e s f home link - e s f college of environmental science and forestry
e s f home link - e s f college of environmental science and forestry

Faculty & Staff

Environmental Studies Program Faculty

With core strengths across the social sciences and in the humanities, Departmental faculty members support graduate and undergraduate programs in Environmental Studies, and ESF's Writing Program. We participate in a variety of college-wide programs, including the Graduate Program in Environmental Science, the Environmental and Natural Resource Policy doctoral program, the Minor in Urban Environmental Science, the Minor in Environmental Writing and Rhetoric, ESF's First Year Student Experience, and the ESF in the High School program.

Faculty and Staff Office Contact
Abdel-Aziz, Nasri, Director, Math Program and Instructor
MS, Syracuse University, 2001;
205 Marshall Hallnabdel@esf.edu
315-470-6972
Belant, Mary-Kay, Visiting Instructor
MFA, Northern Michigan University, 2008;
5B Marshall Hallmwbelant@esf.edu
315-470-6914
Collins, Mary, Assistant Professor
MA, University Of Central Florida, 2008; PhD, University Of California-Santa Barbara, 2012; socio-environmental systems; environmental health inequality; environmental justice; environmental sociology; environmental risk perception; computational quantitative methods; Bayesian modeling; disproportionality; industrial pollution policy and health
113 Marshall Hallmbcollin@esf.edu
315-470-6538 | 315-470-6636
Cousins, Joshua, Assistant Professor
PhD, University Of Michigan-Ann Arbor, 2016; environmental policy and governance, social and political dimensions of water, political ecology, political economy of water, green infrastructure, science and technology studies, political ecology, urban sustainability
219 Marshall Halljcousins@esf.edu
315-470-6576 | 315-470-6636
Dorholt, Tyler, Visiting Assistant Professor
MFA, Columbia College Chicago, 2009;
tfdorhol@esf.edu
Hart, Rebecca
Secretary 1
106 Marshall Hallrhart01@esf.edu
315-470-6636
Hirsch, Paul, Associate Professor
MS, University Of Georgia, 2003; PhD, Georgia Institute Of Technology-Main , 2008; integrative thinking and problem-solving, water planning, biodiversity conservation, science-policy interface, environmental thought and ethics, policy analysis, public participation and decision-making, environmental valuation, complexity, participant-observation and survey methods, discourse analysis, environmental policy, climate governance, policy science divide
114 Marshall Hallpahirsch@esf.edu
315-470-6669
Jakhaia, Nino, Visiting Assistant Professor
PhD, University Of Mississippi, 2018;
njakhaia@esf.edu
Kristiansen, Silje, Assistant Professor
PhD, University of Zurich, 2015; environmental, risk, science and technology communication; food systems in the media; climate change discourse; public perception and media coverage of gene editing; public perception and media coverage of nuclear energy; energy discourse; public perception of risks and science; public opinion; quantitative methods; qualitative methods; media content analysis; survey; in-depth interviews; Europe; US.
112 Marshall Hallkristiansen@esf.edu
315-470-3022 | 315-470-6636
Limpert, Christina, Assistant Professor and Director, Writing, Rhetoric and Communications Program
MS, Syracuse University, 1995; PhD, Syracuse University, 2013; Eco cinema and media studies Nature, culture, and politics Critical, feminist, gender theories Qualitative research, ethnography, participatory research Environmental education Enviro dimensions of war and militarization Public perceptions of environmental threats and ecosystem health Industrial hemp in New York State
208A Marshall Hallcmlimper@esf.edu
315-470-6722 | 315-470-6636
Luzadis, Valerie, Professor
MS, Cornell University, 1990; PhD, SUNY College of Environmental Science and Forestry, 1997; ecological economics, ecosystem services, policy, social and recreational dimensions, forest management for renewable energy, watershed management, natural resources policy and values, sustainable development, renewable energy, participatory decision-making
214 Marshall Hallvluzadis@esf.edu
315-470-6980 | 315-470-6636
Moran, Sharon, Associate Professor
MS, Massachusetts Institute Of Technology, 1989; PhD, Clark University, 2000; environmental policy, human dimensions of water/wastewater issues, political ecology, environment-society relations, green and innovative technologies, environmental issues in post-communist countries, qualitative research methods, gender and nature, sustainability indicators, emergent technologies, environmental justice, ethical frameworks in public policy
220 Marshall Hallsmoran@esf.edu
315-470-6690
Feldpausch-Parker, Andrea M., Associate Professor
MS, Texas A&M University, 2006; PhD, Texas A&M University, 2010; environmental communication; science and technology communication; wildlife conservation and policy; climate change mitigation and adaptation discourse and decision-making; environmental advocacy; environmental and natural resources conflict management; qualitative and critical methods; program evaluation methods; conflict; public participation; energy;wildlife management
108A Marshall Hallamparker@esf.edu
315-470-6573 | 315-470-6636
Selfa, Theresa, Professor and Associate Chair
PhD, Cornell University, 2001; Environmental Governance; Politics of Agri-Food and Energy Systems; Livelihood Impacts of Land Use Change; International Development and Social Change; Environmental Certification and Labelling; Latin America and US
211C Marshall Halltselfa@esf.edu
315-470-6570 | 315-470-6636
Sonnenfeld, David, Professor
MA, University Of California-Santa Cruz, 1991; PhD, University Of California-Santa Cruz, 1996; sociology of environment and natural resources; comparative environmental politics; development and sustainability; social studies of science and technology; East and Southeast Asia; field, historical and mixed research methods
211B Marshall Halldsonn@esf.edu
315-470-4931 | 315-470-6636
Teron, Lemir, Assistant Professor
PhD, University Of Delaware, 2015; My thinking deliberates on problems related to inequality, conflict and empowerment. The implications are often times, though not exclusively, environmental. My intellectual playgrounds include urban spaces, coastal communities and sites of resilience.
211A Marshall Halllteron@esf.edu
315-470-6636
Thompson, Mary
Instructor
207 Marshall Hallmathomps@esf.edu
315-470-6502
Vidon, Elizabeth, Assistant Professor
MA, York University, 2003; PhD, Indiana University-Bloomington, 2015; Nature-based Tourism; Wilderness and Nature; Parks; Environmental Perception; Environmental thought and ontologies; Tourism Geographies; Authenticity and Alienation; Psychoanalytic and Social theory; Political Ecology; Epistemology/Nature of Knowledge(s); Landscape Studies; Indigenous Studies
108B Marshall Hallesvidon@esf.edu
315-470-6908 | 315-470-6636
Weiss, Jill, Assistant Professor
PhD, Antioch New England Graduate School, 2016; Socio-ecological systems, co-adaptive management, collaboration and trust, knowledge transfer, communities of practice and social networks, communication theories, landscape ecology, recreation governance and ethics, environmental education, conservation behaviors and psychologies, organizational management, strategic planning, and assessment. Subjects: stewardship, large contiguous bioregions, alpine zone, trail systems, public open space, bikes, urban forestry. Methods: Surveys, interviews, mixed method approaches, case studies, grounded theory, participatory action research.
208B Marshall Halljiweiss@esf.edu
315-470-6781 | 315-470-6636
Whitmore, Benette, Chair
MA, Syracuse University, 1980; PhD, Syracuse University, 2011;
106A Marshall Hallbwhitmor@esf.edu
315-470-6695 | 315-470-6636

Writing, Rhetoric and Communications Program

Faculty and Staff Office Contact
Belant, Mary-Kay, Visiting Instructor
MFA, Northern Michigan University, 2008
5B Marshall Hallmwbelant@esf.edu
315-470-6914
Courtwright, Carol, Visiting Instructor
MS, Syracuse University, 1973
105 Moon Librarycacourtw@esf.edu
315-470-6636
DeBaise, Janine, Instructor
MA, Syracuse University, 1985
105C Moon Libraryjdebaise@esf.edu
315-470-4776
Dodson, Khristopher
Visiting Instructor
105 Moon Librarykadodson@esf.edu
315-470-6636
Fitzsimmons, Maureen, Visiting Instructor
MS, Syracuse University, 1990
105B Moon Librarymrfitzsi@esf.edu
315-470-6636
Hogan, Elizabeth, Visiting Instructor
MFA, The University Of Alabama, 2004
105B Moon Libraryeshogan@esf.edu
315-470-6636
Jakhaia, Nino, Visiting Assistant Professor
PhD, University Of Mississippi, 2018
njakhaia@esf.edu
Lawler, Patrick
Professor Emeritus
B4 Marshall Hallpjlawler@esf.edu
430-7451
Limpert, Christina, Assistant Professor and Director, Writing, Rhetoric and Communications Program
MS, Syracuse University, 1995; PhD, Syracuse University, 2013
208A Marshall Hallcmlimper@esf.edu
315-470-6722 | 315-470-6636
McGrath, Thomas, Instructor; Educator, Research Found; PSL Coordinator
MA, Syracuse University, 2011
105A Moon Librarytemcgrat@esf.edu
315-470-6725
Patzke, Karin, Visiting Assistant Professor
PhD, Rensselaer Polytechnic Institute, 2017
klpatzke@syr.edu
Stavenhagen, Werner, Instructor
MA, La Sierra University, 1997; PhD, Syracuse University, 2015
105A Moon Librarywkstaven@esf.edu
315-470-6636
Wagner, Donald
Visiting Instructor
105 Moon Librarydkwagner@esf.edu
315-470-6636
Woltman, Susan
Visiting Instructor
105 Moon Librarysbwoltma@esf.edu
315-470-6636

Adjunct Faculty

Adjunct faculty members engage in research, participate in graduate committees, teach, supervise student internships, and more.

  • Scott Blair (Director of Student Diversity and Inclusion Initiatives), SUNY ESF, Academic Support Services, Syracuse, NY
  • Betty Faust (Human Ecology, Ethnoecology), CINVESTAV Mexico
  • Rhea Jezer (Energy, Environmental Policy), Environmental Consultant
  • Dianne Quigley (Research Ethics), Northeast Ethics Education Partnership (NEEP), Brown University, RI
  • Todd Moss (Sustainable Entrepreneurship) Whitman School of Management, Syracuse University, Syracuse, NY
  • Samuel H. Sage (Green Jobs, Economic Development), Atlantic States Legal Foundation
  • Lisa Warnecke GEOManagement Associates Inc., Syracuse, NY

Visiting Faculty

Professor Emeritus

  • John Felleman
    Environmental information policy; visualizing environmental processes; environmental decision making.
  • Myrna Hall
    • Integrating simulation modeling and GIS for studying the interaction of humans and their environment
    • Natural resources management
    • Issues of sustainable development
    • Graphic information visualization
    • Foreign language communication
  • Patrick Lawler
    Environmental Studies; Graduate Program in Environmental Science
  • Richard Smardon
  • Susan Senecah