e s f home link - e s f college of environmental science and forestry
e s f home link - e s f college of environmental science and forestry

ESF Honors 28 High School Students With 1998 Environmental Excellence Award


SYRACUSE, N.Y. -- State University College of Environmental Science and Forestry (ESF) President Ross S. Whaley has announced the 28 high school recipients of the fifth annual ESF Environmental Excellence Awards.

The awards program was established by ESF to honor students who have combined strong academic performance with a demonstrated commitment to and leadership in resolving environmental issues.

"It is a privilege for us to recognize students who excel academically and who are interested in applying their talents to understanding the environmental issues of the day," said Whaley. "These are the students who we as a society will be looking to for leadership in the future."

Award recipients received a special commemorative edition of the classic collection of environmental essays, A Sand County Almanac by Aldo Leopold at their high school awards ceremonies. The books were individually inscribed with the student's name, school, and date of awards presentation.

Whaley credited Dr. Robert H. Frey, ESF's dean of Instruction and Graduate Studies, with initiating the idea for the Environmental Excellence Award. A former president of the Fayetteville-Manlius Board of Education, Frey recognized that high school students throughout Central New York demonstrated a significant amount of environmental awareness and concern, and, as a result, worked in various ways to aid local causes. He suggested ESF establish the award statewide to recognize the contributions of these and other students.

The 1998 Environmental Excellence Awards program was administered by Susan H. Sanford, ESF's director of Admissions.

The schools invited to participate in the awards program were chosen on the basis of several factors, including the overall strength of their academic program--particularly in science and math--and demonstrated interest in environmental affairs by the high schools' faculty and students.

The names of the 28 students and their high schools chosen by the State University College of Environmental Science and Forestry (ESF) to receive the fifth annual Environmental Excellence Awards are:

 Student's Name High School High School City

Buffalo Area

 Dennison Bertram  City Honors School  Buffalo, NY
 Jacob Bush  Clarence Central HS  Clarence, NY

Capital District

 Andrea Barna  Troy HS  Troy, NY
 Seth H. Harris  Shaker HS  Latham, NY
 Jessica Lynn Beeble  Niskayuna HS  Niskayuna, NY
 Chad Sievers  Shenendehowa HS  Clifton Park, NY
 Micah Ingalls  Cooperstown HS  Cooperstown, NY

Central New York

 Lindsey Martin Christian Brothers Academy  Syracuse, NY
 Tiffany Jewell T. J. Corcoran HS  Syracuse, NY
 Jason Barton George Fowler HS  Syracuse, NY
 Kerry Walsh Westhill HS  Syracuse, NY
 Jill DiLaura East Syracuse-Minoa HS  East Syracuse, NY
 Eric Schultz Liverpool HS  Liverpool, NY
 Emily Carroll Jamesville-DeWitt HS  DeWitt, NY
 Ronald DeGeorge Cicero-North Syracuse HS  Cicero, NY
 Hilary Woznica Cicero-North Syracuse HS  Cicero, NY
 Bethany Kauffman West Genesee HS  Camillus, NY
 Kimberly Portmess Tully HS  Tully, NY
 Ashford Bradly Skaneateles HS  Skaneateles, NY
 Gideon Lamb Marcellus HS  Marcellus, NY
 Erin Pisarski LaFayette Junior/Senior HS  LaFayette, NY
 Renee V. Riley Cazenovia High School  Cazenovia, NY
 Jennifer Cotie Cortland Junior/Senior HS  Cortland, NY
 Amanda Knapp G. Ray Bodley HS  Fulton, NY

Rochester Area

 Mariel Meyer  Joseph C. Wilson HS  Rochester, NY
 Lindsay Wilkins  Newark HS  Newark, NY
 Daniel Schlesinger  Pittsford Mendon HS  Pittsford, NY


 Kristen Fishman  Worthington Kilbourne HS  Columbus, OH