e s f home link - e s f college of environmental science and forestry
e s f home link - e s f college of environmental science and forestry

M.P.S., M.S. & Ph.D. in Natural Resources Management

Apply

The Natural Resources Management program focuses on both the underlying theory and on-the-ground application of practices to achieve sustainable outcomes in natural resource systems.

Because management practices and decisions arise from the combination of ecological knowledge, economic considerations and landowner/manager objectives and/or policies, research opportunities in management are interdisciplinary by nature.

Participating Faculty

  • Colin M. Beier; cbeier@esf.edu
    forest ecosystem and landscape ecology, social-ecological systems, climate change, ecosystem services, landscape change modeling, resilience, adaptive management, resource governance, applied geoinformatics
  • Eddie Bevilacqua; ebevilacqua@esf.edu
    sampling/inventory, biometrics, forest mensuration, growth and yield modeling, applied statistics, GIS/spatial analysis, forest ecology, landscape ecology, ecological modeling, tree-ring science, quantitative silviculture
  • Russell D. Briggs; rdbriggs@esf.edu
    forest ecology, watershed ecology, soils, ecosystem services, watershed management, forest soils, silviculture
  • Tristan R. Brown; trbro100@esf.edu
    sustainable energy law & policy; energy systems analysis; techno-economic analysis; and climate policy
  • René Germain; rhgermai@esf.edu
    forest health, policy, silviculture, forest management and operations, forest management for renewable energy, watershed management, sustainable forestry systems
  • Mariann T. Johnston; mjohnston@esf.edu
    forest ecology, soils, biogeochemistry, forest health, silviculture
  • Diane M. Kuehn; dmkuehn@esf.edu
    social and recreational dimensions, ecotourism and nature tourism, recreation management and research
  • Robert W. Malmsheimer; rwmalmsh@esf.edu
    How laws and the legal system affect natural resources management, including how carbon accounting policies affect forest and natural resources.
  • Christopher A. Nowak; canowak@esf.edu
    vegetation management, silviculture and forest ecology, production ecology and plant ecophysiology, invasive exotic plant control, biogeography and cultural landscapes, sustainable management and certification systems
  • Stephen V. Stehman; svstehma@esf.edu
    environmental sampling, map accuracy assessment, land-cover monitoring; applied statistics
  • John C. Stella; stella@esf.edu
    riparian and stream ecology, restoration ecology, watershed management, ecological modeling, tree-ring science, river restoration, arid-land and Mediterranean ecosystems
  • Timothy A. Volk; tavolk@esf.edu
    silviculture, forest management for renewable energy, biomass and bioenergy, energy, agroforestry, phytoremediation, management and sustainability of short rotation woody crops, life cycle analysis, ecophysiology, international forestry
  • John E. Wagner; jewagner@esf.edu
    forest resource and environmental economics, ecosystem services, policy, quantitative silviculture, forest management and operations, operations research, simulation

Learn More

students in the forest

Contact Us

Diane Kuehn
Associate Professor
Graduate Education Coordinator - SRM
310A Bray Hall, One Forestry Drive
Syracuse, NY 13210-2788
Phone: (315) 470-6561
Fax: (315) 470-6535


Current Graduate Students in Management


Current Students Only currently registered students appear — new names appear at start of academic year


Joy Damon

jcdamon@syr.edu
Natural Resources Mgt
Degree Sought: MS
Advisor(s):


Samuel Gordon

sjgordon@syr.edu
Natural Resources Mgt
Degree Sought: MS
Advisor(s):


Anusha Lamsal

alamsal@syr.edu
Natural Resources Mgt
Degree Sought: PHD
Advisor(s):


Basanta Lamsal

blamsal@syr.edu
Natural Resources Mgt
Degree Sought: PHD
Advisor(s): Wagner


Stacey Mack

Stacey Mack

samack@syr.edu
Natural Resources Mgt
Degree Sought: PHD
Advisor(s): Germain and Moran

Graduate Research Topic
Resource challenges associated with hydraulic fracturing

Favorite Quote
"To give anything less than your best is to sacrifice the gift."- Steve Prefontaine



Catherine McLaughlin

cmmclaug@syr.edu
Natural Resources Mgt
Degree Sought: MS
Advisor(s):


Joseph Nash

Joseph Nash

jnash05@syr.edu
Natural Resources Mgt
Degree Sought: MS
Advisor(s): Yanai

Graduate Research Topic
My research focuses on the influence of forest succession on downed wood accumulation, as well as carbon accounting and uncertainty analysis.



Mandira Pokharel

mpokhare@syr.edu
Natural Resources Mgt
Degree Sought: PHD
Advisor(s): Germain


Jimmy Andrianin Rakotovao

jrakotov@syr.edu
Natural Resources Mgt
Degree Sought: MPS
Advisor(s):


Jin Yin

Jin Yin

jyin100@syr.edu
Environmental and Natural Resources Policy
Degree Sought: PHD
Advisor(s): Newman and Zhang
Undergraduate Institution: Minzu University of China (Ecology)

Previous Graduate Study: Yale University (Forest Science)

Graduate Research Topic
Community-based Forest Management in China's Minority Areas

Areas of Interest
Biodiversity conservation; Indigenous knowledge; Land use change; Forest policy; Remote sensing and GIS; Ecosystem services