e s f home link - e s f college of environmental science and forestry
e s f home link - e s f college of environmental science and forestry

Faculty

The Forest and Natural Resources Management program is one of the largest programs of its type in the United States, with over 30 full-time faculty supported by several adjunct professors and visiting instructors. Faculty interests range from watershed management to policy analysis, from geographic information systems to silviculture, from forest ecology to recreation management.

Faculty and Staff Office Contact
Beier, Colin, Associate Professor
MS, Virginia Tech, 2002; PhD, University Of Alaska Fairbanks, 2007; forest ecosystem and landscape ecology, social-ecological systems, climate change, ecosystem services, landscape change modeling, resilience, adaptive management, resource governance, applied geoinformatics
311 Bray Hallcbeier@esf.edu
315-470-6578
Bevilacqua, Eddie, Professor and Undergraduate Coordinator
MS, University of Toronto, 1987; PhD, University of Toronto, 1998; sampling/inventory, biometrics, forest mensuration, growth and yield modeling, applied statistics, GIS/spatial analysis, forest ecology, landscape ecology, ecological modeling, tree-ring science, quantitative silviculture
301 Bray Hallebevilacqua@esf.edu
315-470-6697
Bridgen, Michael, Director, Ranger School and Professor
PhD, Michigan State University, 1979; dendrology, aerial photogrammetry, silviculture, and restoration forestry
Wanakena Campusbridgen@esf.edu
848-2566
Briggs, Russell, Director, Div of Env Science, Distinguished Teaching Prof
MS, SUNY College of Environmental Science and Forestry, 1982; PhD, SUNY College of Environmental Science and Forestry, 1985; forest ecology, watershed ecology, soils, ecosystem services, watershed management, forest soils, silviculture
202 Baker Labrdbriggs@esf.edu
315-470-6989
Brown, Tristan, Assistant Professor
PhD, Iowa State University, 2014; sustainable energy law & policy; energy systems analysis; techno-economic analysis; and climate policy
302 Bray Halltrbro100@esf.edu
315-565-3003
Conahan, Karen, Instructor
MS, Syracuse University, 2002;
206 Marshall Hallkconahan@esf.edu
315-470-4851 | 315-470-6536
Crovella, Paul, Assistant Professor
ME, Cornell University, 1990; PhD, SUNY College of Environmental Science and Forestry, 2017;
219 Baker Labplcrovella@esf.edu
315-470-6839
Drake, John, Assistant Professor
PhD, University Of Illinois At Urbana-Champaign, 2010; Tree physiology, forest ecology, global climate change, ecosystem nutrient and C cycling, soils gas fluxes, tree water use
310B Bray Halljedrake@esf.edu
315-470-6574
Engelman, Heather, Instructional Support Technician
MS, SUNY College of Environmental Science and Forestry, 1995; Instructional Equipment Loans, Computing Support (FNRM), Women in Scientific and Environmental (WiSE) Professions Speaker Series, ESF's Take our Kids to Work Day Program
415 Bray Hallengelman@esf.edu
315-470-4752 | 315-470-6536
Germain, René, Professor
MS, Boston University, 1988; PhD, SUNY College of Environmental Science and Forestry, 1997; forest health, policy, silviculture, forest management and operations, forest management for renewable energy, watershed management, sustainable forestry systems
316 Bray Hallrhgermai@esf.edu
315-470-6698
Herrington, Lee, Distinguished Teaching Professor Emeritus
MS, Yale University, 1960; PhD, Yale University, 1964; resource information management, GIS, urban Forestry, micrometeorology
414 Bray Halllpherrin@esf.edu
315-470-6674
Johnston, Mariann, Associate Professor
MS, University Of Idaho, 1993; PhD, University Of Idaho, 2003; forest ecology, soils, biogeochemistry, forest health, silviculture
Wanakena Campusmjohnston@esf.edu
848-2566
Kiernan, Diane, Instructor
MS, SUNY College of Environmental Science and Forestry, 2003; PhD, SUNY College of Environmental Science and Forestry, 2007;
308 Bray Halldhkiernan@esf.edu
315-470-6577 | 315-470-6536
Kuehn, Diane, Associate Professor and Graduate Program Coordinator
MS, SUNY College of Environmental Science and Forestry, 1989; PhD, SUNY College of Environmental Science and Forestry, 2002; social and recreational dimensions, ecotourism and nature tourism, recreation management and research
310A Bray Halldmkuehn@esf.edu
315-470-6561
Kyanka, George, Visiting Professor
MS, Syracuse University, 1966; PhD, Syracuse University, 1976; construction, applied mechanics, engineering design
220 Bray Hallghkyanka@esf.edu
315-470-6835
Malmsheimer, Robert, Professor and Associate Chair
JD, Union University, 1989; PhD, SUNY College of Environmental Science and Forestry, 1999; How laws and the legal system affect natural resources management, including how carbon accounting policies affect forest and natural resources.
305 Bray Hallrwmalmsh@esf.edu
315-470-6909
Naim, Nehan, Assistant Professor
PhD, Northeastern University, 2018; Energy Economics and Finance, Regulations, Industrial Organization, Internet of Things, Disruptive Innovation and Entrepreneurship
307 Bray Hallnenaim@esf.edu
315-470-4788 | 315-470-6536
Newman, David, Professor
MS, Duke University, 1985; PhD, Duke University, 1986; Forest resource economics and policy, resource and environmental economics, tax policy
319 Bray Halldnewman@esf.edu
315-470-6534
Nowak, Christopher, Professor and Chair
MS, SUNY College of Environmental Science and Forestry, 1986; PhD, SUNY College of Environmental Science and Forestry, 1992; Vegetation Management, Silviculture and Forest Ecology, Production Ecology and Plant Ecophysiology, Invasive Exotic Plant Control, Biogeography and Cultural Landscapes, Sustainable Management and Certification Systems
317 Bray Hallcanowak@esf.edu
315-470-6575
Nyland, Ralph, Distinguished Service Professor
MS, SUNY College of Environmental Science and Forestry, 1959; PhD, Michigan State University, 1966; forest ecology, forest health, restoration ecology, silviculture, forest management and operations, quantitative silviculture, forest practice
Bray Hallrnyland@esf.edu
Rojas, Vanessa, Assistant Professor
wildlife techniques, wildlife management, GIS
257 R vgrojas@esf.edu
848-2566
Savage, James, Professor
MS, SUNY College of Environmental Science and Forestry, 1990; recreation and resource measurements
Wanakena Campusjmsavage@esf.edu
848-2566
Schirmer, Charles
Instructional Support Specialist
339 Illick Hallcschirmer@esf.edu
315-470-6773
Stehman, Stephen, Distinguished Teaching Professor
MS, Oregon State University, 1981; PhD, Cornell University, 1989; environmental sampling, map accuracy assessment, land-cover monitoring; applied statistics
322 Bray Hallsvstehma@esf.edu
315-470-6692
Stella, John, Associate Professor
MS, University Of California-Berkeley, 1998; PhD, University Of California-Berkeley, 2005; riparian and stream ecology, restoration ecology, watershed management, ecological modeling, tree-ring science, river restoration, arid-land and Mediterranean ecosystems
344 Illick Hallstella@esf.edu
315-470-6536 | 315-470-4902
Vaverchak, Gregory, Assistant Professor
arboriculture, forest management
Wanakena Campusgmvaverc@esf.edu
848-2566
Vidon, Philippe, Professor
MS, National Institute of Agronomy of Paris-Grignon, 1997; PhD, York University, 2004; Geography/Environmental Science, Surface and Subsurface Hydrology, Water Quality, Riparian Zone/Watershed Biogeochemistry and Hydrology, Agriculture, Best Management Practices, Nitrogen, Phosphorus, Mercury, Carbon Cycling, Greenhouse Gases (N2O, CO2, CH4).
309 Bray Hallpgvidon@esf.edu
315-470-4765 | 315-470-6536
Volk, Timothy, Senior Research Associate and Associate Chair
MS, Cornell University, 1990; PhD, SUNY College of Environmental Science and Forestry, 2002; silviculture, forest management for renewable energy, biomass and bioenergy, energy, agroforestry, phytoremediation, management and sustainability of short rotation woody crops, life cycle analysis, ecophysiology, international forestry
346 Illick Halltavolk@esf.edu
315-470-6774
Vonhof, Sarah, Instructor
MS, SUNY College of Environmental Science and Forestry, 1996; PhD, SUNY College of Environmental Science and Forestry, 2001; forest and natural resources policy, environmental history
303A Bray Hallslvonhof@esf.edu
315-470-6594
Wagner, John, Professor and Associate Chair
MS, University Of Idaho, 1984; PhD, Colorado State University, 1990; forest resource and environmental economics, ecosystem services, policy, quantitative silviculture, forest management and operations, operations research, simulation
304 Bray Halljewagner@esf.edu
315-470-6971
Webb, Michael, Instructor
surveying
Wanakena Campusmhwebb@esf.edu
848-2566
Yanai, Ruth, Professor
MS, Yale University, 1985; PhD, Yale University, 1990; forest ecology, watershed ecology, soils, biogeochemistry, forest health, ecological modeling, watershed management, ecosystem nutrient cycling, uncertainty
210 Marshall Hallrdyanai@esf.edu
315-470-6955 | 315-470-4868
Zhang, Lianjun, Professor
MS, University Of Idaho, 1987; PhD, University Of Idaho, 1990; MS, University Of Idaho, 1991; forest biometrics, growth and yield modeling, spatial statistics and modeling, quantitative silviculture
323 Bray Halllizhang@esf.edu
315-470-6558