e s f home link - e s f college of environmental science and forestry
e s f home link - e s f college of environmental science and forestry

ESF to confer degrees at May 15 commencement

285 graduate and undergraduate degrees

(Syracuse)—The State University of New York College of Environmental Science and Forestry (ESF) will confer about 285 degrees during joint Commencement exercises with Syracuse University May 15 at the Carrier Dome.

During the ceremony, ESF will confer 235 bachelor?s degrees, 40 master's degrees and 10 doctoral degrees. The college also awards associate in applied science degrees at its Ranger School in the Adirondack community of Wanakena.

Forty-eight students in the forest technology program will receive degrees during a ceremony May 21 at Clifton-Fine High School in Star Lake, N.Y. This will be the 91st commencement at the ESF Ranger School.

Commencement weekend festivities in Syracuse begin May 14 at 10 a.m. with curriculum-specific receptions for degree candidates, their guests and members of the ESF Community.

The college's traditional convocation will be held May 14 at 1 p.m. in the Landmark Theater, 362 S. Salina St. Bachelor's, master's and doctoral degree candidates will be honored. During the convocation, faculty honors will be bestowed upon the top students in each of the college's discipline areas.

On May 15, a continental breakfast will be served at 8 a.m. in the Marshall Hall Alumni Lounge, followed by a recognition ceremony for advanced degree candidates.

Joint commencement exercises with SU begin at 9:30 a.m. in the Carrier Dome. Class marshals leading the ESF degree candidates in the Commencement procession are Elizabeth J. Reif and Jamie C. Schofield. The three Scholars of the ESF Class of 2005 are Rachel E. Ruppel (valedictorian), Collin M. Shephard (salutatorian) and Rebecca A. Dreher.

Academic program honors will be bestowed upon Leia D. Schmidt, environmental studies; Shephard, environmental and forest biology; Sean A. Blakeney, conservation biology; Melissa D. Chinchilla, wildlife science; Nicholas A. Padowski, forest ecosystems science; Ryan M. Trapani, forest resources management; Holly A. Meehan, natural resources management; Jeff M. Tyler, paper science and engineering; Christopher B. Staley, paper engineering; Greg Birosh, construction management and wood products engineering; Christopher T. Stark, wood products engineering; Charles A. Peguero, environmental resources and forest engineering; Ruppel, environmental science; James A. Hamzik, chemistry; and, Robert L. Thompson, landscape architecture.


Release No. 36, May 4, 2005

Error processing SSI file