e s f home link - e s f college of environmental science and forestry
e s f home link - e s f college of environmental science and forestry

ESF to Confer Degrees

Commencement, May 11, Carrier Dome
Convocation, May 10, Landmark Theater


The SUNY College of Environmental Science and Forestry will confer about 360 degrees during joint Commencement exercises with Syracuse University May 11 in the Carrier Dome.

During the May 11 ceremony, ESF will confer 201 bachelor's degrees, 119 master's degrees and 40 doctoral degrees. The college also awards associate in applied science degrees at its Ranger School in the Adirondack community of Wanakena. Forty-nine students in the forest technology program will receive degrees during a ceremony May 17 at Clifton-Fine High School.

Commencement weekend festivities in Syracuse begin May 10 at 10 a.m. with curriculum-specific receptions for degree candidates, their guests and members of the ESF college community.

The college's traditional convocation will be at 1 p.m. Saturday at the Landmark Theatre, 362 S. Salina St. Bachelor's, master's and doctoral degree candidates will be honored. During the convocation, faculty honors will be bestowed upon the top students in each of the college's discipline areas.

On May 11, a continental breakfast will be served at 8 a.m. in the Marshall Hall Alumni Lounge, followed by a recognition ceremony for advanced degree candidates. Joint commencement exercises with SU will begin at 10 a.m. in the Carrier Dome. Class Marshals leading the ESF degree candidates in the Commencement procession are Jennifer Cash of Howes Cave and Katrine Viscio of Altamont. The class valedictorians are Patrick M. Crast of Mannsville and Jonathan M. Winter of Dryden, and the salutatorian is Nathan P. Laun of Tully.

Faculty honors will be bestowed upon Sarah Kulpa of Buffalo and Alexis E. Alloway of Jamesville (environmental studies); Anne E. Altor of Homer (environmental and forest biology); Crast (forest and natural resources management); Miki Kuroda of Liverpool (dual option environmental and forest biology/forest and natural resources management); Winter (environmental resources and forest engineering); Mark Southwick of Red Creek (paper science and engineering); Sara Schroeder of Syracuse (landscape architecture); Laun (chemistry); and Margaret Barnes of Syracuse and Michael D. Wells of Liverpool (construction management and wood products engineering).