Skip to main contentSkip to main navigationSkip to footer content


Academic Governance

Academic Governance at ESF serves to facilitate the initiation, development, and implementation of ESF’s mission and educational programs under the direction of the SUNY Board of Trustees.

The full body of Academic Governance (faculty, staff, and student representatives) meets monthly during the academic year to discuss matters of College interest and conduct academic business, including the review and proposal of College policies.

Please contact for more information about Academic Governance and adding items to the agenda.



Meeting Schedule

The full body of Academic Governance meets monthly in synchronous hybrid format in Gateway A/B/C at 11 a.m. and on Zoom, unless otherwise noted

September 5, 2023
October 3, 2023
November 7, 2023
December 5, 2023
January 23, 2024
February 20, 2024
March 19, 2024
April 16, 2024
May 9, 2024 (anticipated)

Meeting Documents (Authentication Required)

Join Academic Governance meetings on Zoom


Executive Committee Meetings

The Executive Committee regularly meets two weeks prior to the full governance body, allowing time to make any necessary decisions about the agenda for the larger meeting. The dates for the 2023-2024 academic year are:

  • August 22
  • September 19
  • October 17
  • November 14
  • January 9
  • February 6
  • March 5
  • April 2
  • April 23

All Executive Committee meetings are from 11a-12:20pm in 408 Baker, except where noted. The meeting is open to all members of the campus community, but due to space limitations, please RSVP if you wish to attend.   


Placing an item on the agenda

Anything that is to be considered for the agenda at a College-wide meeting must be sent to the Executive Committee at before the Executive Committee meeting scheduled prior to the Academic Governance meeting for which it is intended to be discussed.

Executive and Standing Committees

All Faculty and Research Associates are voting members of Academic Governance. In addition, 30 elected members of professional staff are represented as voting members.

Michael Amadori, 2023
Ray Appleby, 2024
Kate Bailie, 2023
Brian Boothroyd, 2024
Jordan Brinkley, 2023
Terrance Caviness, 2023
Anthony Chefalo, 2023
Daniel Collins, 2023
Casey Duffy, 2024
Heather Engelman, 2024
Susan Fassler, 2024
Amelia Hoffman, 2024
Sean Hohm, 2023
Karen Karker, 2023
Aaron Knight, 2024
Sean Korbas, 2023
Robert MacGregor, 2023
Karen Moore, 2024
Doug Moore, 2023
Jon  Owens, 2023
Joe Pagcaliwagan, 2023
Aaron Rounds, 2023
Leslie Rutkowski, 2024
Katherina Searing, 2024
Mark Storrings, 2024
Erin Tochelli, 2024
John Turbeville, 2024
Sarah Yurka, 2023

Executive Committee

Name Title Term ends
Joanie Mahoney Chair and President of SUNY ESF N/A
Gary M. Scott Executive Chair 2024
E. Kelly Watson-Collins Secretary 2025
Ray Appleby SUNY Senator 2024
Ruth Yanai SUNY Senator Alternate 2024
Mark Storrings Sergeant-at-Arms 2022
Aaron Knight Parliamentarian 2022
Janine DeBaise Honors and Awards, co-Chair 2023
Katherina Searing Honors and Awards, co-Chair 2023
Scott Shannon Academic Affairs, Chair 2023
Matt Smith Faculty and Staff Advancement, Chair 2023
Ivan Gitsov SU Senator 2024
Chang Geun Yoo Research, Chair 2025
Erin Tochelli SU Senator 2024
Deepak Kumar Delegate-at-Large 2026
Aaron Rounds Delegate-at-Large 2025
Colin Beier Delegate-at-Large 2024
Amy Owens GSA representative 2024
Silas Cochran MOSA representative 2024


Standing Committees

Honors and Awards

Member Term End Department
Janine DeBaise (Co-Chair) 2023 ES
Katherina Searing (Co-Chair) 2023 Staff
Robin Kimmerer 2024 EB
Karen Moore 2023 Staff
Leslie Rutkowski 2024 Staff
Karin Limburg 2024 EB
Ruth Yanai 2023 SRM
Samuel Mukasa N/A Provost
** Due to SUNY policy on the composition of this committee, the Awards Chair will populate it.


Academic Affairs

Member Term End Department
Scott Shannon (Chair) 2024 LA
Kim Schultz 2024 EFB
Eddie Bevilaqua 2024 SRM
Avik Chatterjee 2025 FCH
Shijie Liu 2024 CHE
Jacob Gedetsis 2025 Interdisciplinary Programs
Ruth Owens 2024 Library
Wendong Tao 2025 ERE
Brandon Murphy 2023 Staff, Open Academy
Ann Moore 2025 ENS
Erin Tochelli N/A Associate Director Academic Administration
Valerie Luzadis N/A Associate Provost for Academic Administration


Faculty and Staff Advancement

Member Term End Department
Matt Smith 2024 Library Director
John Drake 2024 SRM
Bandaru Ramarao 2024 CHE
Matthew Potteiger 2024 LA
Lindi Quackenbush 2024 ERE
Theodore Dibble 2024 FCH
Patrice Kohl 2024 EST
Daniel Collins 2024 Open Academy


Research and Scholarship

Member Term End Department
Chang Geun Yoo, Chair 2025 CE
Tania Ploumi 2025 Open Academy
Joshua Cousins 2024 Environmental Studies
Casey J. Koons 2024 Library
Tristan Brown 2025 SRM
Dan Cronan 2024 LA
Giorgos Mountrakis 2024 ERE
Emily Arsenault 2025 EB
JiaJue Chai 2025 Chemistry
Addie Hopes 2025 Writing Program
John Stella (ex-officio)   Vice President of Research
Rowan Nothnagle   MOSA
Wondwosen Shiferaw Aga   GSA


Student Experience

Member Term End Department
Kathy Lang 2025 Open Academy
Erika Redmond 2024 CHE
Stewart Diemont 2025 EB
Christina Ciereck 2025 Interdisciplinary Programs
Yaqi You 2024 ERE
Jane Verostek 2025 Library
Tina Limpert 2025 LA/ES
Gyu Leem (Chair) 2024 FCH


Elections are held each spring for any officer roles and to elect half of the professional staff membership. 

Awards >

Documents and Resolutions

Resolution Guide

Contact for a procedures outline for how resolutions can come to the floor of an Academic Governance College-wide meeting.

Bylaws and Standing Rules
Academic Governance Bylaws are reviewed biannually by the Executive Committee and Faculty Chair (College President) and amended as needed to keep them current and to ensure that they accurately reflect the operating procedures of the faculty as it pertains to curriculum, research, and service.

For past bylaws and standing rules, contact the Executive Chair.

Syllabus Template
All course syllabi must be made available at the departmental level.