e s f home link - e s f college of environmental science and forestry
e s f home link - e s f college of environmental science and forestry

Candidates for Interim Provost Position Announced

Five faculty members to be interviewed

Five candidates will be interviewed for the position of interim provost, according to an announcement made by Interim President David Amberg last week.

The candidates are the following faculty members:

  • Dr. Susan E. Anagnost, professor, Department of Paper and Bioprocess Engineering, and director of the N.C. Brown Center for Ultrastructure Studies
  • Douglas J. Daley, associate professor, Department of Environmental Resources Engineering, and faculty member in the Division of Environmental Science
  • Dr. Douglas M. Johnston, professor and chair, Department of Landscape Architecture, and area leader, Environmental and Community Land Planning, Graduate Program in Environmental Science
  • Dr. David H. Newman, professor, Department of Forest and Natural Resources Management (FNRM)
  • Dr. Christopher T. Nomura, vice president for research programs, and professor, Department of Chemistry

The interview stage will be completed by Feb. 7. Due to time constraints, candidate travel obligations, and other factors, each candidate will record a five to 10-minute video address for the ESF community. The presentations and additional material from the candidates will be available for ESF staff, faculty and students to review. There will also be a way for people to provide feedback to the search committee.

"The interim provost will be vital in helping position ESF for its next permanent president," wrote Amberg in his email to campus. "The interim provost will work closely with me and the executive team on a host of critical academic issues. In short, this is not a placeholder position, and the person will be in the role for a at least few years."

Amberg hopes to have the decision finalized as early as the week of Feb. 11.

"I want to once again thank Provost Dr. Nosa Egiebor for his unwavering commitment and service to our College, and I look forward to working with him in his new capacity here," stated Amberg.

The search committee includes Amberg; Dr. Colin Beier, acting executive chair, ESF Academic Governance, and associate professor, FNRM; Dr. Russ Briggs, director, Division of Environmental Science, and Distinguished Teaching Professor, FNRM; Mark Lichtenstein committee chair, chief of staff and chief sustainability officer; Joanie Mahoney, chief operating officer; and Sue Nevins, secretary in the provost's office.