e s f home link - e s f college of environmental science and forestry
e s f home link - e s f college of environmental science and forestry

ESF Athletes Celebrated During Annual Banquet


Mighty Oaks athletics celebrated a year of amazing achievements during the 16th Annual Banquet on April 29. ESF's 11 athletic teams came back strong after a year of virtually no athletic activity in 2020 due to the pandemic.

The Mighty Oaks racked up success in all sports, including winning three USCAA National Championship titles in Women's Soccer, and Men's and Women's Cross Country, and three coaches were named USCAA National Coaches of the Year.

"It really shows the heart and resilience of the ESF student-athletes to come back and work so hard for these tremendous achievements," said Dan Ramin, director of Intercollegiate Athletics. "We also have a great team working behind the scenes supporting our athletes. It truly was a tremendous year and we look forward to the continued growth and success of ESF athletics."

More than 120 student-athletes and their coaches were present to celebrate their achievements. President Joanie Mahoney and Matt Millea, executive director of strategic initiatives, joined the teams.

"The achievements of our teams on the field is impressive," said President Joanie Mahoney, "and what strikes me, even more, is the number of Academic All Americans ESF had this year. Congratulations to all of our student-athletes on a very successful year."

The following students were recognized for the achievements

Men's Soccer

' Most Valuable Player (MVP) Cooper Weinman and Jack Phillips

' Most Improved Player (MIP) Chris Goetz

Women's Soccer

' MVP Claire Maring

' MIP Maggie Rae Bennett

Bass Fishing

' MVP Nate Wojslaw

' MIP Nick Sanderson

Men's Golf

' MVP Andrew Crossway

' MIP Kevin Cooley

Men's Timber Sports

' MVP Brian Shea

' MIP Jacob Tuholski

Women's Timber Sports

' MVP Spring DeFranco

' MIP Rose Uriarte

Men's Cross Country

' MVP Matt Frame

' MIP Sam Auria

Women's Cross Country

' MVP Bryce Hopper

' MIP Alyssa Flint

Men's Track

' MVP Matt Trip

' MIP Sean Dristle

Women's Track

' MVP Aubrianna DeLario-Brown

' MIP Mckenzie Dombroski

Men's Basketball

' MVP Reid Patchett

' MIP Ashton Bushey

Academic All-Americans

Aaron Alejo, Charles Appleton, Sam Auria, Jenna Canipe, Maya Castro, Andrew Crossway, Cisco Delliquadri, McKenzie Dombroski, Emily Ellithorpe, Aaron Flint, Alyssa Flint, Matt Frame, Jarron Frangie, Luke Glaser, Cole Grant, Liam Hanley, Amanda Jerome, Jonathan Lasselle, Kaise Mackey, Elizabeth Malecki, Claire Maring, Tim Maron, Larisa Mulholland, Jack (John) Murtagh, Abby Neil, Helena O'Shea, Reid Patchett, Taylor Peltier, Caleb Prenoveau, Christian Rossi, Marcus Schwarzmueller, Will Shofield Broadbent, Julia Smith, Gillian Smith, Abby Thomas, Jacob Tuholski, Hallie Weiman, and Ethan Winter.

National All-Americans

Sam Auria, Jessica Bolton, Kelly Cooper, McKenzie Dombroski, Sean Dristle, Cassidy Engleson, Rachel Foote, Matt Frame, Bryce Hopper, Claire Maring, Jack Phillips, Mary Roach, John Sanders, and Jack Slavinskas.

2021 USCAA National Coaches of the Year

  • Mandy (Amanda) DaRin-Olinski, Women's Soccer
  • Michael Melfi, Men's & Women's Cross Country
  • John Turbeville, Men's Golf

Bob Beary Award for Student-Athlete Artistic Endeavors

Jarron Frangie

Special thanks were given to assistant, Sofia Hvozda, intern Jarron Frangie, photographer Bob Beary, and all the Coaches.