e s f home link - e s f college of environmental science and forestry
e s f home link - e s f college of environmental science and forestry

Event Honors Longtime ESF Professor


SYRACUSE, N.Y. - Dr. Robert M. "Milt" Silverstein, who was elected as a 2000 Fellow of the National Academy of Sciences, will be honored as part of Dr. Cornelius B. Murphy, Jr.'s inaugural celebration at the SUNY College of Environmental Science and Forestry (ESF).

Silverstein, an ESF professor emeritus, will be the guest of honor at "A Celebration of Success" at 2:30 p.m. Nov. 3 in Marshall Auditorium, on the ESF Campus. A reception will follow in Alumni Lounge.

Silverstein is an expert on the chemistry of insect communication. He is the first ESF faculty member and the second Syracuse resident to receive the honor from the National Academy of Sciences. It is one of the most prestigious honors that can be bestowed upon a scientist. Silverstein was among 60 new members and 15 foreign associates from nine countries who were elected this year in recognition of their achievements in original research.

Silverstein is famous for his pioneering study of bark beetles, which began in 1964 in collaboration with a scientist from the University of California at Berkeley. It led to several scientific breakthroughs, including the first identification of an aggregating pheromone, a substance released by an insect that attracts others of the species to a given location. Bark beetles use the technique to ensure that enough of them attack a susceptible tree to overcome its resistance.

Before joining the ESF faculty in 1969, Silverstein worked as a research fellow at the Stanford Research Institute. Silverstein earned his bachelor's degree from the University of Pennsylvania, and his master's and doctoral degrees from New York University. He retired from teaching in 1986.

Silverstein and his former ESF colleague, John B. Simeone, were founders and longtime editors of the Journal of Chemical Ecology. They were honored in 1995 by the Society of Chemical Ecology, which established a lecture series, named for them, in their honor