Skip to main contentSkip to footer content


Board of Trustees

Each college or university in the SUNY system has its own Governing Council or Board of Trustees, subject to the control, management, or approval of the SUNY Board of Trustees.

ESF is the only institution of the 29 SUNY state-operated campuses with a governing Board of Trustees (“the Board”) instead of a Governing Council. The Board’s authority is set by statutes that grant the Board more extensive authority and responsibility than any other SUNY institution.

The composition of the Board is pursuant to the New York State Education Law §6003 and consists of 15 members. These members include the New York State Lieutenant Governor, State Commissioner of Education, SUNY Chancellor, State Commissioner of the Department of Environmental Conservation, and Chancellor or Syracuse University, all of whom are Ex Officio members. Of the remaining members, nine of the Board are appointed by the Governor of the State of New York, by and with the advice and consent of the Sate Senate, and one member is elected by the students of ESF.

All members of the Board serve without compensation. 



Appointed by the New York State Governor

  • Chair: William Fisher, Camillus
  • Vice Chair: John Bartow, Ballston Spa
  • Linda Brown-Robinson, Syracuse
  • Vita DeMarchi, Manlius
  • Steven (Rick) Fedrizzi, Syracuse
  • Daniel T. Fitts, Lake Placid
  • Stephen Sloan, Rochester
  • Oluwole (OJ) McFoy, Buffalo
  • Vacancy

Student Trustees

  • Silas Brennan Cochran, Syracuse (Undergrad)

Ex-officio Trustees

  • Dr. John B. King, Jr., Chancellor, State University of New York, Albany
  • Kent Syverud, Chancellor, Syracuse University, Syracuse
  • Antonio Delgado, Lieutenant Governor, State of New York, Albany
  • Dr. Betty A. Rosa, Commissioner, Department of Education & President of the University of the State of New York, Albany
  • Basil Seggos, Commissioner, Department of Environmental Conservation, Albany
    • Represented by Adriana Espinoza, Deputy Commissioner for Equity and Justice, Department of Environmental Conservation, Brooklyn 

Secretary to the Board

  • Ragan Squier, Executive Director for Administration, SUNY ESF, Syracuse


2024 Full Board Meetings


Meeting Livestream

View Livestream on ESFTV



Board Committee Meetings

01/26/23 — Official notice  |  Agenda  |  02/09/22 Minutes  |  Video  |  01/26/23 Minutes

Diversity, Equity, Inclusion, and Accessibility

Sustainable Finance
02/22/23 — Official notice  |  Agenda  |  05/02/22 Minutes  |  Proposed Minutes Resolution
04/13/23 — Official notice  |  Agenda  |  02/22/23 Minutes
06/20/23 (Postponed) — Official notice  |  Agenda  |  04/13/23 Minutes
10/23/23 — Official notice  |  Agenda  |  04/13/23 Minutes
11/29/23 — Official notice  |  Agenda | 10/23/23 Minutes | 11/29/2023 Minutes

05/09/23 — Official notice  |  Agenda


Archives >


Resources >


Submitting Information and Agenda Items for Consideration by the SUNY ESF Board of Trustees

Policy for Submitting Information and Agenda Items for Consideration >
Form for Submitting Information and Agenda Items for Consideration  >