e s f home link - e s f college of environmental science and forestry
e s f home link - e s f college of environmental science and forestry

ESF Landscape Architecture Students Receive ASLA Honors

Honor and merit certificates presented

Six students in ESF's Department of Landscape Architecture received honors from the American Society of Landscape Architecture (ASLA).

Kathryn Chesebrough and Marshall Secord received Certificates of Honor, and Amy Allen and Mark Warfel were awarded Certificates of Merit. All four honorees are fifth-year seniors in the department's undergraduate program.

Two students in the master's of landscape architecture program were also honored by ASLA. Rachelle McKnight received a Certificate of Honor and Bill Elliott earned a Certificate of Merit.

Students are nominated based on their academic performance in the program, community engagement, volunteerism, and leadership. Nominees make presentations to a jury comprising members of the New York Upstate Chapter of the American Society of Landscape Architects. The panel can select an Honor recipient, or a Merit recipient, or may choose not to award one or either.

The certificates were presented at the Sigma Lambda Alpha induction ceremony May 4.

This year's ASLA jurors were Nick Schwartz, president of the NYU ASLA chapter, Natalia Cagide-Elmer of Parsons, Inc., and ESF Associate Professor Robin Hoffman.