Sunday, a continental breakfast will be served at 8 a.m. in Alumni Lounge, Marshall Hall, followed by a recognition ceremony for advanced degree candidates.

ESF's Commencement exercises will be held at 10 a.m. Sunday at the Carrier Dome, in conjunction with those of Syracuse University. Class Marshals leading the ESF degree candidates in the commencement procession are Roanne E. Bosch of South Wales and Matthew M. Renaud of Kingston. The class valedictorian is Sasha D. Hafner of McGraw and the salutatorian is Deanna M. Ripstein of East Amherst.

Faculty Honors will be bestowed upon the following students:

Hafner, environmental and forest biology; John D. Hyde of Clifton Park, construction management and wood products engineering; Patrick R. Kelly of Liberty, landscape architecture; Diane H. Kiernan of Auburn, forestry; Rick D. Kriner of Homer, paper science and engineering; Meredith L. Massey of Somers Point, N.J., dual option in environmental and forest biology/forest resources management; Ripstein, environmental studies; David L. Rockwell of Syracuse, chemistry; and Karen A. Sinko of Tully, environmental resources and forest engineering.