e s f home link - e s f college of environmental science and forestry
e s f home link - e s f college of environmental science and forestry

PeopleFaculty and Staff

Faculty and Staff Contact
Anagnost, Susan, Director NC Brown Center for Ultrastructure Studies, Professor
MS, SUNY College of Environmental Science and Forestry, 1982; PhD, SUNY College of Environmental Science and Forestry, 1990; wood anatomy, wood decay, microscopy
211 Baker Lab
seanagno@esf.edu
315-470-6837
Appleby, Raymond
Director, Pilot Operations
114 Walters Hall
rappleby@esf.edu
315-470-6527 | 315-470-6501
Bujanovic, Biljana, Associate Professor and Associate Chair
MS, University of Belgrade, 1994; PhD, University of Belgrade, 2000; PhD, Western Michigan University, 2003; chemistry of lignocellulosics and products, lignin structure and reactivity, pulping, bleaching
419 Walters Hall
bbujanovic@esf.edu
315-470-6907 | 315-470-6501
Burry, William, Lecturer
MA, SUNY College At Cortland, 1999;
307 Walters Hall
wmburry@esf.edu
315-470-4779
Chatterjee, Siddharth, Associate Professor
MS, Rensselaer Polytechnic Institute, 1985; PhD, Rensselaer Polytechnic Institute, 1987; transport phenomena, design, simulation, pollution abatement
406 Walters Hall
schatterjee@esf.edu
315-470-6517 | 315-470-6501
Dölle, Klaus, Associate Professor
PhD, University Of Wisconsin-Madison, 2002; pulp & paper and related environmental topics, design, constructed wetlands,subsurface bioreactors, fossil energy, bioenergy, hydropower, water and waste water treatment, paper recycling, paper development, filler materials, energy savings, renewable energy & processes, engineering, machine & process design.
421 Walters Hall
kdoelle@esf.edu
315-470-6531 | 315-470-6501
Francis, Raymond, Research Associate
PhD, University of Toronto, 1987; bioenergy, chemical engineering, pulping
311 Walters Hall
francis@esf.edu
315-470-6525 | 315-470-6501
Hohm, Sean, Instructional Support Technician
MS, SUNY College of Environmental Science and Forestry, 2016;
416 Walters Hall
smhohm@esf.edu
315-470-6587
Hussein, Rafaat M., Associate Professor
ME, Concordia University, 1978; PhD, Concordia University, 1980; Environmental sustainability and protection; climate change; hazardous wastes management and transport; water resources; sustainable agriculture and infrastructure systems; risk and vulnerability assessment, analysis and management; expert & knowledge-based systems; occupational and environmental management, safety and auditing; bio-based materials and products; applied sustainable construction.
216 Baker Lab
rmhussei@esf.edu
315-470-6833
Kumar, Deepak, Assistant Professor
PhD, Oregon State University, 2014;
402 Walters Hall
dkumar02@esf.edu
315-470-6503 | 315-470-6501
Lai, Yuan-Zong, Professor Emeritus
MS, University of Washington, 1966; MS, University of Washington, 1967; PhD, University of Washington, 1968; chemistry of wood, pulping, bleaching, bioproduct development
428 Walters Hall
yzlai@esf.edu
315-470-6514
Lavrykov, Sergiy, Lecturer
MS, L'Viv University, 1979;
412 Walters Hall
lavrykov@esf.edu
315-470-6836 | 315-470-6501
Liu, Shijie, Professor
PhD, University of Alberta, 1992; bioengineering, fermentation, kinetics, separation, pulping, bleaching, fiber properties, sustainability, biofuel, renewable chemicals, biomaterials
302 Walters Hall
sliu@esf.edu
315-470-6885 | 315-470-6501
Meyer, Robert, Professor
MF, University of Washington, 1964; PhD, SUNY College of Environmental Science and Forestry, 1967;
222 Baker Lab
rwmeyer@esf.edu
315-470-6838 | 315-470-6501
Mickinkle, Lynn
Secretary 1
205 Walters Hall
lcmickin@esf.edu
315-470-6501
Ramarao, Bandaru, Interim Chair and Professor and Director, Empire State Paper Research Institute
MS, Clarkson University, 1982; PhD, Clarkson University, 1985; chemical engineering, separation processes, adsorption, chromatography, filtration, membrane, depth filtration, columns, cellulosic materials, lignocellulosics separations, hydrolysis, papermaking, paper physics.
205 Walters Hall
bvramara@esf.edu
315-470-6513 | 315-470-6502
Scott, Gary, Professor
Director, Division of Engineering
MS, University of Wisconsin, 1991; PhD, University of Wisconsin, 1993; biotechnology, bioprocess engineering, paper machine operations, recycling, modeling
321 Walters Hall
gmscott@esf.edu
315-470-6501
Smith, Leonard, Associate Professor Emeritus
MS, Case Western Reserve University, 1963; PhD, SUNY College of Environmental Science and Forestry, 1972; adhesives, coatings, wood-based composites
217 Baker Lab
lasmith@esf.edu
315-470-6880 | 315-470-6878
Smith, William, Professor and Director, Wood Utilization Service
MS, SUNY College of Environmental Science and Forestry, 1978; PhD, SUNY College of Environmental Science and Forestry, 1983; wood drying and moisture relations, wood preservation and protection, manufacturing and processing, wood properties and utilization, marketing
218 Baker Lab
wbsmith@esf.edu
315-470-6832
Watson-Collins, Elizabeth
Instructional Support Technician
102 Walters Hall
ekwatson@esf.edu
315-470-6532
Westby, George
Instructional Support Technician
416 Walters Hall
grwestby@esf.edu
315-470-4952
Yoo, Chang Geun, Assistant Professor
PhD, Iowa State University, 2012; BS & MS, Hanyang University, 2006/2008; biological/thermochemical conversion of biomass to fuels and chemicals, bio-based material application, elucidation of biomass and bio-product properties, development of lignocellulosic biorefinery
409 Walters Hall
cyoo05@esf.edu
315-470-6516