e s f home link - e s f college of environmental science and forestry
e s f home link - e s f college of environmental science and forestry

Faculty

The Forest and Natural Resources Management program is one of the largest programs of its type in the United States, with over 30 full-time faculty supported by several adjunct professors and visiting instructors. Faculty interests range from watershed management to policy analysis, from geographic information systems to silviculture, from forest ecology to recreation management.

Faculty and Staff Contact
Beier, Colin, Associate Professor
MS, Virginia Tech, 2002; PhD, University Of Alaska Fairbanks, 2007; forest ecosystem and landscape ecology, social-ecological systems, climate change, ecosystem services, landscape change modeling, resilience, adaptive management, resource governance, applied geoinformatics
311 Bray Hall
cbeier@esf.edu
315-470-6578
Bevilacqua, Eddie, Professor and Undergraduate Coordinator
MS, University of Toronto, 1987; PhD, University of Toronto, 1998; sampling/inventory, biometrics, forest mensuration, growth and yield modeling, applied statistics, GIS/spatial analysis, forest ecology, landscape ecology, ecological modeling, tree-ring science, quantitative silviculture
301 Bray Hall
ebevilacqua@esf.edu
315-470-6697
Bridgen, Michael, Director, Ranger School and Professor
PhD, Michigan State University, 1979; dendrology, aerial photogrammetry, silviculture, and restoration forestry
Wanakena Campus
bridgen@esf.edu
848-2566
Briggs, Russell, Director, Div of Env Science, Distinguished Teaching Prof
MS, SUNY College of Environmental Science and Forestry, 1982; PhD, SUNY College of Environmental Science and Forestry, 1985; forest ecology, watershed ecology, soils, ecosystem services, watershed management, forest soils, silviculture
202 Baker Lab
rdbriggs@esf.edu
315-470-6989
Brown, Tristan, Associate Professor
PhD, Iowa State University, 2014; sustainable energy law & policy; energy systems analysis; techno-economic analysis; and climate policy
302 Bray Hall
trbro100@esf.edu
315-565-3003
Burton, Julia, Assistant Professor
MS, University Of Minnesota-Twin Cities, 2004; PhD, University Of Wisconsin-Madison, 2011; Forestry, Silviculture, Forest Ecology, Ecosystem Management, Plant Community Ecology, Disturbance Ecology, Landscape Ecology, Climate Change, Forest Health
317 Bray Hall
jiburton@esf.edu
315-470-6568 | 315-470-6536
Crovella, Paul, Assistant Professor
ME, Cornell University, 1990; PhD, SUNY College of Environmental Science and Forestry, 2017;
219 Baker Lab
plcrovella@esf.edu
315-470-6839
Drake, John, Assistant Professor
PhD, University Of Illinois At Urbana-Champaign, 2010; Tree physiology, forest ecology, global climate change, ecosystem nutrient and C cycling, soils gas fluxes, tree water use
310B Bray Hall
jedrake@esf.edu
315-470-6574
Engelman, Heather, Instructional Support Technician
MS, SUNY College of Environmental Science and Forestry, 1995; Instructional Equipment Loans, Computing Support (FNRM), Women in Scientific and Environmental (WiSE) Professions Speaker Series, ESF's Take our Kids to Work Day Program
415 Bray Hall
engelman@esf.edu
315-470-4752 | 315-470-6536
Germain, René, Professor
MS, Boston University, 1988; PhD, SUNY College of Environmental Science and Forestry, 1997; forest health, policy, silviculture, forest management and operations, forest management for renewable energy, watershed management, sustainable forestry systems
316 Bray Hall
rhgermai@esf.edu
315-470-6698
Johnston, Mariann, Associate Professor
MS, University Of Idaho, 1993; PhD, University Of Idaho, 2003; forest ecology, soils, biogeochemistry, forest health, silviculture
Wanakena Campus
mjohnston@esf.edu
848-2566
Kiernan, Diane, Instructor
MS, SUNY College of Environmental Science and Forestry, 2003; PhD, SUNY College of Environmental Science and Forestry, 2007; growth and yield modeling, statistical analysis
308 Bray Hall
dhkiernan@esf.edu
315-470-6577 | 315-470-6536
Kuehn, Diane, Associate Professor and Graduate Program Coordinator
MS, SUNY College of Environmental Science and Forestry, 1989; PhD, SUNY College of Environmental Science and Forestry, 2002; social and recreational dimensions, ecotourism and nature tourism, recreation management and research
310A Bray Hall
dmkuehn@esf.edu
315-470-6561
Malmsheimer, Robert, Professor and Associate Chair
JD, Union University, 1989; PhD, SUNY College of Environmental Science and Forestry, 1999; How laws and the legal system affect natural resources management, including how carbon accounting policies affect forest and natural resources.
305 Bray Hall
rwmalmsh@esf.edu
315-470-6909
Melnyczuk, Stephanie
Administrative Assistant 1
320 Bray Hall
smelnycz@esf.edu
315-470-6536
Naim, Nehan, Assistant Professor
PhD, Northeastern University, 2018; Energy Economics and Finance, Regulations, Industrial Organization, Internet of Things, Disruptive Innovation and Entrepreneurship
Bray Hall
nenaim@esf.edu
315-470-6536
Newman, David, Interim Provost and Vice President for Academic Affairs
MS, Duke University, 1985; PhD, Duke University, 1986; Forest resource economics and policy, resource and environmental economics, tax policy
206 Bray Hall
dnewman@esf.edu
315-470-6534
Nowak, Christopher, Professor and Chair
MS, SUNY College of Environmental Science and Forestry, 1986; PhD, SUNY College of Environmental Science and Forestry, 1992; vegetation management, silviculture and forest ecology, production ecology and plant ecophysiology, invasive exotic plant control, biogeography and cultural landscapes, sustainable management and certification systems
317 Bray Hall
canowak@esf.edu
315-470-6575
Razkenari, Mohamad, Assistant Professor
MS, Sharif University of Technology, 2014; MS, University Of Florida, 2019; PhD, University Of Florida, 2019; sustainable construction management; industrialized construction; automation and robotics; smart buildings and communities
220 Baker Lab
marazken@esf.edu
315-470-6835 | 315-470-6536
Rojas, Vanessa, Assistant Professor
wildlife conservation and surveying techniques; geographic information systems; bat ecology; occupancy modeling
Wanakena Campus
vgrojas@esf.edu
848-2566
Savage, James, Professor
MS, SUNY College of Environmental Science and Forestry, 1990; recreation and resource measurements
Wanakena Campus
jmsavage@esf.edu
848-2566
Schirmer, Charles, Instructional Support Specialist
plant, soil and water analysis
339 Illick Hall
cschirmer@esf.edu
315-470-6773
Stehman, Stephen, Distinguished Teaching Professor
MS, Oregon State University, 1981; PhD, Cornell University, 1989; environmental sampling, map accuracy assessment, land-cover monitoring; applied statistics
322 Bray Hall
svstehma@esf.edu
315-470-6692
Stella, John, Professor -
MS, University Of California-Berkeley, 1998; PhD, University Of California-Berkeley, 2005; riparian and stream ecology, restoration ecology, watershed management, ecological modeling, tree-ring science, river restoration, arid-land and Mediterranean ecosystems
344 Illick Hall
stella@esf.edu
315-470-6536 | 315-470-4902
Vaverchak, Gregory, Assistant Professor
arboriculture, forest management
Wanakena Campus
gmvaverc@esf.edu
848-2566
Vidon, Philippe, Professor
MS, National Institute of Agronomy of Paris-Grignon, 1997; PhD, York University, 2004; geography/environmental science, surface and subsurface hydrology, water quality, riparian zone/watershed biogeochemistry and hydrology, agriculture, best management practices, nitrogen, phosphorus, mercury, carbon cycling, greenhouse gases (N2O, CO2, CH4).
309 Bray Hall
pgvidon@esf.edu
315-470-4765 | 315-470-6536
Volk, Timothy, Senior Research Associate and Associate Chair
MS, Cornell University, 1990; PhD, SUNY College of Environmental Science and Forestry, 2002; silviculture, forest management for renewable energy, biomass and bioenergy, energy, agroforestry, phytoremediation, management and sustainability of short rotation woody crops, life cycle analysis, ecophysiology, international forestry
306 Bray Hall
tavolk@esf.edu
315-470-6774
Vonhof, Sarah, Instructor
MS, SUNY College of Environmental Science and Forestry, 1996; PhD, SUNY College of Environmental Science and Forestry, 2001; forest and natural resources policy, environmental history
303A Bray Hall
slvonhof@esf.edu
315-470-6594
Wagner, John, Professor and Associate Chair
MS, University Of Idaho, 1984; PhD, Colorado State University, 1990; forest resource and environmental economics, ecosystem services, policy, quantitative silviculture, forest management and operations, operations research, simulation
304 Bray Hall
jewagner@esf.edu
315-470-6971
Wang, Endong, Associate Professor
MS, Southeast University, 2006; MS, University Of Nebraska At Lincoln, 2011; PhD, University Of Nebraska At Lincoln, 2013; sustainable infrastructure systems, life cycle assessment, BIM, benchmarking, stochastic process, construction safety
223 Baker Lab
ewang01@esf.edu
315-470-6747 | 315-470-6536
Yanai, Ruth, Professor
MS, Yale University, 1985; PhD, Yale University, 1990; forest ecology, watershed ecology, soils, biogeochemistry, forest health, ecological modeling, watershed management, ecosystem nutrient cycling, uncertainty
210 Marshall Hall
rdyanai@esf.edu
315-470-6955 | 315-470-4868
Zhang, Lianjun, Professor
MS, University Of Idaho, 1987; PhD, University Of Idaho, 1990; MS, University Of Idaho, 1991; forest biometrics, growth and yield modeling, spatial statistics and modeling, quantitative silviculture
323 Bray Hall
lizhang@esf.edu
315-470-6558