e s f home link - e s f college of environmental science and forestry
e s f home link - e s f college of environmental science and forestry

ESF to Induct 2021 Class into Athletic Hall of Fame 10/27/2021


The SUNY College of Environmental Science and Forestry will induct the newest class of honorees into its Athletics Hall of Fame this weekend. A national championship cross country team, a women's soccer athlete, a founding coach and an SU dance team athlete are among the 2021 honorees of the ESF Athletic Hall of Fame.

The ESF Athletic Hall of Fame was created to honor former students, coaches, administrators, faculty, staff and members of the ESF community whose contributions have brought distinction, honor and excellence to ESF athletics and familiarized the campus community and alumni with ESF's rich athletic history. This year's ceremony takes place 6 to 8 p.m. Friday, Oct. 29, in ESF's Gateway Center.

"Our honorees represent the best of ESF athletics and we are proud to celebrate them," said ESF President Joanie Mahoney. "College athletics enhance the valuable life skills learned in the classroom: teamwork, discipline and dedication that translate from the playing field to life beyond sports and the classroom. ESF is fortunate to have coaches who have and continue to bring out the best in our athletes."

The 2021 ESF Athletic Hall of Fame honorees are the following:

The 2012 ESF Men's Cross Country Team and Coaches
The 2012 team won the United States Collegiate Athletic Association (USCAA) National Championship in Lake Placid, New York. This was the second consecutive national championship for the majority of the team. The team also had three First Team USCAA All–American recipients, three Second Team All-American recipients, and seven USCAA All-Academic recipients. The team ran in six multiple-school meets during the season, winning three and finishing second in three.

Members of the 2012 team were Matt Allen, '13 bioprocess engineering; Collin Bartholomew, '13 forest and natural resources management; Brian Busby, '15, conservation biology; Ben Butryn, '16 bioprocess engineering; Tim Callahan, '14 conservation biology; Jonathon Cleveland, '14 forest and natural resources management; Kai Crannell, environmental biology; Matt DeLuca, '14 environmental resources engineering; Taylor DellaRocco, '16 environmental science; Jeremy Driscoll, '16 environmental resources engineering; Joe Gerchman, '15 bioprocess engineering; Matt Glaub, '15 environmental biology; Nick Grieco, '15 environmental resources engineering; Andres Gritzmacher, '15 forest technology; Peter Leduc, '16 environmental biology; James McKenna, '14 aquatics and fisheries science; Malcolm Moncheur, '15 bioprocess engineering; Caleb Rudge, '16 environmental studies; Stephen Slonosky, '16 forest health; Nathan Sleight, '13 environmental science, M.S. '15 environmental systems and risk management; Jacob Wolfgong, '15 wildlife science; Taylor Yerrick, '13 wildlife science; and Ethan Washburn '15 environmental resources engineering.

John View was head coach, with Assistant Coaches Adam Wild and Kevin Reynolds. View, Callahan and members of the 2011 men's cross country team (including Bartholomew, Busby, DeLuca, Gerchman, Glaub, Grieco, Gritzmacher, McKenna, Sleight, Washburn and Wolfgong) are also members of the 2019 inaugural class of the ESF Athletic Hall of Fame

Lauren Archer
Lauren Archer, '18 environmental studies, was a member of the ESF women's soccer team. She was a 2017 First Team USCAA All-American and a USCAA Academic All-American from 2016-2018. She was a four-year starter in all ESF women's soccer games and played in four USCAA National Championship Tournament games. Archer was also a member of the first ESF team to win the Hudson Valley Intercollegiate Athletic Conference (HVIAC) women's soccer title.

Scott Blair
Scott Blair, former director of student diversity and inclusion initiatives at ESF, founded the men's basketball team in 2010 and coached the team through 2018. He was named HVIAC Coach of the Year for the 2016-17 season. Blair coached 10 USCAA Academic All-Americans and three USCAA All-Americans, and graduated more than 50 men's basketball student-athletes. He is currently the associate vice president for diversity, equity and inclusion at DeSales University and assistant basketball coach at Kutztown University.

Robert Beary
Robert "Bob" Beary has served as the ESF athletics photographer since 2011. As the primary photographer of ESF athletic events, he uses his camera to capture the history of the College's athletics program as it unfolds. He is dedicated to all the ESF teams and through imagery tells the story of moments of victory, defeat and camaraderie. A regular sight on the sidelines, he is fondly known as "Uncle Bob" to athletes, coaches and fans.

James Burt
James Burt, '11 landscape architecture, was a founding member of the ESF men's golf team in 2007. He served as captain and was a mentor to younger golfers on the team.

Leah Dudziak Fenley
Leah Dudziak Fenley, '08 biotechnology, was a member of the Syracuse University Women's Intercollegiate Dance Team from 2004-08 and served as team captain. She is a member of the Massachusetts Women in Science Program and is the program manager for Regeneron Pharmaceuticals.

Jerry Josselyn
Jerry Josselyn, '80 wood products engineering, was a varsity athlete at Syracuse University (rules now prohibit ESF athletes from competing at that level). He was a four-time SU Cross Country Letter Winner (captain '78, co-captain '79) and 1980 Big East champion in the men's 3000-meter steeplechase. He was honored as the 1979 FPRS Outstanding Student – Wood Products Curriculum and received the 1980 Eastern College Athlete Conference Medal of Merit. He is a Lifetime Member of the ESF Alumni Association.

The contributions of David White, who died earlier this year, will also be recognized. White, a member of the Office of Communications and Marketing until his 2019 retirement, provided the voiceovers for the Athletic Hall of Fame videos while at ESF and after he retired.

"The athletes, coaches and support staff celebrated not only contribute to a successful athletics program at ESF, but also promote school spirit," said Dan Ramin, director of intercollegiate athletics. "The Hall of Fame honorees have played an important role in ESF's storied sports history."

Due to restrictions on gathering in 2020, last year's induction ceremony was held virtually. President Mahoney will be recognizing the class of 2020 honorees which include;

Brendan Beeke, '13, landscape architecture, golf.

Michael Borghard, '77, wood products engineering-materials marketing, SU cross country, and track and field.

Ryan Caldwell, '17, sustainable energy management, basketball.

Heather Carl, '17, natural resources management, soccer.

Luke Grasmeyer, '11, landscape architecture, cross country.

Joseph Kearney, '78, wood products engineering-materials marketing, SU track and field.

Leslie Monostory, '65, general forestry, SU fencing.

Cambria (Ziemer) Ung, '15, environmental resources engineering, cross country.

The hall of fame is supported through donations to the Robert C. French Endowed Fund and overseen by the ESF College Foundation.