Donald J Leopold | Environmental Biology | SUNY ESF
e s f home link - e s f college of environmental science and forestry
e s f home link - e s f college of environmental science and forestry

Donald J LeopoldDistinguished Teaching Professor

Donald Leopold

333 Illick Hall
1 Forestry Drive
Syracuse, NY 13210

315-470-6784
djleopold@esf.edu

Current Graduate Advisees

Current Graduate Advisees

Toby LissToby Liss
trliss@syr.edu

  • Degree Sought: PHD
  • Graduate Advisor(s): Leopold
  • Area of Study: EFB Conservation Biology

Graduate Research Topic
Marginal plant species for use on green roofs and the effects of species composition on green roof functioning for stormwater reduction

Undergraduate Study
University of Pittsburgh (Ecology and Evolution, Linguistics)

Social Media
@mslissecologist on Instagram and Twitter


Sarah OlneySarah Olney
solney@syr.edu

  • Degree Sought: MPS
  • Graduate Advisor(s): Leopold
  • Area of Study: EFB Conservation Biology

Alex PetzkeAlex Petzke
apetzke@syr.edu

  • Degree Sought: PHD
  • Graduate Advisor(s): Leopold
  • Area of Study: EFB Conservation Biology

Graduate Research Topic
My dissertation research is focused on the inland salt marshes of the northeastern United States. I am performing the first thorough survey of the halophytic flora of Central New York's inland salt marshes in over 40 years and using my findings to assess how it has changed over time. It is unknown how halophytes native to these rare disjunct wetlands came to occupy them: by dispersal or vicariance events, and from eastern or western populations. I am addressing this question by investigating the phylogeography of the widespread halophyte Schoenoplectus americanus (Cyperaceae) as a case study.

Favorite Quote
"There is a kind of lazy pleasure in useless and out-of-the-way erudition." -Jorge Luis Borges


Rachael RenziRachael Renzi
rarenzi@syr.edu

  • Degree Sought: MS
  • Graduate Advisor(s): Fernando and Leopold
  • Area of Study: EFB Conservation Biology

Warren StaverWarren Staver
wcstaver@syr.edu

  • Degree Sought: MS
  • Graduate Advisor(s): Leopold
  • Area of Study: EFB Conservation Biology

Justine WeberJustine Weber
juweber@syr.edu

  • Degree Sought: PHD
  • Graduate Advisor(s): Leopold
  • Area of Study: EFB Ecology

Graduate Research Topic
Rare plant ecology and conservation: my dissertation focuses on the conservation of federally-listed Houghton's goldenrod (Oligoneuron houghtonii). I am also working with Dr. Sara Scanga (Utica College) to monitor population trends of globally rare Trollius laxus in upstate NY.

Twitter
@Justine_Weber