e s f home link - e s f college of environmental science and forestry
e s f home link - e s f college of environmental science and forestry

ESF Trustees' Chair Reacts To News of Murphy Nomination; Extensive Search Process Prescribed by SUNY Trustees

SYRACUSE, N.Y. -- Following is a statement from Curtis H. Bauer '50, chair of ESF's Board of Trustees, about the nomination of Dr. Cornelius B. Murphy Jr. for the ESF presidency:

"We are delighted that Chancellor King agreed with the recommendation of both the search committee and the ESF Board of Trustees and has nominated Neil Murphy to be our next president. Dr. Murphy was a stand-out candidate who, throughout the search and campus interviews, earned the overwhelming support of campus constituent groups. It is an exciting time to be part of the ESF family, and we eagerly anticipate the beginning of Dr. Murphy's tenure."

Bauer chaired the 15-member campus committee that conducted an exhaustive national search for the new ESF president.

The process of seeking and selecting a new president was established by the SUNY Board of Trustees and is set forth in a detailed set of guidelines.

The committee received more than 40 applicants in response to national advertisements for the position, and, Bauer said, committee members actively pursued prospective candidates suggested by a variety of professional contacts as well as by members of the ESF community.

The search committee selected eight semi-finalists and conducted confidential in-person interviews. Following these, the committee selected four finalists for the position.

Each finalist was invited for a two-day-on campus interview. The interviews began January 20 and concluded February 3, 2000.

The committee selected Isaacson, Miller of Boston, a national executive search firm, to assist in the search process. The firm conducted preliminary reference checks on all applicants, and in-depth reference checks on each of the four finalists.

In addition to Bauer, the committee included three other members of the ESF Board of Trustees. They are Thomas Burkly, president and chief executive officer of Stearns and Wheler Environmental Engineers and Scientists; Daniel T. Fitts '81, executive director of the Adirondack Park Agency; and Robert E. Moses, a partner in the Syracuse law firm of Bond, Schoeneck & King.

College faculty representatives were Douglas C. Allen, Elizabeth A. Elkins, James M. Hassett, Richard S. Hawks '72, Robert T. LaLonde, and William F. Porter. Other faculty and staff who served on the committee were John P. Hassett and Susan H. Sanford.

In addition, Environmental and Forest Biology graduate student Karl Didier; Nancy A. Mayer '71, president of the ESF Alumni Association; and R. Leland Davis, president of the ESF College Foundation, represented their constituent groups.

Marianna O'Dwyer, assistant SUNY vice chancellor, represented the chancellor as a non-voting member of the committee.