e s f home link - e s f college of environmental science and forestry
e s f home link - e s f college of environmental science and forestry
RSAA logo

The RSAA Ranger School Alumni Association


RSAA Calendar of Events and Important Dates

  • January 13, 2020: Spring Semester Begins
  • January 22-24, 2020: NYSAPLS Conference, Albany, NY
  • January 22-24, 2020: SAF Conference, Syracuse, NY
  • January 23 2020: Alumni Reception, 6:30-8:30pm, Doubletree Hotel, Carrier Circle, Syracuse, NY
  • February 2020: WOW (White Out Weekend), Wanakena, NY
  • March 14-22, 2020: Ranger School Spring Break
  • April 2020: Ranger School Spring Open House
  • April 22, 2020: Earth Day
  • May 16, 2020: Ranger School Class of 2020 Graduation, Star Lake, NY
  • August 7-8, 2020: 84th Annual Alumni Reunion, Wanakena. NY
  • August 16, 2020: Class of 2019 Arrives

Awards and Scholarships

The Philip J. Haddock Award for Excellence

The Philip J. Haddock award is presented by the Board of Directors each year. It is voted on at the Spring meeting and presented during the reunion. Nominations are solicited in the winter newsletter. “ The person selected does not have to be (or have been) an officer of the RSAA or a member of the Executive Committee, but neither should such persons be excluded. The person selected should be one who has made an outstanding contribution of some kind (not monetary). This contribution may be in the nature of a single, noteworthy actor a lower-keyed, but long term commitment to the School and/or the RSAA or for the alumni in general.”

Past recipients:

  • 2019—Michael H. Webb '74
  • 2018—Arnie Lanckton '53
  • 2017—Dr. Michael Bridgen
  • 2016—Lawrence R. Hawkins, '55
  • 2015—Peter Zubal, '59
  • 2014—Thomas Hodges, '53
  • 2013—Jerald Holbrook, '56
  • 2012—Robert Simmons
  • 2011—Wayne Allen, '79
  • 2010—Jerry Kniskern ’50
  • 2009—Bruce Williams ‘76
  • 2008—Lee Berry ‘68
  • 2007—Charles Hartnett ‘51
  • 2006—Lawrence Hill ‘50
  • 2005—Ken Myers ‘52
  • 2004—Dick Thomas ‘54
  • 2003—Stephen Coulthart ‘53
  • 2002—Christopher Westbrook ‘73
  • 2001—Thomas Martin ‘76
  • 2000—Gail Simmons

All other recipients back to 1980 are posted each year in the Newsletter

Kermit E. Remele Award of Meritorious Service

The award is presented by the RSAA in honor of Kermit E Remele. Professor Remele, a 1943 graduate of the Ranger School, served on the Ranger School faculty for over 30 years. As an active member of the RSAA he served as editor of the Alumni News and held the office of Secretary for many years. One of his greatest strengths was his ability to mobilize an motivate people to work for the betterment of the Ranger School. The intent of this award is therefore to recognize groups of people who have combined efforts have gone beyond the norm to have a positive lasting influence on the Ranger School.

Past recipients:

  • 2019—The NYS Forest Rangers
  • 2017—Star Lake Fire Department
  • 2018—Wanakena Historical Association
  • 2017—Star Lake Fire Department
  • 2016—Clifton-Fine Hospital
  • 2013—Ranger School Centennial Committee
  • 2012—Administration of SUNY ESF
  • 2011—St. Regis Mohawk Tribe, Environment Division
  • 2009—Village of Wanakena residents
  • 2008—Class of 1968
  • 2005—Class of 1955
  • 2003—Surveying Friends Committee
  • 2000—Class of 1950

Other Awards

The following awards are presented each year at the beginning of the Spring semester by the RSAA President:

  • Van Witsen
  • Wesson
  • Eagle Award Matthew Moore ‘90

... and more.

RSAA Board of Directors

RSAA President
Christi Barber '10 | email

1st Vice-President
Chris Tcimpidis '93 | email

Executive Secretary
Bob Diehl '97 | email

Bruce Williams '76 | email

Properties Manager
Michael Bushey '94 | email

John Adams '82 | email
Lee Berry '68 | email
Rob Cole '04 | email
Dylan Haines '13 | email
Travis Hamilton '03 | email
Frank Morehouse '04 | email
Michael Rozeski '90 | email
Rob Snyder '97 | email
Chris Tcimpidis '93 |  email
Gregory Vaverchak '02 | email
Michael Webb '74 | email
Steven D. Whalen '71 | email
Edwin White '59 | email
Scott Wilkinson '02 | email
Ellen Wright '12 | email

Past President
Ariane Tanski '09 | email

ESF Interim President
David Amberg | email

Executive Director, ESF College Foundation
Brenda Greenfield | email

ESF Alumnni Director
Debbie Caviness | email

Ranger School Director
Michael Bridgen | email

RSAA Office Manager

Contact the RSAA

Office Manager

RSAA Items for Sale

  • Belt Buckles - $15
  • Lapel Pins - $5
  • Decals - $5
  • Cookbooks - coming soon
  • Mementos - coming soon
  • Blue Ox t-shirts - may be available through the team
  • Hockey hats - may be available through the team.

To purchase any of the above items, please forward a check to the Association for the amount of the item plus shipping charges.


Decals and patches will be mailed in a legal envelope, no extra shipping charge.

Hats, t-shirts, buckles, cookbooks and mementos will add $5 per item.

Items will be shipped as soon as possible after receipt of your request and payment.

facebook iconFind RSAA on Facebbok

twitter areaFind RSAA on Twitter