Donald J. Leopold | Environmental and Forest Biology | SUNY-ESF
e s f home link - e s f college of environmental science and forestry
e s f home link - e s f college of environmental science and forestry

Donald J. LeopoldDistinguished Teaching Professor

Donald Leopold

242 Illick Hall
1 Forestry Drive
Syracuse, NY 13210

315-470-6760
djleopold@esf.edu

Current Graduate Advisees

Current Graduate Advisees

Jacob ErleJacob Erle
jcerle@syr.edu

  • Degree Sought: MS
  • Graduate Advisor(s): Leopold
  • Area of Study: Conservation Biology
  • Undergraduate Institution: SUNY College of Environmental Science and Forestry (Environmental Biolog)

Graduate Research Topic
Assessing impacts of removing European buckthorn, Rhamnus cathartica, in neighborhood parks in the City of Syracuse


Edward FarleyEdward Farley
ebfarley@syr.edu

  • Degree Sought: MS
  • Graduate Advisor(s): Leopold
  • Area of Study: Fish & Wildlife Biology & Management
  • Undergraduate Institution: University of North Carolina Chapel Hl

Bio
I am a M.S student studying the effects of water level management on wildlife and vegetation. My background is in wetland mitigation and management. I am currently a mitigation specialist with Ducks Unlimited in Syracuse.

Graduate Research Topic
The effects of water level management on wildlife and vegetation in restored wetlands in the Montezuma Wetlands Complex


Kristen HaynesKristen Haynes
krhaynes@syr.edu

  • Degree Sought: PHD
  • Graduate Advisor(s): Leopold
  • Area of Study: Ecology
  • Undergraduate Institution: Cornell University

Personal Statement
My research applies genetic techniques to the question of species' vulnerability to climate change, focusing on two rare taxa endemic to the alpine zone of New York and New England: Nabalus boottii and Nabalus trifoliolatus var. nanus.

Graduate Research Topic
Conservation of the Northeast Alpine Zone in the face of rapid environmental change.


Toby LissToby Liss
trliss@syr.edu

  • Degree Sought: PHD
  • Graduate Advisor(s): Leopold
  • Area of Study: EFB Conservation Biology

Graduate Research Topic
Marginal plant species for use on green roofs and the effects of species composition on green roof functioning for stormwater reduction

Undergraduate Study
University of Pittsburgh (Ecology and Evolution, Linguistics)

Social Media
@mslissecologist on Instagram and Twitter


James MolloyJames Molloy
jmmolloy@syr.edu

  • Degree Sought: MS
  • Graduate Advisor(s): Leopold
  • Area of Study: Conservation Biology

Alex PetzkeAlex Petzke
apetzke@syr.edu

  • Degree Sought: PHD
  • Graduate Advisor(s): Leopold
  • Area of Study: EFB Conservation Biology

Justine WeberJustine Weber
juweber@syr.edu

  • Degree Sought: PHD
  • Graduate Advisor(s): Leopold
  • Area of Study: Ecology

Graduate Research Topic
Rare plant ecology and conservation: my dissertation focuses on the conservation of federally-listed Houghton's goldenrod (Oligoneuron houghtonii). I am also working with Dr. Sara Scanga (Utica College) to monitor population trends of globally rare Trollius laxus in upstate NY.

Twitter
@Justine_Weber