e s f home link - e s f college of environmental science and forestry
e s f home link - e s f college of environmental science and forestry

ESF to Confer Degrees at Commencement Ceremony

May 11, Carrier Dome

SYRACUSE - The SUNY College of Environmental Science and Forestry (SUNY-ESF) will confer about 411 degrees during joint Commencement exercises with Syracuse University May 11 in the Carrier Dome.

During the ceremony, ESF will confer 300 bachelor's degrees, about 60 master's degrees and some 41 doctoral degrees. The college also awards associate in applied science degrees at its Ranger School in the Adirondack community of Wanakena. Forty-one students in the forest technology and land surveying technology programs will receive degrees during a ceremony May 17 at Clifton-Fine High School.

Commencement weekend festivities in Syracuse begin at 10 a.m., May 10 with curriculum-specific receptions for degree candidates, their guests and members of the ESF college community.
The college's traditional convocation will be at 1 p.m., Saturday, May 10, at the Landmark Theatre, 362 S. Salina St. Bachelor's, master's and doctoral degree candidates will be honored. During the convocation, faculty honors will be bestowed upon the top students in each of the college's discipline areas.

On Sunday, May 11, a continental breakfast will be served at 7:45 a.m. in the Marshall Hall Alumni Lounge, followed by a recognition ceremony for advanced degree candidates.

Joint commencement exercises with SU will begin at 9:30 a.m. in the Carrier Dome. Class Marshals leading the ESF degree candidates in the Commencement procession are Daniele M. Baker of Hollidaysburg, Pa., and Christopher Schalk of Hamburg, N.Y. Two students are designated as class valedictorians: Schalk and Christopher Thompson of Syracuse, N.Y.

Faculty honors will be bestowed upon Ashley E. MacDonald of Penfield, N.Y. (environmental studies); Stephen M. Tyszko of Syracuse (aquatic and fisheries science); Rosanna M. Stoutenburg of Syracuse (biotechnology); David T. Rankin of Accord, N.Y. (conservation biology); Baker (environmental biology); Jordan W. Zachritz of Buffalo, N.Y. (forest health); Gabrielle A. Bedor of Ithaca, N.Y. (natural history and interpretation); Thompson (wildlife science); Kayla M. Paschal of Red Hook, N.Y. (joint option in forest ecosystems science); Richard K. Dayton of West Valley, N.Y. (forest ecosystems science); Ian R. Freeburg of Bloomingdale, N.Y. (forest resources management); Alexander J. Howe of Brooklyn, N.Y. (natural resources management); John J. Ford of East Syracuse (paper engineering); Ryder L. Jacques of Jamesville (paper science); Nicholas J. Tomasi of Saratoga Springs, N.Y. (construction management); Neil Kohan of New Hartford, N.Y. (wood products engineering); Sarah J. Kelsen of Marcellus, N.Y. (environmental resources and forest engineering); Schalk (environmental science); Jaclyn A. Mueller of Binghamton, N.Y. (chemistry); and Jamie Lynn Kieper of Selkirk, N.Y. (landscape architecture).