e s f home link - e s f college of environmental science and forestry
e s f home link - e s f college of environmental science and forestry

ESF to Confer Degrees at Commencement Ceremony

Events planned to celebrate graduation

The SUNY College of Environmental Science and Forestry (ESF) will confer more than 475 degrees during joint Commencement exercises with Syracuse University May 15 in the Carrier Dome.

During the ceremony, ESF will confer 375 bachelor's degrees, about 82 master's degrees and some 21 doctoral degrees.

The college also awards associate in applied science degrees at its Ranger School in the Adirondack Mountain community of Wanakena. Thirty-four students in the forest technology program and nine students in the land surveying technology program will receive degrees during a ceremony at 11 a.m. May 21 at Clifton-Fine High School.

Commencement weekend festivities in Syracuse begin at noon Saturday, May 14, with curriculum-specific receptions for degree candidates, their guests and members of the ESF college community.

The college's traditional convocation will be at 3 p.m., Saturday, May 14, at the Schine Student Center, Goldstein Auditorium. Bachelor's, master's and doctoral degree candidates will be honored. Roger A. Sedjo, Nobel Laureate and director of Resources for the Future's forest economics and policy program, will receive an honorary degree. During the convocation, departmental honors will be bestowed upon the top students in each of the college's discipline areas. Timothy McCoy of Manlius will be the student speaker. Nicole Chisholm of Oneonta will present the class gift.

On Sunday, May 15, a continental breakfast will be served at 7:30 a.m. in the Marshall Hall Alumni Lounge, followed by a recognition ceremony for advanced degree candidates.

Joint commencement exercises with SU will begin at 9:30 a.m. Sunday in the Carrier Dome. Class Marshals leading the ESF degree candidates in the Commencement procession are Daniel Liwicki of Orchard Park and James Lyons of Argyle. Departmental scholars are Shannon Carpenter of Liverpool (chemistry); Eunah Kim of Centreville, Va. (environmental and forest biology); Meryl Corsun of White Plains (environmental science); Mary Ronan of Rushford (environmental studies); Christopher Shrimpton of Auburn (environmental resources engineering); Julie Van Winkle of Edina, Minn. (forest and natural resources management); Kyle Eddy of Troy (landscape architecture); Daniel DiMarco of Clay (paper and bioprocess engineering) and Benjamin Nelson of Jamestown (sustainable construction management and engineering).