Skip to main contentSkip to main navigationSkip to footer content

New England Kiln Drying Association

2023 NEKDA Spring Meeting

New England Kiln Drying Association (NEKDA) Officers and Board of Director's have put together an excellent meeting program with important and informative topics and opportunities for kiln operators and managers, including an interesting tour of Wightman Lumber Specialty Woods.

The Oneonta Quality Inn in Oneonta is located off I-88, Exit 15 (about half way between Albany and Binghamton, NY). From Exit 15 go south on Lettis Highway a short distance to Route 23, turn left and head east on Route 23 about 1 ½ miles to the hotel at 5206 HWY 23.

The details of the meeting program is below or you can download the Meeting Program (PDF).


Please mail your Registration Form and check directly to Bill Smith, (by May 6). All tour participants are required to pre-register.


Download the Program PDF

Monday | May 8

Dry Kiln Basics Course

9:30 AM – 4:30 PM ET | Oneonta Quality Inn
One day seminar of Lumber Drying and Dry Kiln fundamentals, with introductory focus, led by Bill Smith and Bob Pope. Topics include – Wood Moisture Relations, Lumber Handling and Preparation, Schedule Development and Implementation, Drying Defect Prevention, Dry Kiln Equipment, Dry Kiln Control and Management.

Tuesday | May 9

Plant Tour

9:30 AM ET | Plant Tour (Preregistration required)

Wightman Lumber

Wightman Lumbar and Building Supply manufactures high quality hardwood and softwood lumber. On the tour we will see their sawmill, dry kilns, planning, mill and retail lumber operations.
Address: 146 Co Hwy 35A, Portlandville, NY 13834
Directions: From exit 17 off of I-88, take Rte.28 north ~ 5 miles. In Portlandville turn right (east) onto county Rte.35 and cross the bridge. Mill is ~ ¼ mile on right.
Tour participants should bring their own hardhats and safety glasses and wear appropriate footwear.

At the Quality Inn

Time Event Description Location
12:15 - 1:00 pm ET Registration and Lunch   Meeting Room
1:15 - 2:00 pm ET Kiln Drying for Retail Customers   Dave Wightman, Wightman Lumber, Portlandville, NY
2:00 - 5:00 pm ET Kiln Operator's Clinic Informal and practical instructions and discussion on the basics of kiln operations, maintenance, stacking, DH, conventional, and high- temperature drying, stain and discoloration, scheduling, changing species, wood-moisture fundamentals, kiln loading and baffling, moisture meters, restarting kilns, drying degrade, and more. Bring your individual problems, questions, and solutions!
Please note any interests for discussion at the clinic on your registration form.
Led by Bill Smith, others
3:15 - 3:30 pm ET Refreshment Break    
5:00 - 6:00 pm ET Stress Relief    
6:00 - 7:00 pm ET Banquet Dinner    


 Wednesday | May 10

At the Quality Inn

Time Event Description Location
7:00 - 7:45 am ET Board of Directors Meeting    
7:45 - 8:10 am ET Registration and Coffee    
8:10 - 8:15 am ET Welcome and Introductions    
8:15 - 9:00 am ET Protect your Lumber   Mark Metzger, U*C Coatings, Buffalo, NY
9:00 - 9:45 am ET Boiler and Feed Water System Maintenance   Matt Colburn, Messersmith Manufacturing, Mark River, MI
9:45 -10:30 am ET Steam Technology and Utilization - Fundamentals   Jim Davis, F.W. Webb Co., Cazenovia, NY
10:30 - 10:45 am ET COFFEE BREAK     
10:45 - 11:30 am ET Steam Technology and Utilization - Applications   Jim Davis, F.W. Webb Co., Cazenovia, NY
11:30 am - 12:15 pm ET Safety Issues with Kiln Drying and Lumber Handling   Peter Sformo, W.J. Cox Assoc., Clarence, NY
12:15 - 1:00 pm ET LUNCHEON BUFFET